cooling the extractor ?

jiaojiao the great

....... recently when i go petrol station , after filling up the water n fuel . i tendto cool down the extractor with water , after that i felt the the car can respond better . why is that ?

any hot part of engine got reduced heat improves efficiency
same like intercooler?
mebbe?
but hello
hot extractor...put water...u siao ar?
hot metal kenot put water eh...
rosak

Originally posted by jiaojiao the great@Feb 23 2005, 22:32
....... recently when i go petrol station , after filling up the water n fuel . i tendto cool down the extractor with water , after that i felt the the car can respond better . why is that ?
feel

wahhseehhhh your extractor gonna have rust and crack soon. prepare some money.

rapid cooling is VERY VERY BAD!!!

cracks may propogate if you keep doing this...better yet, don't even THINK of doing it at all!.

this is because when the extractor is hot, all the molecules have excess energy and are vibrating/moving more than when they were cooler. so once you pour cool water onto the extractor, the rapid cooling causes the molecules to TRY to fit back into it's original structure, imagine a jigsaw puzzle, if you put it together slowly, it will make sense but if you just randomly ram pieces of the jigsaw puzzle forcing it to fit, wouldn't you damage the pieces and the final outcome would be a crap-saw puzzle right? hahah.

so jus don't do that la....which is why you are advised to wash ur car under the shade and also not to pour cool water on your brakes after driving as the rotors will warp.

hope this helps.

From hot suddenly to cold.. wah.. surely will do some damage to your extractor man.. might crack!!

it may crack your extractor but the most imprtant thing is the logic in it. first of all, exhaust gas is hot. and we know that hot gasses travels faster compared to cold air. cold air has higher density. the point of the extractors is to be as hot as possible so the air does not slow down when it gets cold.

this is just my thinking.

btw, thermal wrap is not to cool down your extractors. its too cool down your engine bay. and in fact it even produces even more heat for the extractors as the heat is trapped within the wrap.

i think it depends on the type of steel they manufactured your extractor...

Originally posted by psyk@Feb 24 2005, 10:21
so thermal wrap is bad? or good?
some says bad.. some says good..

bad - wrapping it makes it hotter.. might crack..
good - wrapping it makes engine cooler and cooler air suck into air rams.. better response i guess..

Originally posted by SloMo@Feb 24 2005, 11:08
i think it depends on the type of steel they manufactured your extractor...
you don't trust physics rules ah?

got get a very hot empty glass cup and pour icy water in it

but dremel..i do agree with SloMo dude..there is so many types of material in this world. some are really2 tahan of cold temp shock or hot temp shock. when manufacturing some part..the material go under some process called lindap-kejut or whatever like that. make its temp rise at certain *C temp then suddenly cold it down. but for stock extractor that made from cast iron ..maybe it's not that tahan..that's why always can see crack one

jiaojiao the great, I have never seen anyone pour water onto the extractors at the petrol kiosk. Which station you usually go to? I wanna see it la. :lol:

hmm yalah makes sense too.. really high grade material right?
but don't you thing it may cost you a bomb for an extractor? hehehe
i oso dunno.. never see any after market extractor that use
high grade material that won't even crack

Originally posted by V-Spec@Feb 24 2005, 22:32
jiaojiao the great, I have never seen anyone pour water onto the extractors at the petrol kiosk. Which station you usually go to? I wanna see it la. :lol:
i also want!!! :lol:

how about a dyno pull to see if there is really a difference?

How about redirecting a good enough sized air cond hose to the extractor to blow cold air on it? hehehe

wahh.. here we are again arguing about extractor and/or cooling/heating it...

there's another thread in this same section talking about extractor heat and thermal wrappings.. etc etc... go find it...

a quick note... thermal wrap IS NOT TO COOL YOUR ENGINE BAY .... it's to keep the temperature of the exhaust gas in your exhaust system AS CONSTANT AS POSSIBLE ...
this same process of trapping heat within the exhaust system will of coz keep the surrounding air cooler.. but this is not the point of it....

:)

hahha ok ok .....i did like 3 or 4 times only ..... don wanna do liao . anyway its the after market 4-2-1 hotbits