Checking your O2 sensor

muzhaffar

Dec 1, 2008
how about 02 reading at apexi pen type?
is it give voltage reading from 02 sensor?
previously, my reading flactuate a lot..
now, when engine is cold, it flactuate until reach value 4.99 and stop there..doesn't increase further..
is it the sign of o2 failure?
where is the correct place to find a new o2 sensor?for 3s-gte

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
New O2 will cost you more than RM500 haha.
I bought a used O2 at RM80. Working fine.
Anyway, if budget isn't an issue, new is always better than used in the long run :)

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
may i know wht is o2 sensor?my car got apexi pen turbo timer,can i chenck it from the timer?
Check this out:
http://www.autoshop101.com/forms/h37.pdf

You may monitor the O2's feedback signal with Apexi Turbo Timer.
However you cannot judge O2's condition with the timer.

shem_lexluger

Dec 29, 2009
Subang Jaya
Good info here levin818. I tried this out and when I reached the step "Keep your RPM at 2500" my meter reading remained at 0.92-0.93V area. Same thing when I'm idling.

I have to point out that I'm using a digital meter. Is it because of digital meter got lag or my sensor already kaput?

However, when I revved quickly to 3000 and back to idle, the reading did move from low volt and back to steady 0.9xV. And when I plugged out one of the injector cable, the reading oscillate between 0.2-0.9xV consistently.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Most likely your O2 is not in good condition...

Good info here levin818. I tried this out and when I reached the step "Keep your RPM at 2500" my meter reading remained at 0.92-0.93V area. Same thing when I'm idling.

I have to point out that I'm using a digital meter. Is it because of digital meter got lag or my sensor already kaput?

However, when I revved quickly to 3000 and back to idle, the reading did move from low volt and back to steady 0.9xV. And when I plugged out one of the injector cable, the reading oscillate between 0.2-0.9xV consistently.

---------- Post added at 12:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:09 PM ----------

Come la belanja me Old Town white coffee and i will help you out on this :)

dont have the meter T.T anyone have it can rent ~

---------- Post added at 12:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:11 PM ----------

If you are using ori Apexi pen meter, yes you can read O2 voltage from the pen meter by switching the reading to A/F mode.
I only count the O2's reading at 2500rpm but have not try out at cold start so connot comments on your status.
Have you found your new O2 btw?

how about 02 reading at apexi pen type?
is it give voltage reading from 02 sensor?
previously, my reading flactuate a lot..
now, when engine is cold, it flactuate until reach value 4.99 and stop there..doesn't increase further..
is it the sign of o2 failure?
where is the correct place to find a new o2 sensor?for 3s-gte

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
Haha belanja kopi mamak .. teh ais anyone ? Make a TT session for all the toyotarians to gather and have a nice chat haha

et_box

Aug 27, 2006
Eh, agreed! Need to consult sifu again:adore:... Can we arrange one at Old Town? :biggrin:

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
hi does evo 3 have diagnostic connector? if doesnt have what can i do to check my o2 sensor?need to check it badly :'(
Hello EVO, if not mistaken, EVO3's diagnostic connector is above the driver's foot rest location. However Mitsubishi do not have "TE1" and "E1"... :biggrin: and i have no idea how to initiate Mitsubishi's ECU to check the O2 sensor.
Btw, whats makes you feel that need to check the Os sensor badly?

naj6052

Feb 23, 2012
terengganu
:stupido2:.. OIC.. No wonder $20 only enough for pusing2 in city.. i dont know where to find O2 sensor here.. any help from east coast??

Thank Levin....

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Thank you for sharing this Levin 818... Your meter panel... Blacktop ah :biggrin:?

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
You are welcome Veloc.
My ride was BT engine mated with SVT wiring + ECU. Meter panel is ori from SVT.

---------- Post added at 03:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:07 AM ----------

yap.. mine is ae92 gze.. plus i also have problem on my TPS.. reading was not right when i connect E to VTA..
TPS usually won't give problem le. How do you measure that the reading is not right?

why compare dimensions with wira??

doesnt the gen2 have longer wheelbase than waja??

im confused..