4-1 vs 4-2-1

pipylim

Apr 12, 2009
What are the difference btw 4-1 VS 4-2-1?
Pro?
Con?

TQ
:wavey:

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
then... how bout 4-3-2-1..???
used during countdown

To TS, generally a 4-1 will give move the powerband towards higher regions, suitable for high-revving engines

4-2-1, broader/more useful powerband for daily driving

pipylim

Apr 12, 2009
:wavey:
hi dude,
ya i know how they look like but i just wonder how their performance
which 1 is more helping on LOW TORQUE?
what are their advantages and disadvantages

4-1 advantages and disadvantages =??
4-2-1 advantages and disadvantages =??

they will cause more high fuel consumption? or saving?
:driver:

Jul 9, 2008
sorry... this may seem like a silly question but what do you mean by moving the powerband towards the higher regions and suitable for high-revving engines?

I've heard that 4-1 are better for driving at higher speeds and 4-2-1 are better for improving low end torque.

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
sorry... this may seem like a silly question but what do you mean by moving the powerband towards the higher regions and suitable for high-revving engines?

I've heard that 4-1 are better for driving at higher speeds and 4-2-1 are better for improving low end torque.
in general, 4-1 headers lets the engine make more power at the higher rpm ranges, at the expense of the low end; thus more suited for high-revving engines like b16/4age where the revs go sky-high

yap, 4-2-1 will generally give a broader powerband, punchier low-end and mid

cant find the article that explains it better hehe, i try to find

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
which are good for which RPM not really a matter la... just make sure wat the future mod will u b done, then only decide the 4-1 or 4-2-1....

not many mech really know how to do the 4-1 that got all the pros setup in here... even they know, they oso won't share 1...
who said 4-1's torq must b lower than 4-2-1..??

kelvins3281

Mar 30, 2006
4-2-1 low to mid?
4-1 mid to high end?

How much rpm is consider hi rpm?
how bout if engine rev limit is 9k which is suitable?

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
which are good for which RPM not really a matter la... just make sure wat the future mod will u b done, then only decide the 4-1 or 4-2-1....

not many mech really know how to do the 4-1 that got all the pros setup in here... even they know, they oso won't share 1...
who said 4-1's torq must b lower than 4-2-1..??
yalah, didnt say it " Must " be lower la, thats y i specifically stated " In General " meaning not all :P, in all my comments

e.g. in general, most aftermarket 4-1 headers are more for mid to higher rpm improvement

true true about the properly made headers, unless branded jap-made, or reputable local ones like PZ

4-2-1 low to mid?
4-1 mid to high end?

How much rpm is consider hi rpm?
how bout if engine rev limit is 9k which is suitable?
if i recall correctly, i came across this interesting article where they tested a 4-2-1 and a 4-1 header on the same engine; powerband was broader, improvement throughout rpm range, more obvious on the low to mid range

then they swapped the 4-1 in; powerband became narrower/peaky, improvement mainly came from higher rpm regions

what engine u using? 9k considered high la

xbalance2002

Mar 15, 2006
why most of the new car they use 4-1?
as for standard car power feel is ok even it is 4-1

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
yalah, didnt say it " Must " be lower la, thats y i specifically stated " In General " meaning not all :P, in all my comments

e.g. in general, most aftermarket 4-1 headers are more for mid to higher rpm improvement

true true about the properly made headers, unless branded jap-made, or reputable local ones like PZ
understand la bro... hahahaha:rofl::rofl:

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
why most of the new car they use 4-1?
as for standard car power feel is ok even it is 4-1
thats y i specifically stated " In General " meaning not all, and more often than not, this is true for "aftermarket" headers

there is again the matter of the primaries/secondaries which contribute to how the end powerband will look like; even 4-1 can give good low-end if the primaries/secondaries were designed to make the powerband that way, google for more info on this, i lost the article edi hehe

understand la bro... hahahaha:rofl::rofl:
haha ok

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
mayb shld explain on the pipe sizes, or small inlet for the 4-1 & big inlet 4-1, same goes the 4-2-1....
ya troo length/size....

here is a very nice detailed article:

Header-Exhaust Design Effects on Engine Power - Team Integra

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

check out this bisimoto 4-1 header

he made 455hp at the crank with a SOHC f22 honda engine NA, 9.42 secs 0-400m

Lately I got interested in old school cars made in 1970s. Thought of starting a thread to discuss about these cars. Can be stories, own experience, discussion, photos or anything related to these old cars.

Let me start with this for the thread. Do you think that it is still possible to find a KE25/TE25/TE27 Corolla Coupe in Malaysia nowadays? Probably TE27 is almost impossible since that one is the highest spec Corolla Levin. Not KE20 2 door, but the coupe version of KE20.

Here is...