revving

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
i have a satria 1.3 carburetor. the engine can be rev up to 6k right? is it good or bad to do that? sometimes while revving at 5k rpm, i can feel the gear box shaking. Is it some problem or what?

If i drive at normal speed with normal gear, its smooth.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
its neither good nor bad. The engine is design in a way that it needs to be reved that high to get the most power out of it anyway. Just apply common sense, the engine can work that hard, just as a human do, but even a human who work hard will fall sick if he didn't take a rest.

the shaking part i dunno, since my car always shake anyway.. lol.. old car.

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
i did not mean the car shakes. its like the gearbox making some sound and engine feel hard to reach 6k rpm. this happens if i dun rev the car for sometime.

if i rev it often, there is not sound on the gear box and it reaches 6k rpm easily.

anyway, i'm just curious bout the sound from the gear if i rev it. :confused_smile:

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
idle to around 4.5k rpm no sound..after 4.5k rpm only the sound starts.

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
how old is yer car? check for worn out engine bushings?

1997. just reached 50k mileage.

the point is if i rarely rev the car, this sound can be heard on the gear box when it's almost 5k rpm. its like the car is using a wrong gear. sometimes i get scared to press the accelerator more just in case my gearbox will spoil.

if i always rev it, no sound at all. can reach till 6k

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
PocketRocket said:
erm....'97 n reach 50k km..? i 1yr reaching 100k edi...*swt*
lol..mum used the car before. she hardly drives. i covered 17000km for the last 18 months. :_:

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
er.i think its due to ur high revving.u dont want the sound?just dont rev so high.

btw.if ur car can rev till 6k..doesnt mean u shud shift at 6k or launch at 6k.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
PocketRocket said:
erm....'97 n reach 50k km..? i 1yr reaching 100k edi...*swt*
my maternal grandpa's Corolla LE celebrating 20 year old this year. dunno millage now, but in 2004 when i borrow the car (my car go bengkel) and the car only done 20,000km.. and yes.. the meter not yet go one round.. we laugh at him say his car take 18 years to "run-in"

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
he only drive to the coffee shop once in a while and to the shop that one could easily walk there to buy newspaper everyday. and now old liau even less use the car, only used to go see doctor... sometime the car put at home 1 week no move.

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
yikez.but its still cool to have a 20year old car with 20,000 clocked on the odo.hehehe

btw.thread starter...how do u know its ur g/box?er....by hearing???

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
Fluffy said:
yikez.but its still cool to have a 20year old car with 20,000 clocked on the odo.hehehe

btw.thread starter...how do u know its ur g/box?er....by hearing???
yes. the sound is like pushing the gear box to the maximum limit till its suffering to go.

12oY

Nov 9, 2004
kuantan
maybe the shaking part is the drive shalf the inner bering have gone jam.... try cheack ur drive shalf hehehe.... me rev til 6k also nv have pro... but dun rev 2 long ny like 1 hr sure die la the engine...

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
rollakid said:
my maternal grandpa's Corolla LE celebrating 20 year old this year. dunno millage now, but in 2004 when i borrow the car (my car go bengkel) and the car only done 20,000km.. and yes.. the meter not yet go one round.. we laugh at him say his car take 18 years to "run-in"
wow...must be in tip top condition...how bout interiors n exteriors..? worn out or showroom condition?

By KL Auto Salon: KL AUTO SALON™ was initiated in August 2005 with first meetings held casually at the Coffee Bean in KL Plaza and was attended by a group of car crazy enthusiasts.

So many things were discussed on the proposed KL AUTO SALON™ and an exchange of ideas to be Malaysia's number one automotive lifestyle event. Although the event did not take off sooner, efforts to make it happen...