Mazda 2 : what is the suitable engine oil

ken yeang

hahahaha...true.

Reminds me of those chinese printed manual/instruction....Donno to read or not read those manual/instruction....

hahahaha...true.

Reminds me of those chinese printed manual/instruction....Donno to read or not read those manual/instruction....
Reminds me of a picture I took. I will look for it then post new topic about this......:biggrin:

jedi

Dec 22, 2003
That is why when my friends go for 0W-40 I always tell them no need for Malaysian weather....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 04:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:52 PM ----------

Nah! not that heavy until mechanism can be damaged leh!
I have tested oil from 30 to 60 weight, 5w-30. 5w-40. 5w-50 and 10w-60. My engine still running after more than 10 years. Since my engine runs on hydraulic lifters for tappets, 30 weight is too light, the tappets becomes very noisy. 40 weight seems an ideal viscosity. 50 still ok, but 60 is heavy
BTW what is your engine CC?
I tried 5w30 in a mazda 6 2500cc, very noisy, maybe due to the tappets. Change to 5w40 then OK

https://www.mymazda.com/MusaWeb/pdf/manuals/2011_MZ6_OM.pdf

Page 8-19 : Use SAE 0W-20 engine oil (2.5-liter engine). Except USA / Canada : Use SAE 0W-20 engine oil. If SAE 0W-20 engine oil is not available, use SAE 5W-20, 5W-30 engine oil.

And doesn't Mazda6 have hydraulic tappets? It shouldn't make so much noise at all regardless of oil right? Maybe the adjustors need checking.

BTW what is your engine CC?
I tried 5w30 in a mazda 6 2500cc, very noisy, maybe due to the tappets. Change to 5w40 then OK
VR4 2.0L turbo, now on 5w-40 also.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 02:43 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:40 PM ----------

https://www.mymazda.com/MusaWeb/pdf/manuals/2011_MZ6_OM.pdf

Page 8-19 : Use SAE 0W-20 engine oil (2.5-liter engine). Except USA / Canada : Use SAE 0W-20 engine oil. If SAE 0W-20 engine oil is not available, use SAE 5W-20, 5W-30 engine oil.

And doesn't Mazda6 have hydraulic tappets? It shouldn't make so much noise at all regardless of oil right? Maybe the adjustors need checking.
To me, 20 weight is too light for Malaysia weather. My friend tried on his Odyssey 0w-20, town drive ok, higher revs oil disappear whereas on 0w-30 all is fine....:driver:

guys,
is thre any product that can remover Watermark stain on my windscreen ? its really hard to c wen its raining without wipers ! :cry_smile:
need help from anyone that have faced this problem and solved it !:emoticon_U:
thanks for the help in advance ! :shades_smile: