Temperature raise while idiling .

G_ti

Nov 20, 2005
My car temperature goes up while the engine is at idiling mode but it will comes down while running . It worries me a lot because the temperature goes up very fast when idiling only .

Anyone , have experience this before . FYI , i'm using GTI ( engine 4g93 na ) .

Need advise from you all .:cry_smile: :cry_smile: :confused_smile:

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
check thermostat. if spoilt. change new one

n oso .. service ur radiator. not normal service. overhaul ur radiator,they will clean with chemical.

my prelude h22a also same. when idle. temp goes up. when start to move. its become normal.

so i overhaul my radiator. n it works fine.

G_ti

Nov 20, 2005
Do i need to service the radiator only or including all the pipings ?

zan

Feb 20, 2005
if radiator is rusty, better sent for flushing. change thermostat if spoilt as well as radiator cap. replacement costs are low.

i suspect ur radiator fan motor is running at slow speed - an early sign of motor giving way. new motor is about RM110 (local). new one about RM160. can get used one about RM50.

my wira 1.6 is facing same problem, after repair everything still same problem. when i checked with EON, they say its normal.

actual normal temperature for wira is half (like waja) but as u drive along the temperature will be reduced to compensate for engine's higher operating temperature.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
zephyr3d said:
always check the fan first....... check if the radiator fan's running. Else, the coolent... and so on.
yeah last time me also same. my radiator take out and clean it inside out by mech before, but then change bigger and hotter engine the radiator can't keep it cold enough, stopping 10 minute is enough to make the temp go into the red even with fan spining.

so thought of using bigger radiator, but before that i just go and buy a bottle of toyota coolant to try out first, pour it in and until today (almost 4 months already) i never need to worry about the temperature anymore. before that i use water only.

[s]UpErNoVa

Feb 8, 2006
yeaps.. check thermostat.. if it's working properly then it's ur radiator clogged inside.. get specialist shop to do it for u.. involves welding though..

putra4767

Sep 13, 2004
water

i drive a putra n faced the same prob last week...

It was my air con fan which was not working...So, during jam/stopping temp
raises up, but after off air con or with air con when moving no prob coz air
will cool...

Could be your radiator fan speed as well, maybe motor not fast enough....

I think seldom it's caused by dirty radiator...for this case

zombie

Jul 4, 2006
Understandbly, the temperature shld rise abit when car is not moving. This is especially true when stuck in a jam in a hot afternoon. When the cars starts moving, the wind helps to pull hot air away from the engine.

Anyway, check the entire cooling system lar.

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
float up your bonet with some washers, actually help on air circulation.

front cool air entering, float up gap releasing hot air.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
gohkokeng said:
float up your bonet with some washers, actually help on air circulation.

front cool air entering, float up gap releasing hot air.
thats true, but different car different risk, for me i can't do it cuz all my ignition system is at the firewall, water go down and i'm doom.

KoichiImpul33

Apr 3, 2006
gti

yes, good idea to start with the radiator fan 1st. it could be slow or not working properly. if the car engine is idling and the temp is rising, by right the fan should be spinning fast. if its not spinning, take a screw driver and try and hit the motor in the middle with the butt of the screw driver. sometimes could be faulty wiring or motor about to retire. if the fan starts working, u know whats wrong. termostat could also be the cause, especially if the temp skyrockets within a fraction of a minute while idling. its normal for the temp to drop while driving as the cooler air form outside cools down the engine.

btw, have u chekd ur radiator water level?

A Post Every 5 Mins

i-CHARGE Voltage Stabilizer has the following three systems:
• Voltage Stabilizer System
• Interference Reducer System
• Battery Doctor System

Benefits
• Fuel saving
• Better RPM response
• Increase engine torque
• Engine power up
• Optimized all electronic devices in car

Notices
• Do not disassemble or modify this product to avoid damage or injury.
• Only design for 12V vehicles. Do not use on 24V vehicles.
• Do not plug in and out from the...