when is the time to top overhaul or overhaul?

ahrtheohs

Known Member
Aug 24, 2006
to all sifus,im new in this motoring industry.. bought a 2nd hand with 90xxx mileage.. my questions are. when is the time to top overhaul and when is the time to do full overhaul? is there any sign? what is the cost for top overhaul? and how about overhaul? what parts are replaced on top overhaul and overhaul? hope all sifus here can answer my question. newbie here needs some knowledge

WestCoast

Known Member
Mar 26, 2006
sorry ya tumpang ur thread oso
i oso wana knw more bout overhaul..top overhaul means overhaul the head only? wat do the mechanics usually do to our engine when overhaul?

diwant

Known Member
Apr 22, 2004
Bangsar
diwant.wordpress.com
from my understanding:
1. Top overhaul = service/ change parts that is inside the head. e.g: gasket, piston ring, piston, etc, whichever needs to be replaced, and also cleaning of cylinder.

2. General overhaul = Every mechanical parts of the whole engine will be checked and dismantled to determine if there are any worn out parts or anything that need to be replaced.

putra4767

500 RPM
Sep 13, 2004
Visit site
diwant said:
from my understanding:
1. Top overhaul = service/ change parts that is inside the head. e.g: gasket, piston ring, piston, etc, whichever needs to be replaced, and also cleaning of cylinder.

2. General overhaul = Every mechanical parts of the whole engine will be checked and dismantled to determine if there are any worn out parts or anything that need to be replaced.
Bro, Piston rings & piston are in the block - that's under full overhaul...
Top overhaul include, head gaskets, valves, valve seals, things inside the head...

If ur engine consumes engine oil due & is emitting white smoke then you may have to do overhaul depending on the cause....

A compression test is the best way to start....

softmuffin

Known Member
Dec 21, 2004
alrite let say aft full overhaul what will happen to the engine