The Star: Illegal racers and spectators to face heavier fines and longer jail terms

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
By MARC LOURDES

KUALA LUMPUR: Mat Rempit beware!

The full force of the law will be applied to bring to a halt the stunts and antics of these reckless bikers. Even their fans and spectators will not be spared.

The illegal racers will have to slam on the brakes once amendments to the Road Transport Act come into effect.

City Traffic chief Asst Comm Hamzah Taib said spectators caught watching illegal motorcycle races and egging on the participants would also be subjected to prosecution under the amendments.

Mat Rempits and their fans can expect higher fines and longer jail terms.

ACP Hamzah said that the Road Transport Act 1987 did not define illegal racing and had no definition of illegal racers.

“Apart from defining what illegal racing is, the police are also seeking heavier penalties for it, as well as laws to punish the spectators,” he said, adding that a proposal had been submitted to the Transport Ministry.

“At the moment, only the racers are charged – for reckless riding.”

The present punishment for those convicted of the offence for the first time is a maximum five years' imprisonment and a fine of between RM5,000 and RM15,000, while subsequent convictions carry a jail term of up to 10 years as well as a fine of RM10,000 to RM20,000.

Asked whether the recent movie Remp-it – which portrayed the lives of Mat Rempits – had any effect on illegal racers, ACP Hamzah said there were two sides to the argument surrounding the issue.

“On the one hand, some would say that the movie did glamorise illegal racing, but on the other, it also showed the consequences of the lives led by these people,” he added.

ACP Hamzah said the police had only arrested about 300 illegal racers in Kuala Lumpur this year but had conducted special operations to deal with the problem. These operations involve traffic personnel, narcotics police, CID and City Hall officers.

“We also send in undercover officers to infiltrate their groups and obtain intelligence on their activities,” he added.

He said police statistics showed that there were relatively-few cases in which Mat Rempits were involved in crimes like fighting or destruction of property.

He lauded recent attempts by Putera Umno to reach out to the illegal racers.

“It is a good move as they are trying to ‘civilise’ the racers. These people have a lot of determination and courage and if this can be channelled properly they can become productive members of society.”

ACP Hamzah also said illegal racing was a non-compoundable offence.

“This means that if somebody is charged under this offence they will have to face the music in court,” he added.

My take: Kuddos to the cops! :shades_smile: This Abdul Azeez moron can join them in jail too.

invisibleghost

Mar 19, 2005
but cops said this

He lauded recent attempts by Putera Umno to reach out to the illegal racers.

“It is a good move as they are trying to ‘civilise’ the racers. These people have a lot of determination and courage and if this can be channelled properly they can become productive members of society.”

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Channel them to slavery instead of jail terms. Since we lacked workers in the construction sector, why not force rempits to work for FREE? Just pay them food allowance and some small pocket money.

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
hopefuly we could see POLITICIANS' sons and daughters caught for rempiting
post pics.better still

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
invisibleghost said:
or POLITICIANS' sons and daughters being victimised by rempit especially the guy who champion them
I had the same thought when shits like this happen too. Too bad, it never happened. Or at least, not that I know off.

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
lozo,
I think we ought not to talk about drivers just yet. hahaha I mean, think about it. How many drivers who you honk, will force you to stop your car and then pull you out followed by a good round of whacking. How many drivers would purposely try to hit your car if you honk them? How many drivers will do what the rempits do? Yes, there are some drivers who are out of their mind but these babi rempits outnumber drivers who do what the rempits do. Don't you think so? Well, at least, that's what I notice la. hahaha

PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM TO RACE IN JAPAN’S SUPER TAIKYU ENDURANCE SERIES

PST Media, 12 January 2007

After two successful campaigns in the Asian Touring Car Championship (ATCC), the PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM will be taking part in the Super Taikyu Endurance Series in Japan from 2007. The announcement was made during the SYNTIUM lubricant launch at the Japan Auto Saloon Exhibition at the Makuhari Messe Conference centre.