Exhaust Piping Enquiries

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Hei guys hope u guys can help me out here, i m using a 4g92 auto. Currently my exhaust piping size is 1.6" and 2 centre bullet with a S-flow muffler. Feel like no power when goin up hill...Some told me was the piping size should be 2inches instead of my current 1.6inches.
And some say its not related to the piping size instead is the centre bullet... :frown: i'm kinda confused now...

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
yo bro
when do piping try not to do too large 4 the size of the piping
since ur engine is 4g92 auto.
try to fit in 1.8"
n the centre bullet actually is use to reduce the noise would not affect much of ur car performance

gavan

Apr 14, 2004
agree with gsrturbo9166, the centre bullet function is reduce the sound, but depending on design, the bullet would also help to give a lil back pressure ;) hope this info helps :D

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
ic...Thanks guys
But i went to the muffler shop they say no 1.8 inch piping... :frown: wtf...they say either 1.6 inch or 2 inch...
i was also shock to hear they dun have..
Do u know where i can get 1.8 inch piping??

Cheong Mou Kei 4G9XT

Ampang
www.geocities.com
1.8' n 2' piping not much different ler....y not 1 shooot juz take da 2'..?
well.. u can maintain yo s-flow muffler n to 2' middle box as well

2' would be great if u have future plaining to further upgrade yo performance since u mention yo car is underpower

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
gsrTurbo9166 said:
yo bro
when do piping try not to do too large 4 the size of the piping
since ur engine is 4g92 auto.
try to fit in 1.8"
n the centre bullet actually is use to reduce the noise would not affect much of ur car performance
I was told that there is a type of centre bullet which has rotation inside the bullet...does that help to provide more pressure like wat GAVAN said??

Cheong Mou Kei 4G9XT said:
1.8' n 2' piping not much different ler....y not 1 shooot juz take da 2'..?
The problem is i heard advice from people that mayb 2 inch will make the car sluggish and lose power instead of gaining it.

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
ya some kind of centre bullet is use to produce more pressure 4 ur car
2" for a normal n original car is too big
then when u pick up or step on ur accelerator u will feel that ur car r underpower
if u really hv plan in the future don change it now n wait till u mod all the parts then u only change it
if not u will waste many money coz one piping size will not suitable at every state of modding

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
gsrTurbo9166 said:
ya some kind of centre bullet is use to produce more pressure 4 ur car
2" for a normal n original car is too big
then when u pick up or step on ur accelerator u will feel that ur car r underpower
if u really hv plan in the future don change it now n wait till u mod all the parts then u only change it
if not u will waste many money coz one piping size will not suitable at every state of modding
So would you still suggest me to try 1.8 inch piping?? or changing the centre bullet??
Will be changing my air filter soon too. No major mods in mind yet...any suggestion?

gavan

Apr 14, 2004
er, actually, 1.6cc engines can use 2" also, no problem, the air-flow is sufficient, but you gotta check your rear tail-pipe outlet, make sure its no bigger than 2" ;) cause when it becomes toooo big, then the back pressure is lost and you gonna have problems, suggested 2" piping with original route would be the best suggestion :D my two cents larr...cause as experiance my friend had, he used those straight under the petrol tank pipings and his petrol was superbly heavy but you get lots of pickup from it.just wanna share with you

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
gavan said:
actually, 1.6cc engines can use 2" also, no problem, the air-flow is sufficient, but you gotta check your rear tail-pipe outlet, make sure its no bigger than 2" cause when it becomes toooo big, then the back pressure is lost and you gonna have problems, suggested 2" piping with original route would be the best suggestion my two cents larr...cause as experiance my friend had, he used those straight under the petrol tank pipings and his petrol was superbly heavy but you get lots of pickup from it.just wanna share with you
ic...thanks for the advice guys...Any recommendation on which exhaust shop that i should go to??

verticalimit

Mar 27, 2005
go for 2 centre bullet. add another 1. piping get 1.75" 2 bullet better
during hill climb..

sysh

Sep 19, 2005
verticalimit said:
go for 2 centre bullet. add another 1. piping get 1.75" 2 bullet better
during hill climb..
correct me if im wrong,
2 centre bullets.. to enable for more back pressure to be generated (creating more torque) as well as to "muffle" the sound a little too?

gavan

Apr 14, 2004
yeah, its something like that...if your car is able to fit 2 bullets or more with a muffler that is....like mine, cant fit a nice rear muffler, so i went with the 2 bullets setup...

charade marr.... no backside, cannot put nice muffler also :(

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Currently i m using 2 bullets...but the piping is smaller ler oni 1.6inch...But the 1st centre bullet mayb empty already since after 2 years...not so sure bout that.
Where can i get 1.75 or 1.8 inch piping...i went to 2 exhaust specialist in puchong and they told me dun have...oni got 1.5 ,1.6 and 2.0 inch above.

As currently using 2 bullets already i can't hear any sound from my muffler...all noise comes from my engine. :tongue:

Anyone knows how to fix this thing??as i heard the wrong installing of RSM will affect the engine .... my RSM was working properly all this while until my engine burst the last month ... and after i fix it back ... the reading become like this already!! is it because of the sensor problem??