Clear-coated headlight restoration

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
Hello friends :itsme:

I got a pair of headlights of a Peugeot 405 which had clear coat sprayed on it.

Actually the headlights got from bad to worst, from "CLEAR COATED TO CATARACT COATED"

And it took long, long hours to restore. Thanks God, it's got its vision.

Upon arrival

Right side

Left side

Filler used to fix headlights

Dirt after cleaning 1st headlight

Claying the right side

To the defects now

close-up

thorough inspection

how on earth could someone do this?

No words can describe :mad:

Amateurism exceeded - mix of debris and clear-coat, all cured

Opacity

Scratches

Very deep scratches that go beyond the clear sprayed

After long hours of work,
Wet-sanding - 800, 1000, 2000 grit used alternately and inch by inch testing. the aim was to remove the clear coat and the scratches, and not go any further

Tools and products used

Makita rotary, orange, white pads, menz FG400, sonax nano polish

starting to look good

50 / 50

Done

Like a genie in a bottle

The Fish eYe

Transparency and vision restored thanks to Almighty Above

As above, never use clear coat on the headlights.

thanks for viewing. your thoughts and comments are most welcome.

Zaid

Nice job....:top:
I did for 2 of my friends too. Funny is his Lancer only the left side was having the problem. It was like melted, so I had to start with grid 100 sandpaper. Then 400, 600, 800, 1500, 2000.
Here are some pictures...

---------- Post added at 08:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:44 AM ----------

Sorry to tumpang your thread....
Here are some pictures on the City headlights. This one was not too bad so can start with grid 600 up but done on the car, without headlight removal.

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
That's some great recovery bro.

Btw i wouldn't go as low as 100 grit. Anyway the outcome is superb

As the topic suggest, where can i get for best price? any1 have lobang on this? I`m getting for my new N16 Sentra and i have asked a few shops :

RSone offer rm985
A shop in kepong offer me Rm930

1. any1 have better suggestion on where to get?
2. is there a immitation eibach in the market? (scared kena con)
3. is sportline available in Malaysia yet? (as i asked few shop also dont have)

Pls help