Air Filters..

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
What do you use?

I'm using HKS currently, but I don't particularly like the design..

What do you guys use?

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
for reference:

the best is: APEXI Dual Funnel / Apexi Power Intake

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
am using blitz sus power filter. but then again stock airbox is still good since its the coldest setup.

samco

Jul 27, 2004
auckland
ooo,, hks mushroom is expensive.
i just use the apexi one as you dont really need to clean it that much :'D

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
the racecraft air ram has a 5" end. the blitz is a 4" size. i dont thing it'll fit. im not sure about blitz having bigger sizes, but K&N does.

hattech-v said:
j101, any blitz that can fit into racecraft cf air ram or not?

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
can the apexi filter fit in the 3" air ram?? apexi required adapter right?

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
aiyoo.. paiseh la racecraft... why la they make it 5".. after the air filter expired cannot change using another air filter.. have to buy whole set... sigh...

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
hattech-v said:
aiyoo.. paiseh la racecraft... why la they make it 5".. after the air filter expired cannot change using another air filter.. have to buy whole set... sigh...
i think simota do have the 5" filter...

eddie_vtec

Dec 15, 2005
hattech-v said:
if air filter racecraft exp...u can use air filter blitz...

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
samco said:
ooo,, hks mushroom is expensive.
i just use the apexi one as you dont really need to clean it that much :'D
Got it free lah.. cousin using AEM, so no need for HKS one.
Anyway.. AEM looks and sounds nice... but for daily driving, afraid suck up waterloh!

The stock airbox is nice, and I rather like it.. although the performance isn't great, it definitely has the lowest intake temp. My engine bay is hot, thanks to the exposed extractors.

I was looking at pipercross stuff last night, and there's a complete air intake kit, with carbon piping, for the B16A CRX... should fit, right? although I think I might have to fabricate a bracket.

xxxx

Feb 9, 2005
using k&n.....very good response....

piper cross with carbon piping for b16a CRX? 2nd gen or 3rd gen CRX?
where did u see it? can u post some pics? thanks.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
websitelah.. not in real life.. forgot to mention..

pic.. not sure if they allow direct linking.. so cut and paste into your browserlah.

http://www.pipercross.net/images/large_vis.gif

The website shows that CRX B16 model available, but not latter gen civics.. so I think maybe have to modify the bracket a bit.. but the CF pipe looks good... hehe

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
dunno also.. supposedly pentagon enterprise carry pipercross stuff.. but didn't bother checking.. now busy with EG9 conversion stuff. No worries edy since I already have dual motor wiper tank.. Just have to send the car to the shop for mounting the window.. no skills-lah!

HIDcivic

Apr 8, 2005
blitz is nice... sharpish rather than bassy sound... more race like feel.... SUS LM filter also cheap to replace...

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
I've used K&N filters in the past on most of my scooters, MXs, and 250 strokers. I find 'em damn good, lasts very2 long ( make sure u buy the filter cleaner kit ) and gives that rasp intake sound. One thing to remember with K&N filters is : after you've clean the filter element ( which should now be white in colour ), put on the filter oil SPARINGLY, like drop by drop, let it seep into the filter, then move on to other spots.

Seems like the Racecraft / J's Racing whale penis intake is the best intake around. Short, nicely sized to keep air inside it ( which is useful when your car engages VTEC ) and nice to look at ( CF... ), also keeps temp low ( because of CF again ). Problem is ( with all other open pod setup ) is the filter will suck in the hot air from the engine bay as well. Solution : make a custom airbox ( good idea to have some heat reflective elemnt outside the box ) to fit the filter element inside, and don't forget a CAI pipe from the front bumper to the custom airbox. Voila! Air filter element only take in cold, fresh air from outside the car, and the intake still keep it's properties as well. I know plenty of our local VTEC guys have done this, maybe they can chime in as well.