can some1 tell me??? evo1 or gsr?

sslz2000

Jun 5, 2006
i'm going to change engine into my wira but i dunno which 1 will get better modification n cost cheaper? 2 options for me, EVO1 or GSR? as we all know, evo1 has 250 hps n GSR just around 180-200. but most of them who had tried both engines, they said GSR still the powerful 1 compare to evo1.. this make me very headache n dunno which 1 should i choose... they say evo 1 enigine is just almost same as VR4 is it true? hope some sifu can tell me those problems... thanks.:regular_smile:

zan

Feb 20, 2005
this is my knowledge in terms of horsepower.

original 4G63 turbo fitted in Galant VR4 - 200bhp
Evo 1 - 220bhp
Evo 2 - 250bhp
Evo 3 - 280bhp (restricted)
Ev0 4-9 - all restricted to 280bhp according to JDM regulations unless for certain models like FQ330 and FQ400 prepared by RalliArt UK.

all Evos are actually Mitsubishi Lancer GSR and they are known as Evolution 1 or 2 and so on to differentiate their respective year models.

GSR is the road going luxury spec while the stripped-off ready-for-rally car is known as Lancer RS.

i hope this info helps.

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
hi sslz2000
gsr=180
gsr libero which got evo i/c =200

i'm driving a gsr for 2 yrs of time
it does not giv me any trouble
for evo 1, it is quite old

for performance parts
of coz evo got a lots of performance parts
gsr,u can change mivec head, 4g94 2.4cc block
bcome a mivec 2.4cc turbo engine

but important thing is
wat is ur ori cc for ur car???
nowaday JPJ will not approve any 2.0cc engine conversion
the most u can go is 1.8cc
if u got lubang then is fine

to zan
vr4 do got 240bhp which si vr4 rs
it produced by MMC in yr 90 the last yr they use galant for their rally competition b4 they change to use lancer
evo 1 got 250bhp
evo 2 got 260bhp
n as u say e3 to e9 is 280bhp

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
I love this topic!
But, in factory form, I'm curious how can GSR be more powerful than the 4G63 in EVO1... don talk abt power alone, but torque as well. Cannot be la.

In my opinion (I used GSR engine before), they're both good, but 4G93 GSR is extremely reliable, and given the lighter weight, suits our proton chassis better.
The 240hp VR4 RS is closer than any other VR4 models to the 4G63 found in the 1st EVO (difference in inlet manifold, intercooler size, increased compression ratio, lighter internals and other minor revisions).

Abang Zan> EVO 1 if I'm not mistaken is rated at almost 250hp already, with the EVO2 making slightly over 250.. 257 hp thereabouts (thanks to better flowing exhaust, higher boost pressure). EVO3 pulak made almost 270hp with a higher compression ratio, uprated TD05H 16G6-7 turbocahrger running even slightly higher boost, and a bigger intercooler.

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
gsrTurbo9166 said:
bro lekalo
evo 1,2 ,3 not using the same i/c meh???
aaa.. yes aa... Okla, revision then: Got lari 1mm every generation. haha!

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
huhaaa!!! Ramsink has spoken! betul right cikgu?? hehe! How u la bro...

sslz2000

Jun 5, 2006
zan:yes.. u r right.. but wat i mean is lancer GSR 1.8 turbo wit 4g93 but thanks for ur info anyway..

sslz2000

Jun 5, 2006
gsrturbo9166: yea.. mivec, but still using td04 can handle the engine? n lots of modification needed i think..n it will cost more than slightly tuned evo1 isn't it?
1 more question, u r driving gearbox locked 4g93t or 4 wheel? i'm thinking to lock my evo1 gearbox after i change..

sslz2000

Jun 5, 2006
lekalo: VR4 is almost the same as evo1? how bout the block? the same also? i mean the piston those... thanks..

sslz2000

Jun 5, 2006
like wat i know, evo1,2,3 is the same i/c.. hehe... 1 more thing bros, how much is the 4g93t half cut n the evo1 half cut only (without the back part for 4 wheel)???

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
gsrTurbo9166 said:
hi sslz2000
gsr=180
gsr libero which got evo i/c =200

i'm driving a gsr for 2 yrs of time
it does not giv me any trouble
for evo 1, it is quite old

for performance parts
of coz evo got a lots of performance parts
gsr,u can change mivec head, 4g94 2.4cc block
bcome a mivec 2.4cc turbo engine

but important thing is
wat is ur ori cc for ur car???
nowaday JPJ will not approve any 2.0cc engine conversion
the most u can go is 1.8cc
if u got lubang then is fine

to zan
vr4 do got 240bhp which si vr4 rs
it produced by MMC in yr 90 the last yr they use galant for their rally competition b4 they change to use lancer
evo 1 got 250bhp
evo 2 got 260bhp
n as u say e3 to e9 is 280bhp
are sure 4g94 can kacuk with 4g93?bcos 4g94 are SOCH while 4g93 are DOCH,and can arr 4g94 tahan with pressure of boost?as i know 4g94 is a NA engine.anyone had tried this mod b4?need info lar.thanks

zan

Feb 20, 2005
lekalo said:
Abang Zan> EVO 1 if I'm not mistaken is rated at almost 250hp already, with the EVO2 making slightly over 250.. 257 hp thereabouts (thanks to better flowing exhaust, higher boost pressure). EVO3 pulak made almost 270hp with a higher compression ratio, uprated TD05H 16G6-7 turbocahrger running even slightly higher boost, and a bigger intercooler.
apologies for incorrect info.

and thanx for those kind enuff to correct me.:mouth_closed: grr..

referring back to my evo book, e1 produce 250bhp, e2 = 260bhp and e3 = 270bhp.

e4 onwards all 280bhp; restricted output for JDM.

i had never come to know about lancer GSR 1.8. anyone care to tell me what are the differences? in my knowledge, Lancer GSR/RS evo series are produced as homologation for Mitsubishi to enter WRC...hoping some one can paste photos of it. tq

sslz2000

Jun 5, 2006
hmm... yea.. gsr is for normal road use. also known ask Grand Sport Racing(i think), n RS is for rally version.. i'm not very good in 4g93t also but i just know it gains less hps than evo.. bout the mod by gsrTurbo9166, i still duno can it work o not.. but it's very costy isnt it?