Gearbox crunch sound

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
My 6 speed gearbox, non lsd, giving crunching noise when shift upshift 2nd to 3rd gear. Usually happen during cold.

Anybody experience change syncros? what's the total labor and parts cost?

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
normal problem..try change gb oils first..if not ok..need to open or downgrade to 5sp..he he

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
6speeders always face this problem. friend of mind also facing this issue when he push hard on some gears. result maybe like you. personal opinion..6sp not mean to push very hard..it good for long distance and fuel economy...any it MAYBE also wrong choice of gearbox oils and how frequent you change it...

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
for my car nasib baik no problem...but i long term using torco gearbox oil grade 85W-90 fully syn...

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
I'll try change gearbox oil more frequently. Now just using Toyota LSD gearbox oil. Maybe my oil not 'expensive' enough, hehe...

Aaron Yap

From Facebook
Oct 14, 2010
i got an LSD gearbox with complete both side drive shaft + clutch set , all parts are original from japan and in damn good condition , clutch just so new and im selling it the whole set for RM1200 , sms me / call me up if u are interested (017-2255322), fast... cause these are rare item

abugarcia

Jun 29, 2006
what to do to solve the prob?has any1 overhoul their g.box?i oso facing this with 2nd gear

Wolfrayet

Jun 10, 2011
i too just did a engine swap to 6speed but with the halfcut gear box oil no sound.. later change to toyota lcd got crunching sound, 3 & 4th abit. now throw away and put in motul mineral 4th no sound but a bit stiff to enter and 3rd a bit sound. today will put in x1r or something like that.. friend with a crazy supra told me lots of improvement with it... lets see how.. but i think toyota LSD oil no good or fake..
MAMATAE111 where u buy yr oil from ?? i got mine from PH auto. but got my motul also there...