The Malaysian Malay, from a S'porean Malay's POV

invisibleghost

Mar 19, 2005
something i got from email. since there's nothing to debate about, i posted it here for everyone's reading.

THE MALAYSIAN MALAY by Dr Syed Alwi of Singapore

Dear Editor,

As you know, I am an avid watcher of Malaysian affairs. I must confess
that lately, Malaysia appears to be failing. Not a day passes by without
more events that clearly highlight Malaysia's race-religion fault-line. If
things keep going this way, I fear for Malaysia's future.

Today, schools in Singapore celebrate Racial Harmony Day. I can visibly
see the joy in the children's faces as they wear their ethnic costumes and
have fun together at school. But in Malaysia - even the right to choose a
religion has become a sensitive, national issue. No doubt, there are many
in Malaysia who hate my liberal views on Islam, family included. But I will
say what I must say openly. I have come to the conclusion that Malaysia
cannot progress any further without first addressing fundamental questions
regarding its identity and soul.

I remember the days when we can laugh at Lat's cartoons on everyday
Malaysian life. But sadly, the Islamic tide has polarised Malaysians. Some
people ask why I should bother about Malaysian affairs since I am a
Singaporean. May I remind Malaysians that it was Tan Siew Sin who once said
that Singapore and Malaysia are Siamese Twins. Should Malaysia go down - it
would hurt the region tremendously. Especially Singapore.

Where do you think Malay apostates would head for if Lina Joy loses her
case? Singapore of course! I find the Malaysian Malay to be very
under-exposed. For them, it's all Islam and the NEP and everything under the

sun would sort itself out . I am sorry to say this - but Islam and the NEP
may be the cause of the undoing of the Malaysian Malay.

There is nothing wrong with religion or affirmative action. But, like
everything else in life, they must be taken in moderation and with a pinch
of salt. A little doubt is good. Unfortunately in Malaysia, emotions over
Islam have overcome reason. What we see today is the result of the NEP and
Islamisation policies of the past thirty years or so.

No one owes Malaysian Malays a living. Let me assure you that should
Malaysia fail - the Malaysian Malay will suffer enormously. And rightly so.
After all - they have been pampered with all sorts of goodies over the
years. They cannot now expect more goodies. Perhaps the day of reckoning for

them, is near. Whatever it is, Malaysia had better wake up to the realities
around her. The globalised world of the 21st century has no NEP to offer the
Malaysian Malay. And humans cannot live by religion alone.

Regards,
Dr Syed Alwi

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Tohsan said:
if he is well awake, he will not be like a sitting duck while his KJ doing circus behind his back.:regular_smile:
I'm afraid it is more like Batman and Robin. Pak Lah isn't stupid. You don't climb your way to the top of Malaysian politics by being an idiot. Even Dr. M couldn't see this coming which is part of the reason why he is rightly pissed.

Pak Lah is well aware of what him and the people he CHOOSES to surround himself with is doing.

jordanti10

Mar 15, 2006
It is too 'futuristic' to achieve and if I remember correctly Bangsa Malaysia issue was in the papers recently if it works out non should question about the special rights of Malays. So what so great about being Bangsa Malaysia when one race have special rights like cheaper house, quota in local universities etc etc.

No offence but reality just that no one bothered to talk about this anymore. Sienz of it all together cause there's nothing can be done about it. Maybe I could be ISAed because of this .... well we all know don't we?

PEace

hmm ... can diy a clock using a disc brake arr ? :huh: hahaha ... wanted 2 get a disc brake clock bt cant find ne ... ne idea here where got selll arr ... or else go diy 1 .. go get a disc brake bek n do .. hahaha