BUYING EVO VI..need help/advice

Wira_lover

Jun 6, 2007
Guys..im planning to buy an evo..but really need help ..i need to know if its a wise choice...cause im not very deep in the pocket..i live with a tight budget...i have a wira as another car...so i wont be fully depending on the evo...juts need to know..wats is it gonna be to maintain 1...is the market value around 60k? i would appreciate any advice possible...anything at all...cause this is one of my biggest choice ive evenr made in my life..and i just dont want it to be a bad experience...i love mitsubishi's..i had plans to convert my wira...but i just had a terrible experience...a fren of mine passed away in a wira after an accident...im terrified to mod my wira now ..

Most important advice i need...is how do i identify a good buy?im not planning to mod the evo to its limit...just an average evo for starters...What are the things i should worry since its about 9 years old now ?what are the common problems evo VI face?

Thanks in advance... Dev

jebat7

Dec 10, 2007
No problem.
With have many specialist in JB MLOC, just take your wira down to jb and meet up with us all during TT,
lanevo6 is our President in JB - dats one of the six for u...

Wira_lover

Jun 6, 2007
No problem.
With have many specialist in JB MLOC, just take your wira down to jb and meet up with us all during TT,
lanevo6 is our President in JB - dats one of the six for u...
Thanks Jebat..The thing is ..i work shifts..TT's will be difficult to join depending on my schedule...don have weekend offdays for now ... Do you by any chance have any info that might help me for now ?

KryPToN

Jun 22, 2005
be prepared for wear and tear maintenance since its quite an old car. ie. clutch, brake pads, all the minyak for engine, gearbox, front n rear axle. worst case scenario is overhaul. if can go for reliable brands (ie. Motul for minyak)

dun forget that the price (if really RM60k i think it is a convert. CP9A would be like RM90+ now i guess) does not include insurance. another few thousand there.

condition good or not difficult to say. some exterior just painted so looks new but engine poorly maintained and some is the other way round. check for weird sounds, white smoke, but most important CHASSIS. once that bengkok i dun think can be fixed. fender bender nevermind wan.

my advice dun buy an evo if you plan to maintaine it on a shoestring budget. u wont truely enjoy ur car. plus... dun think evo cannot accident or evo's are not unbeatable. some super modded wiras are seriously powerful too.

more technology in evo6 like 4wd/AYC compared to a wira. so more things to go wrong. i suppose thats the main problem with evo. ie. rear axle. in my case. the serious problem with the evo6 is the price of things. all mahal mahal belaka especially if ur used to modding proton cars. i experienced it first hand and can feel the pinch. SAKIT! hehehe.

also security... need to get some form of a medium to high end alarm. then cannot simply simply park anywhere. evos not just high maintenance money wise.

if ur single... can la i guess. but if u got family or other commitments. try to delay ur plans till when ur budget permits. this just my experience. try to get the real sifus here to explain further.

bernardyeo

Apr 4, 2007
Hi Dev,

Sorry to hear about your friend's death.

KryPToN is right. I'd like to add that even if you got a good condition Evo VI, a lot of things will need replacing already. We don't know how deep your pockets are, so I'll list down some of the maintenance items you will likely need replacing either immediately or in the future. All these are approximate pricing. Then you decide if your budget is large enough for these expenses on top of your monthly installments and other commitments.

Cheapest standard clutch: RM1200. (Lets not talk about twin-plate, etc.)
Tyres: ~ RM500 a piece
Brake Discs (rotors): RM2200 for fronts, RM1400 for rears.
Brake pads: RM300 a pair.
Absorbers: RM3200 (for Tein Super Street. Other brands might be more expensive)
My first service immediately after taking over the car was change all the oils and belts. The bill came up to RM2200.

My Evo VI's petrol top up is almost RM80 and can go 350km maximum with mostly highway driving and some city driving.

Don't forget to budget for incidental replacement costs such as car battery, radiator hoses, air con hoses or brake hoses, spark plugs, etc.

You should consider beefing up the security for your car. Get a respectable alarm system that is at least 2-way.

If you spot a few potential Evos you want to get, always get a recommended mechanic experienced in Evos to test drive the cars for you. He will be able to tell you if the chassis and gearbox is alright or not, among other things. He will also be able to tell you which parts on the list above needs replacing already. That way you will know if you are going to be over-budget or not. Don't forget to agree with the mechanic earlier on a 'test drive fee'.

Hope I've been helpful.

ealt

Dec 16, 2003
Hehe now sifu bernardyeo talking......a massive price there...pokai already....hehe

aja

Dec 3, 2003
Guys,

any symptons ka if the stock clutch going to kaput?. Me never change since bought it..unreg. Now my useable milleage around 25k (from the day i got the car and still no smell hangit2 one!).

Any ideas?.

KryPToN

Jun 22, 2005
bernard... can please share where to get the tein super street @ RM3200? i think i might to replace mine soon.

bernardyeo

Apr 4, 2007
@aja: If I remember correctly, I read somewhere in ZTH that you drive up to 80km/h on 4th gear then suddenly floor the pedal. The rpm will shoot up very fast without the speed increasing correspondingly. The rpm will go back down to match your speed. That is an indication that you need to replace the clutch.

@KryPToN: I say RM3200 based on my memory. It could be a bit higher than that. This price does not include pillowball. So please don't blame me if you are quoted higher than that. My mechanic sourced a set of Tein Superstreet for me. But I think you can always make a few phone calls to those shops who advertise in Hypertune. Let your fingers do the walking :)

chriskhaw

Dec 6, 2006
My two cents on buying evo with budget...Beli dulu, lain cerita nanti boleh bincang...lolz...Sudah duduk apa kereta pun tak mau lagi. Wira also can sell...hehehe..

I too had a tight budget when I first bought my car. But now, wah..mod here, beli ini, beli itu..Knn perempuan tengok I mod kereta tak ada duit tengok wayang, makan all also lari...my car now my wife, girlfriend, mistress...ahhahaha...

So your choice bro...

Wira_lover

Jun 6, 2007
Hi Dev,

Sorry to hear about your friend's death.

KryPToN is right. I'd like to add that even if you got a good condition Evo VI, a lot of things will need replacing already. We don't know how deep your pockets are, so I'll list down some of the maintenance items you will likely need replacing either immediately or in the future. All these are approximate pricing. Then you decide if your budget is large enough for these expenses on top of your monthly installments and other commitments.

Cheapest standard clutch: RM1200. (Lets not talk about twin-plate, etc.)
Tyres: ~ RM500 a piece
Brake Discs (rotors): RM2200 for fronts, RM1400 for rears.
Brake pads: RM300 a pair.
Absorbers: RM3200 (for Tein Super Street. Other brands might be more expensive)
My first service immediately after taking over the car was change all the oils and belts. The bill came up to RM2200.

My Evo VI's petrol top up is almost RM80 and can go 350km maximum with mostly highway driving and some city driving.

Don't forget to budget for incidental replacement costs such as car battery, radiator hoses, air con hoses or brake hoses, spark plugs, etc.

You should consider beefing up the security for your car. Get a respectable alarm system that is at least 2-way.

If you spot a few potential Evos you want to get, always get a recommended mechanic experienced in Evos to test drive the cars for you. He will be able to tell you if the chassis and gearbox is alright or not, among other things. He will also be able to tell you which parts on the list above needs replacing already. That way you will know if you are going to be over-budget or not. Don't forget to agree with the mechanic earlier on a 'test drive fee'.

Hope I've been helpful.
Bernard,you have been very helpful indeed...this is crucial information and exactly what i needed to know about buying this car....Whats is the market value of the car now ?

bernardyeo

Apr 4, 2007
Bernard,you have been very helpful indeed...this is crucial information and exactly what i needed to know about buying this car....Whats is the market value of the car now ?
The Evo 6 is about RM90,000+ now.

Wira_lover

Jun 6, 2007
hmm...i think then ive got my details wrongly...rm90k++ is way off my budget..ill have to settle down with an older version ...krypton..u were saying that 60k ++ is the converted version..converted from CN9A?whats the market price for evo IV ? in the mean time im also looking around the net..do you guys know any good sites to check out cars for sale?im looking at motor trader for the time being..

cHeMiCaL_

Feb 11, 2005
rm60k cash i reckon you can get decent evo4.