Rattling noise -Lantis 323f..Need help!!

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
Hi all mazda owners..
:)
My car starts to make an rattling noise at around 2000 rpm & gone at higher rpm.I suspect it came from engine cover panel but my mechanic said it came from exhaust system..extractor ( front section exhaust system).

Anyone who faced with same problem..hope can share some info..

kfze

Apr 28, 2005
eakamal,
Your car got noise during low rpm ......... hmmm.... need to hear it first. Exhaust maybe one of the culprit, but to identity noise is the most difficult thing to diagnose.

sorry can't help. I am driving a 323f too.

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
Had checked with 2 different exhaust shop..They jack up the car to see..But no leak or wrong with exhaust system.I also check with engine compartment & under car engine panel but everything stay tight.

The noise only happen when car on the move when rpm nearing 2000 & it gone for upper range but at stationary it didn't.I try to refer in mazda323.co.uk web page about rattling noises cause by exhaust but won't help.

What should i do:

1. Change all front suspension bush?
2. Change extractor & new exhaust system?
OR...

Anyone who have any idea / experienced it are welcome..For kfze TQ for ur comment..This noise make me nut thinking where it came from.

engineer1

Sep 25, 2004
Qatar
eakamal...

check the rubber bush that use to hang the exhaust. maybe its gone. check all the way from extractor to the end. i dont think change the exhaust will solve the problem unless there is an alien in yr exhaust.... good luck

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
Problem identified,came from extractor..Exhaust shop weld a bracket at the extractor..No more rattling noise..
Anyone had using hotbit extractor?i'm interested to know is it worth to buy it?

william

Jul 5, 2005
i to all mazda lantis owners here. i'm planning to get a used mazda lantis 1997 model. can you advise if this model is good in terms of handling and comfort level.

engineer1

Sep 25, 2004
Qatar
eakamal, so no more noise? i pm u about the extractor. if u know, pls tell me.

to william, which model u plan to get? sedan or h/back? 1.6 or 1.8? if u have a heavy feet, opt for 1.8 then. btw, both model are preety good in handling and superb comfort level. FC might be high for 1.6. also for the parts, i think slightly higher then those proton.

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
No more noise..Problem settle..i' had read ur pm,i'll try to ask my friend about it...

Will,
I'm using lantis h/b,in term of handling & ride is good but FC ( for auto model )lil'bit high but it depend how ur drive,mod ( such bigger rim,exhaust sys ).Parts still available anywhere since it same- ford lynx.

william

Jul 5, 2005
hello thanks for the information. can you indicate how high the FC is comparing the auto and manual 1.6.
by the way, does the 1.8 consume more petrol than 1.6?

engineer1

Sep 25, 2004
Qatar
eakamal...

how far can yr car go with full tank? (capicity is 50litre@rm81). on highway i go for 450km before i refill, with a bit more left. average speed is 140km/h. can yours do the same or higher. how much u spend to temerloh?

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
From temerloh to Bangi ( 170 km ) if i fill with Rm25.00 @ 15.34 litre ( Rm1.62 perlitre ) reach there, balance near at "E".Average speed 100-105 km/h..with aircon,1 passenger.Travel on karak highway & LPT.

I think it ok ..Considering i'm using 17' rim,mod exhaust system.If i use standard rim maybe FC much better. :biggrin:

Engineer 1,i saw u sell ur sard attack meter?Sold ?Why sell it..sayang la.Last month i'm install rsm..it looks great la..worth buy it. :rock:

:dancing2: :dancing2: :dancing2: :dancing2: :dancing2:

engineer1

Sep 25, 2004
Qatar
like that aar.. ok la. maybe i will consider a 17" also. plan to get only 16" bcoz daily use and tyre also not that mahal, but since my second car be out by next week, 17" would much nice. whats the offset i need for 17" rim? i dont want a flat look rim. btw, how much effect to my 1.6 auto engine?

will... i m not a selling any of lantis la. if 1997 model nowadays also not less then 38k i think. 1.8 shall higher a bit. unless u want 1996 model, its cheaper.

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
engineer 1...
got ur second car next week? ...What car is it?

According to web site lantis use PCD 100mm..Tyre should be 205/40/17.If u want to use 17",i think it would be nice u lowered it a lil'bit..looks better.

william

Jul 5, 2005
hi guys, thanks for the info.
if i drive the car in city and not going to use highway at all, which model is best for FC? I think 1.8 is better when you drive along the highway, right?

calling all sifus, my dashbod panel now is wooden type (the one covering around aircond panel, radio player and meter). pretty ugly to me coz nuting in my car hav dat wooden design. plan to use carbon fiber sticker on it. izit possible as the panel got lots of curve here and there???? anyone done it b4.. anyway where can get cf sticker the one looks like real quality, most i saw doesnt look nice coz really looks printed one lor... help