Very high compression engine = hard to start ?

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com

just wanted to ask u vtec guys, is it true that very high comp engine like 12.5 to 13.X comp ratio is hard to crank (start) ? i mean the symptom is like having a weak battery
did u guys ever heard about this ?

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Not really, the cranking power required would be more, because of the resistance of compressing the air in the engine 13;1 (if your compression is like that.

But if you used brk6ng plugs to start the car, if there are no problems and the starter motor can generate enough torque, it will fire up(start) on the first try.

Let's ignore for the moment that for higher rpms, the brk6 plugs will be the source of knocking at high rpm.

But of course, you've probably seen how extreme modified cars have difficulty starting when cold, or you wouldn't be asking this question.

Usually hard starts are the plugs, since most high comp cars use 8-9 plugs, cold plug = hard start, due to extra coil energy required to make the spark jump the spark plug gap. But provided all this is addressed,

A high comp car can fire up on first try.

But if you meant the unsteady idle when the engine is cold, thats something common because the stock ecu mapping does not compensate for too cold a plug, or different timing curve when cold idling.

This is where standalones shine, and if you can get a competent tuner, you can set it so it starts and cold idle like a standard car.

The standalone does this by having fuel/ignition compensation for cold idle, which frankly, takes a lot of time to do. I can spend quite some time doing it, because i have to start and observe the idling quality at cold, then compensate as the engine warms up, then let it cool again, and repeat for quite a few times.

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
mr shiroi, come to jb meh... can tok tok....
with ur knowledge, like candle in the dark meh...
thanx bro....

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
cannot clone eh??
place 1 in jb, 1 in kl, 1 in penang....
heheheh

Discover the ultimate in relaxed romance with the best casual dating platform!
Authentic Damsels Top-notch Сasual Dating
Outstanding Сasual Dating