Entice people to turn in old cars with cash vouchers

they can 'pursue' the people to change for a new one. give more attractive scheme or whatever they are trying to do. its just RM5K nowdays, what can buy?
its too bad for good people who regularly maintain their morris minors and old rides? they care about other more so that they make sure everything is safe and good.

and i read somewhere that NAP is so flawed and affect second hand dealers. then, why these brilliant people launch such policy not that far long along?

if u want to copy singapore, then do everything singapore does. high salary+good car prices+systematic taxes+changing cars/vehicles every 5 years = newer cars on the roads!

its not that want to do a singapore at one time (more newer cars on roads) while some aspects are still pretty much as Bukit Mertajam or Kangar or Kampung Benggali as these days!

You'd be surprised how much RM5000 means to a person who's not that rich. Of coz this RM5K is not meant to benefit an uncle who's about to buy a brand new E280. Its meant to tempt the lower income range people.

Its impossible to copy Singapore completely. They are a different country with vast geographical difference, mentality and most importantly, they are well paid. But what i'm trying to say here is that Singapore has a good system in the sense they have new cars everywhere you go. There are less breakdowns and people are happy driving new cars.

drMpower, not to mean disrespect but youre a person, they are the government.

Whatever you can think of is probably a fraction of the calculations they have done very long ago. Afterall, they have all the information, statistics and specialist manpower to perform. Sometimes what we think is just not possible for the government to do due to way too many factors. We all can talk stuff in this few minutes of thinking and typing, but it takes the government months or years to calculate and plan such policies.

Ministers may spit utter garbage and pass nonsense legislation sometimes, but those are individuals. The people working out all these policies together as a whole government really aint stupid...

And of course, if you have a well maintained old car, you dont have to scrap it so I dont see whats the problem. Its only if youre driving a really beat up car thats worth less than RM5000 that you'd take up the offer, and with the flexible financing these days, probably get a new low end car for like RM100+/month.

Zeroed,

I hope they do the calculations, statistics, surveys and everything right this time. because these fella fuxxed up big time when they announced the National Automotive Policy (NAP). I just hope this time I am the one is wrong.

What I am offering is in term of principle idea. Developments and executions, they are the ones who should be thinking of. Like u said, my principle ideas maybe just fractions of what they are doing now or had done in the past. The basic ideas might be flawed because of the people working to put things together are not smart enough.

That prolong this discussion to those PTD or whatever officers ( i assume these people are the ones putting policies together. correct me if I am wrong) . Bloody hell and stupid officers. I am not taking that back. It just, these officers have no soul. no heart. know nothing.

Some of these things, I discussed with my dad during our dinner time. Or while watching Saturday/ Sunday night football. We come up with principle ideas. Including political issues and everything.

I am all for safer roads and in term of having 'healthy' vehicles, yes, I agree some on the roads are very awful and might, might cause unwanted incidents.

The G's is pushing for all 15 years old cars to be scrapped. All I understand from that earlier sentence is, all 15 years old vehicles are problematic and 'unhealthy' for our roads. not safe. How about a 88 years old uncle driving an alfa romeo brera and he turned the right indicator while he is steering to the left? New car. but 'unhealthy' driver.

Inspection is the key to solve the problem. Like MOT passes. You give passes for vehicles that are road-worthy. regardless of the age. If a 2007 Porshe GT failed the inspection and is deemed not road worthy, so be it. 1970s celica passes the inspection and awarded the pass. let the owner drive that on the road.

Zeroed is spot on the well maintain vehicles. I dont think good owners who look after their vehicles well should worry.

LOL that brera example left me in stitches.

On a more serious note, I have nothing against the intentions of this policy; to reduce the number of POSSIBLY unsafe cars on the road (Mine included *sob* - but let them scrap mine? NEVAH! :P ) and also help the automotive industry along.

The only gripes I have are these:
- There'll always be some greedy b****rds who will insincerely accept this "help" and perpetuate an already corrupt chain of diseases among the general populace. I know I have no right to question intentions BEFORE something bad happens in this country, but given history.. am I wrong to worry?

- The move to produce better drivers and standards of living (read:salaries) are far more urgent next to this. Do they expect an automotive policy will drastically improve the nations economy (and therefore people's happiness)?

I dont wanna come accross as bitter and cry foul (corruption) early and end up looking like a emo pessimistic tard who's unsupportive of progress......

... but here we have.. things as they are. I dont feel guilty of suspecting motivations behind these "policies". The program is well meant, but how they carry it out always seems to hurt a majority in the end (u know who).

sigh. Ppl will say im biased bcoz im rolling a 24yo jalopy. sigh :D

FWIW i really liked the views presented here. well most of them. Deaf ears or not. :)

i disagreed 15 years old car should be scrapped...this is done for a main reason...it's not about the traffic jam people are facing everyday...it's not about the increase accident per year...and it's not about the economy...is all about ''proton''...they wanna back up proton...that's y they want us to scrap our car...then support proton by giving 5k for us to buy proton car...they wanna boost proton up... what if the 15 years old car is still in good condition..think about civic,RX 7,MR2,Integra DC-2,skyline r33..they are all still good and quality cars..especially if the owner has replace all the parts to after market and has spend all their money to mod their cars....those car value are higher than 5k....look at RX7 now...the market price still high...more higher than a new proton cars....and the quality is 10x better...there's a lot other solution to this issue like drmpower said...maybe cars after 15 years can go to inspection to check for durability...

wanna follow Singapore?...then the gov better increase our salary by 100% gov and private coz car there a far cheap then here if u compare our salary...i can accept if this policy is done to save proton cars..but if only proton has a high performance car,quality,standard and respected like other car manufacture like honda,bmw,toyota,mazda,nissan and the price for proton car is cheaper....if not...i rather stick with my old 96 civic till i die...it's still perform better than most new proton cars...plus we dont wanna people to always have to pay back their car loan till they die coz of this 15 years old car policy...every 15 years...they have to buy new car and loan banks again..think about people that have low salary and has to support their children education and all the cost of living...enough already with the high fuel price...toll price...home loan...and all that tax...we dont wanna ++ our living cost...

for those who support this program..maybe u already got a new car..and doesn't care coz u got another 15 years before ur car is scrapped..but think bout 15 years later...when u have spend thousand of RM for ur car..and the car is still in excellent condition..would u wanna scrap it for a 5k?....buy a new car..loan bank again and pay ur debt for years to come?...

and i think if the gov wanna really2 execute this policy...it will not be done by this year or early next year..coz they have an election waiting...and they dont wanna mess their plan...so..maybe they will wait for u people to vote them...after they win the election..than the 15 years old car gonna be scrap...and u got a chance to buy a low quality proton cars...by that time...there no time for regret for voting the gov coz they already in ctrl for 4 years...i'm not wit the gov and im not wit the opposite party...it's just the gov is starting to lose ctrl over the people trust after what they promise in the past election...for me?...i'm gonna vote none...

haiz....all car above 15yrs must be follow or what???if like that very unfair to many nice sport cars lah like FC,R32,Evo3........and i plan to buy an old a31 actually...but after saw this sh*t news from government....i dono weather i wan to buy o not...but 5k what can u do??ae86 or fc juz worth RM5k???wtf.......

"Consumer groups, automotive groups and NGOs feel that it would only profit car producers and dealers while the public carry the burden. ......"

“Rural folk do not have a stable income, so if their cars are scrapped, how would they get a loan from the bank?” he asked. ..."

i totally agree wif himm..hohohoho...