Will dented rims wear off tyre faster???

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Dear bros,

I wanted to ask this question. About 1 month plus ago, I went to change my tyres and to a full alignment, camber & balancing. While doing balancing, the guy told me the front rims bengkok a bit. So when driving high speed, will feel steering vibrate. He suggested to move the slightly dented rims to the back, and move the back rims to the front.

I asked whether ok or not. If necessary, I change the rims. said I don't want the dented rims to "makan tayar". He said its ok. Dented rims won't makan tayar. Just will feel vibration and not stable at high speed. He said once move it to the back will be okay. Sound a bit no sense :confused:.

I want to ask. Is this true? I really want to know whether it will cause my tyres to wear off faster...

Thank you guys...

It will not affect tyre wear, unless your alignment and camber are out.
Putting the dented rims to the rears you won't feed the vibration in your steering.
Anyway, if slightly dented it won't affect the balancing either. If it is dented until balancing affected, then better you repair the rims....

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Thank bro that what I needed to know...

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
my rear left rim were dented and it does not affect the balancing.
steering is'nt wobbly but when speeding above 140kmh, whole car vibrates. hehe.
now got it repaired and everything :biggrin:

my rear left rim were dented and it does not affect the balancing.
steering is'nt wobbly but when speeding above 140kmh, whole car vibrates. hehe.
now got it repaired and everything :biggrin:
Yup, correct.
If in the front, the steering will wobble as tyres connect to steering.
If put at the back, the connection is the car, so car body will vibrate. But this will happen only if balancing out by a lot, rims pretty badly dented or driving at much higher speed....

What is the difference between a 4g92 and a 4g92p?

I have a 4g92 in my satria currently and I am unsure of how to mod the engine itself.

Enlighten me please. :cyclops: