which air filter brand is suitable for toyota corolla SEG AE111
i am planning on a open pod. my car is a auto transmission car

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
Air Filter & CAI

yup, i'm using the same AE111 with 4AFE auto tranny. best to change to k&n dop-in...could also diy your CAI (Cold Air Intake) for better and colder air flow. refer to ZTH DIY forum, there's alot of info on this.

'[00] TRD

Dec 27, 2005
would it makin the engine bay sounds louder? coz i heard fr my fren, no doubt u can gain performance abit but the noise created would be quite great esp when u rev??

plannin to open pod too n drivin same model as u, meg_omen

cheerss

EG9

Subang Jaya
Just use back stock one will do. This mod won't give much peformance gain.
The most important is cool air intake, stock cool air intake is good enough.

khengloong

Nov 11, 2004
how about the price for open pod air filter
for Corolla SEG AE111 year 96' model?
coz i feel like getting open pod.
lol

khengloong

Nov 11, 2004
and the cold air intake thing
i don't quite understand
sorry newbie here

Alvsaurus

Nov 1, 2005
Im using apexi air filter..
not really that much diffent but got the sound when u go high speed
maybe u should go for replacement air filter by piper cross if u want better performance

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
i am using drop-in pipercross on my corolla, auto with 4afe, not too much of difference. slightly better respone n a tiny little bit of improvement on my FC.

mean while my bro used to drive another corolla, but ae111 auto with 4afe n also a open pod filter from BROTHERS' lolz....... quite some difference with the car, very loud but quite responsive to my expectation. tapau quite abit of proton.

khengloong

Nov 11, 2004
woohoo can tapau proton huh.
hmm open pod from BROTHERS' eh
any idea how much it cost him?

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
cheap cheap, in fact i still have a couple of those in my closet.........lolz.
better dun them i think. if u use, try to do more frequent oil change as i think the filteration isnt that good at all. sooooo, the summary of the brothers' filter is that.............

the engine kaput after bout 1-2 yrs with the air filter n some hardcore driving. n traded it for a new camry.......:cyclops:

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
Cai

levin818 said:
That CAI will suck water when raining.
Stock air intake system has a "water reservor" in the middle.
i've tested running 140 in heavy blinding rain from SJ to Klang, still okay. the cai suck air behind the bumper, only a bit will go in and never reach the filter box. nowadays 'tak takut hujan lagi'.

open pod will increase throttle noise and you'll still need to do the heat shield.

but 'takut banjir'.:shades_smile:

corollagtouring

Oct 8, 2005
traffic jams will cause your intake to suck hot air, that is not healthy bro..... better use the K&N drop in, saves fuel consumption and aid your top end gains. Like they said, Cold Air intake to the stock Air box is really will help you out.....

B) any taiko hav any idea for this project?????

is it possible to DIY the original grill to this????????

:unsure: ;) :huh: :o :D <_< :rolleyes: