Tech : 4G63T, Vr4, Evo's.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Hehe, went to kedai potong, so decided to take some pics for u guys. Wrote it for the US forum, just cut n paste for u guys here. And other sifus who got more info, please post it up :D

thanks to mell_amir too , cos i took some pics from his shop hahahahha

Red Valve Cover engines, these are not EVO's , these are the Galant VR4 engines , they are similar to the 1G engines in the US , but there are some diffrences, VR4's have a 3 versions , VR4 200, VR4 220 , VR4 240 . The diffrence ? the VR4 200 and 220 comes with 450cc injectors and they have a td05 14b , Intake manifold for 200 and 220 is a Cyclone , VR4 240 is also called VR4RS from the E39A body , it has 510cc injectors , the healthiest vr4 engine to buy is the 4g63 VR4rs auto which comes with the td05 14b. vr4rs manual has td05 16g and a bigger intercooler. And if you notice properly on the VR4 200,220 doesnt have a diamond logo on its rocker cover, only the VR4RS and the evos have it. How do u diffrenciate a EVO 1,2 and 3 , its pretty simple, 3 ways , ECU , PISTON CODE , CHASSIS CODE and extra wirings at the firewall.

Here are the pictures of the intakes & rocker covers

VR4RS ECi MULTI Intake (Big Port)

VR4 200,220 Cyclone Intake Manifold(Big Port) , VR4 200 Doesnt have the word "Intercooler" on it.

Newer Generation 4G67 (Big Port)

EVO I,II,III Intake Manifolds are all the same and so are the TB's/

Heres the evo engine , this is a evo III , there is a vacuum grey cylinder on the firewall , its only on the EVO III's

All EVO's have 609 Air Flow Sensors

Intercoolers , the vr4's and evo's do not have same intercoolers.
The Vr4 200,200 has a smaller one compared to the VR4RS , the Vr4rs are smaller than the EVO 123, EVO 456 & 678 are totally diffrent.

VR4RS Intercooler

EVO 1,2,3 Intercooler

1800GSR Intercooler

EVO 4,5,6 Intercooler End tanks face down

Exhaust Manifolds , The EVO II and III are the best to last , this is because they are high in NI content and do not tend to crack. The VR4's are similar to the 1G exhaust manifold. The EVO manifold has an extra lump at the 1st runner if u notice. The EVO 4,5,6,7,8 do have a diffrent Exhaust manifold. What most users do not know is that
the they can fit the EVO45678 exhaust manifold & also its turbo to their 1G's and 2G's. Of cos the turbo will then face ## power steering pump or alternator, thats another issue.

VR4 Exhaust Manifold

EVO Above , VR4 Below

EVO 4 Manifold & VR4 Manifold
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_hIkvJ501gTQ/SSKZwvEqrBI/AAAAAAAAAGo/TVlsKyEGCZ0/10112008424.jpg

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Engine :

All the vr4's have the same pistons and compression, they are codded 63DT.
EVO 1 & 2 has the same compression which is 8.5:1 which is same as 2g's
VR4's all have 7.8:1 compression which is same as 1G's.
EVO III has 9:1 compression. Code on top of pistons
EVO1 - H1
EVO2 - H2
EVO3 – EV

My vr4 engine that i just purchase , ROFL

All the vr4's have big ports like the 1G's . The evo's have smaller n wider ports like 2g's.
u can see the intake manifold port comparison over here
(credits to ryan denke for this pic)
There is way to see if its a big port of a small port from the head , they have a cast marking on the side near the CAS , 2.0 is a big port , 1.8 is a 4g67 head , Evo's have diffrent markings.

EVO1 - G6K - 1 or 2
EVO 2 - G6K - 3
EVO 3 - G6K - 4 or 5

Turbo's

VR4RS and EVO1 has the same td05 small 16g while the evo2 has the td05 big 16g.
EVO III is a diffrent species. Somethings that I have experimented , the EVO 4-9 stock exhaust manifold will fit the 1g,2g 4G63 head , you can use their TD05HR , but the problem is the clearance issue with the alternator if its fitted in a DSM or EVO 1-3. Another engine is the RVR , RVR has a 4g63 with td04HL , i guess td04HL is not that common in US . td04HL is twin fin turbo and the turbine housing is nearly the size of the 14b 6cm housing. The o2 housing of a the td05 14b will fit the td04hl without mods.

Codes for turbo , EVO 1 - 45 , EVO 2 - 46 , EVO 3 - 47

EVO III Turbo

Vr4 Turbo

Top is EVO I turbo , below is a EVO III

EVO III Turbo

EVO III Turbine Housing

EVO I Turbine Housing

EVO 8 Turbo

ECU's

as for Ecu's , all the evo's have different ecu's and mappings , the evo3 has less timing in it due to high compression. Don't get fooled by ecu's such as Mines and Ralliart, they are not worth it compared to your DSMLink. All evo ecu's have EPROM on it. But of course DSMlink isn't compatible with it.

vr4 200hp ECU 8618
vr4 220hp ECU 8618
vr4 240hp ECU 5818
E1 - 7701
E2 - 2468
E3 - 2364

Chassis Code:

EVO 1 --CD9A-SNGF
EVO 2 - CE9A-SNGF
EVO 3 - CE9A-SNGF

Injectors

Injector wise, guys, don't argue , we have few thousand cars over here, we cant be lying ,
VR4 200,220 Cyclones have 450cc injectors , VR4RS , Evo 1,2,3 have yellow 510cc injectors , EVO 6-8 have 560cc injectors , another easy upgrade is the RX7 denso injectors, they are 550cc. There are many people who do think the EVO3 has a 560cc injectors, it doesn't. 450cc VR4 injectors are blue in colour. 560cc injectors do have 560cc written beside their injectors. Physically , look at the injector nozzle of the 510cc Yellow injector, if it has twin nozzles its a evo, if its a single spray patern its the Vr4rs

Vr4RS 510cc injectors

The EVO I

The EVO III

Throttle Body wise , the 1G has the 60mm over in the US, its cousin vr4 has only a 54mm Throttle while all the evo's do have 60mm TBs. Alternative TBs which are 60mm are Mitsubishi 6A11T and Mivec 4G92.

Drivetrain
VR4 gb's have the weakest 1st gear (this was even stated in Jack Transmissions)
EVO 1-3 have close ratio gearboxes. Cars that run 2wd over here usually go through a process where we throw away the extra gears & parts in the GB since we want to run 2wd only. EVO III comes stock with LSD at the rear.

Lately I opened up my evo III gb, it had something different in it, rather than the normal coupling, mine had one with an engrave which noted "Adelia Magic" , the picture is below, I contacted that Japanese company through email, what they have mentioned is that , the allen bolts can be removed from the coupling, there are two pieces of clutch inside and some adjustments can be made to it , these adjustments will determine the amount of torque i distribute between the rear and front wheels. Once the clutch inside it tends to slip, it will then feed the rear wheels. How true it is ? I am yet to find out.

My Adelia Magic Coupling

Gearboxes codes (copy pasted):
W5M33-2-NGRE Lancer gsr RS (1992, 1800cc) ?
W5M33-2-NNZT Eclipse AWD 5spd mfg 3/94 ?
W5M33-2-NPXV 91-94 Eclipse AWD 5spd mfg 6/90-2/94 ?
W5M33-2-NPZT 95-96 Eclipse AWD 5spd mfg 3/94-6/96 ?
W5M33-2-NQBE Libero/Lancer Gsr, non lsd version of NRWE No 3.545
W5M33-2-NQBK 1991-92 to 4/92 VR4/ZR4 Galant ?
W5M33-2-NQBM 1992 Galant to 5/92 ?
W5M33-2-NRBE 92-95 Lancer GSR, lightweight synco's 2nd & 3rd No 3.545
W5M33-2-NRWE 92-95 Lancer GSR
W5M33-2-NRXD 1990 Cyborg No 3.545
W5M33-2-UPFE Evo3 RS with front LSD Yes 3.909
W5M33-2-UPGE Evo3 GSR non LSD No 3.909
W5M33-2-UPWE Evo3 GSR with front LSD Yes 3.909
W5M33-2-UPYE Evo3 RS non LSD No 3.909
W5M33-2-WPFE Evo2 RS with front LSD Yes 3.909
W5M33-2-WPGE Evo2 GSR non LSD No 3.909
W5M33-2-WPVF Galant VR4 E84A ?
W5M33-2-WPWE Evo2 GSR with front LSD Yes 3.909
W5M33-2-WPYE Evo2 RS non LSD No 3.909
W5M33-2-WQFE Evo1 RS with front LSD Yes 3.909
W5M33-2-WQFK Galant VR4 evo ? ?
W5M33-2-WQGE Evo1 GSR non LSD No 3.909
W5M33-2-WQNK VR4 Evo, close ratio box ? No 3.909
W5M33-2-WQWE Evo1 GSR (and RS?) with front LSD Yes 3.909
W5M33-2-WQYE Evo1 RS non LSD No 3.909

kenzo

aiseh bro, no info for evo4 kah bro? just a question, does evo 4 have LSD? because i jack my car up today and start the engine, the left tyre was moving but the right want was not...is that consider lsd? sorry i budak baru belajar :P:adore:

jinkl

May 22, 2004
aiseh bro, no info for evo4 kah bro? just a question, does evo 4 have LSD? because i jack my car up today and start the engine, the left tyre was moving but the right want was not...is that consider lsd? sorry i budak baru belajar :P:adore:
u learn up n tell us la :P
if ur car is a EVO4 RS then u have the front LSD , and if ur engine from a GSR then it has a rear AYC , but u r using 2wd on ur gen2 , so i guess one tyre moves, the other doesnt, u dnt have an LSD

goo_61t

Nov 13, 2007
Waahhh JINKL thank you laa sifuuu...i was looking for this gearbox codes...in consideration to buy a gearbox,my current 4 wheel gearbox cannot use the drive shaft extention coz the extention will bent a bit to the block causing oil leaking through the oil seal. i just want to use the gearbox housing as my current gearbox ratio is nice..close ratio..feels nice..i only need the 5th gear n housing for vr4 gearbox all other internal want to use back...hurmmm

eci4ever

Dec 7, 2007
waaa.. great info, really helping a noobie like me...
thanks bro jinkl...

eci4ever

Dec 7, 2007
my foreman said, rarely to find evo3 comes with LSD from halfcut..
luckily for those who got it.

ExODus

May 14, 2006
Mine also non-lsd... Must be lucky for those who got the lsd one...

got a question here... used to have vr4... Now running on evo II but i still use my vr4 exhaust manifold... and vr4 tb... is it ok? :hmmmm: is there any disadvantages?

JOE_2799

Sep 2, 2008
BRO.NOW IM USE 4G67 ENGINE AND WIRING EVO2.ECU CODE 2364 (EVO3)..TROTLE BODY EVO,COIL EVO,DISTRIBUTOR EVO,INJECTOR EVO.GEARBOX EVO,INTAKE 4G67,HEAD 4G67,PISTON VR4 4G63T,TURBINE VR4 TDO5H
I WANT USE EVO INTAKE MANIFOLD..CAN OR NOT?JUST WANT LOOK LIKE EVO...
:hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:

hi guys...

i'm gonna upgrade my brake hose to steel braided one....mine already 13 years old...;)...

so...which one is worth buying...Goodrich or Pro RS....

in term of price and performance...as i know,Pro RS warranty 2 years but Goodrich i fon't know...

where to get good price and installation how much?? for B16a..

any experience to share??

TQVM