Too much fires from muffler.. & no G-force

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
Too much fires from muffler and some kinda exploring sounds from the car.

what is it? and one more thing... I don really feel the pulling.... G force...

why?? what I need to check out??

please let me know..

SomeGuy_sg

Oct 2, 2004
That my friend is called back fire . You might be running too rich if you can see actually flames coming out from your exhuast ....

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
What shall I do to correct this?

'spark plug?iginition timing? '

I just changed spark plug.... it's HKS. Timing?? u meant Timing belt??

I changed all the spare parts..

Let's say if I running too rich... what shall I do? fuel regulator? oil catch tank?

and one more thing...

I don really feel G force from my car.... why is it like that??

especailly.. 1st and 2nd gear.... response quite slow....

anyone knows what's going on???

E V O L U T I O N

Aug 6, 2004
could be a few reasons...

- the ignition timing (related to your distributor adjustment)

- fueling problem

- the gear box ratio. maybe not in your case assuming u r using stock evo box

- exhaust setup, like downpipe size, muffler size, etc...

but i think the first & 2nd one has the most influence

heavyfoot

Nov 4, 2004
Clutch slip... change to racing clutch feel the different!

Other than that something wrong... ;)

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
thank you for ur supporting guys..

-my mechanic says my clutch is quite old.. and no good condition...
(then buy one racing clutch.. (Exedy) )

-my Gear box is not LSD Gear box.. but GSR
(does it makes big difference in speed or pick up? or just cornering?)

-fuel ratio isn't good.
(buy one fuel ragulater)

-down piping... start with 2.5" after exhaust all the way 3.0"
(Apexi Exhaust + Original Evo down piping + made in Japan 5Zigen muffler)
the thing is my muffler sound's damn big... why? is it normal?

- I need to check it one more time but... I saw my car runs with 0.6 bar
but lastly I saw it 0.5 I guess... my friend told me that he adjust bit on
Blow off valve.. is it because of that?

what else will that be? ur help is much appreciated.. thanks dudes..
please give me some more comments please.

E V O L U T I O N

Aug 6, 2004
seems like u have leaking pressure... check that.

adjusting ur sqv also makes a diff. if u screw it too tight.., it becomes less responsive. try making it as loose as u can go without the engine dying off and see the diff, it dosnt cost u a cent to try this out.

apart from all that i think u really need to get ur engine tuned up instead of just dumping in more hardware... software part is equally important.

so if i were u i would go for:
-2wd gear box, like 1.8 geabox or an evo gearbox
-what plugs are u using? it should be number 7 or 8
-2.5 inch down pipe is fine. the exhaust setup is fine. i would leave this alone first.
-check if i have any presure leakage. should be getting stock boost which is 0.7 bar
-get ur ignition timing right i.e. distributor
-get ur a/f ratio right by geting an safc and go gt auto for tuning. or if u have a higher budget just go for a piggyback instead like smt. smt also allows tuning for ignition, so its better.

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
THANKS DUDE... THANKS MILLION FOR UR GREAT COMMENTS...

GOTTA SEE THOSE 2 THINGs...

FIRST THING IS MY BOOST METER... THE NIDDLE INDICATES TO -0.5

when i put my gear in nutral as the picture shows.

SECOND THING IS MY RADIATOR CAP.... AS U SEE FROM THE PIC

THE TOP SEAL IS LEAKING.. IS IT NATURAL OR GETTING SPOILED??

PLEASE SHARE UR KNOWLDEGE WITH ME..

E V O L U T I O N

Aug 6, 2004
I dont think the cap has anything to do with performance la..

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
I meant .. the radiator cap.. it's leaking from the top.. is it a problem???

or natural...???

stroker_kit

Jan 7, 2004
GSR running a 0.5bar only??? is that normal??
if its under the standard boost level, it could be the blow off going to die oredi, where it cannot withstand anything higher than 0.5bar... SQV can die also after a long usage....
or it could be ur wastegate actuator....premature opening at 0.5 bar...which would most likely cause ur engine to run rich fuel mixture, ... standard manufacturer setting will always give a considerably high fuel mixture even if ur running 0.2bar above the standard boost level... thats why when ur boost is lower than standard level, ur fuel mixture is waaayyyyy tooooo rich......thus backfire occurs and g-force all gone....
if evrything else is in good condition, what i'd do is get the fuel mixture dyno tune by using some piggyback(SAFC) or standalone... if u put a fuel reg on ur current problme, it will most like to give you an even richer fuel mixture....

E V O L U T I O N

Aug 6, 2004
Originally posted by DJ-EVO3@Dec 8 2004, 13:17
I meant .. the radiator cap.. it's leaking from the top.. is it a problem???

or natural...???
any leaking is definately not natural, cos if it was natural they wouldn'y call it a leak, maybe call it 'flow' haha.. anyway if u got the time just get a replacement lo. dont think its that urgent if ur temperature levels are ok.

anyway... i strongly advise against using external device or anything that dosnt come stock stock e.g. fuel regulator etc to cover your engine faults...

thats like cheating...

imagine if a stock car has no odd problems and has reasonable standard power yet dosnt require an aftermarket device..

why should yours?

I think aftermarket eqipment should not be bought for the sake of rectifying a problem but to enhance yr current setup.

search thoroughly for the cause of the problem, get it fixed...THEN only think bout aftermarket device.

i believe stock setup is a good baseline to follow as its factory proven. once u achieve that, then only think of custom upgrades. that way u will also be able to isolate the causeshould anything go wrong.

stroker_kit

Jan 7, 2004
remember that not all halfcut engine are in good condition... some parts may need to be replaced or retune......

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
oops... my mistake...

when I put my gear in Neutral. The needle indicates -0.5

is it normal.??? and I guess I need to retune my car properly...

what shall I do about this condition?

DJ-EVO3

Sep 25, 2004
Sri hatamas
oh... that's good.. I guess I worried too much.. kkk

ok.. anyway.. I guess I'm running with too rich fuel... what shall I do

about this?

polyxtroy

Feb 18, 2004
Pakai la fuel management... SAFC or some other make.. If got money, then go stand alone ECU la.. Better results.

currently think of stroke up my evo 4 4g63 engine with 4g64 2.4L grandis block, but my mech ask me to hold on,wait for confirmation until people prove that the block can be use, my mech told me , he suspect that the starter position is different from 4g63,4g63 is at btm part of the block, but 4g64 starter position is near middle, if just put in the block will resulting in starter being block and heat up by the turbo.... any evo sifu had done this successful?i know evo 1-3 can but how about 4...