Questionnaire

FoarGeez

Jun 20, 2005
Koala Loompour
1st of all i apologize, cuz i dont really know where to post this..

I juz need FIVE minutes of yr time dear zthians.. I have an assignment about this topic n i really need yr helps.. Its about FIBERGLASS If possible pls answer all questions or u can skip to any other questions. Juz include numbers followed by answers.. eg. '1. yes'

thanx in advance. :regular_smile:

IN GENERAL
1. Are you familiar with fiberglass bodykits?
2 Have u done any of those fiberglass products at yr car(s)?
3. Where do u get yr car(s) done? (shop name, location)
4. Do u think local fiberglass bodykits are up to yr expectation in terms of design?
5. Are they durable enough (fragility)?
5. What do u think of their work, is it worth yr money?
6. How much are uwilling to spend for fiberglass bodykits?

TECHNICAL
7. Do u think the local bodykit designs are arodynamic?
8. Do u think the bodykits are suitable for the road in M'sia?
9. Do u know any other materials such as PU(polyurethane), FRP (fiber-reinforced-pu), or kevlar?
10. Do u think any of the materials suits for bodykits making? WHY?
11. Do u think local car manufacturer should come with that material for the bumpers, skirting etc? (from question 10)
12. Do u think local car designs are up to international standard?
13. If u are a local car designer,what would u do to make our local car more competative?

THANX for yr reply zthians..

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
use PU better coz paint work Pu can give better surface .... n fibreglass once crash there goes a crack ..... stick to PU ... or plastic but never try fibreglass if can ..... plastic is recomended for skirting if u can find

FoarGeez

Jun 20, 2005
Koala Loompour
juz post yr answer here imoloq...

need more answers from u guys... pls juz give wat u had in mind.

lan1800

Jan 18, 2006
1) see a lot people using it.
2) at this moment, no thanks.
3) alot of shop u can choose, c uself.
4) ok lor
5) yes
6) yes
7) around 100 - 200 RM depend lor

for technical ask expert lor...

FoarGeez

Jun 20, 2005
Koala Loompour
tx lan1800.. i juz need yr personal oppinion.. d questions r not meant for expert or any people involve in car making.. juz any1 who hav any thought of it.

kruger

Feb 16, 2005
A.Setar
IN GENERAL
1. yes
2. yes
3. RABK Seberang Perai, Penang
4. depends
5. depends on the user...
5. yes
6. 200~500

TECHNICAL
7. nope coz no wind tunnel test
8. yes but not for the extremed b/kit
9. yes
10. yes, coz more durable and rigid
11. yes
12. 50-50
13. Make end user decides about the design and concept and follow through...

All of the above answers is only my 10cents opinion... :)

Darth

May 10, 2005
hahahaha...DIY Sub-forum been 'kaunter pertanyaan'.....

tylaxng

Jul 26, 2005
Penang,Malaysia
IN GENERAL
1. No
2 No
6. Free... haha joke... erm... i will consider C/P value... main purpose for carbon fibre or other material is reduce car weight(ex: reduce original item's weight 50% or more than 50%)... if it can save petrol and increase car handling obvious... i dont mind paid higher price (but reasonable la)..

TECHNICAL
7. same with kruger, no wind tunner test hard to said..
8. Yes
9. yes... y dont has ABS and Carbon?
10. PU, hard to damage.. good bending angle.. thin.. but if damage, hard to repair, need to change the new one .. (future mainstream bodykit material, i think)
11. Yes
12. No
13. safety... not just protect driver... i will consider how to protect other car or people also... i think this is only way we can " more competative"...

p/s: personal opinion... just for reference.. thanx..

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
IN GENERAL

1. Yes
2. No
3. NA
4. not really, not much choices for non-local cars
5. dunno yet (havent owned one)
5. NA
6. RM200+

TECHNICAL
7. Not sure....looks ok hahah
8. not really...some are so low that they scrape the humps...visually, they are ok
9. heard of PU before...and Carbon Fiber
10. PU is more resistant to minor bumps...CF is better for performance
11. YES!!!
12. Ok la
13. Come out with a turbocharged version of Gen 2 muahahahaah

c-ground

Apr 5, 2005
Seri Kembangan
cground.fotopic.net
IN GENERAL
- all i know is, they should be called glass fibre-reinforced resin bodykits
- yes, just got a pair of rear skirts
- drex zhng kereta sdn. bhd., seri kembangan
4. Do u think local fiberglass bodykits are up to yr expectation in terms of design?
- mostly replicas. what expectation are we talking about? NO!
- some are, like the daiichi.
- NO, that's why i installed it myself.
6. How much are u willing to spend for fiberglass bodykits?
- a hundred including a paint job for the rear skirts I just had.

TECHNICAL
- i don't have a wind-tunnel to test them.. so do the producers i think.
- who cares?
9. Do u know any other materials such as PU(polyurethane), FRP (fiber-reinforced-pu), or kevlar?
- Yes. What about high impact polypropylene (HIPP) and carbon fibre reinforced resins?
- Interestingly, not many know that the original (OEM) bodykits, bumpers, etc, are made of HIPP.
11. Do u think local car manufacturer should come with that material for the bumpers, skirting etc? (from question 10)
- PP! They are already using it!
- there's no such international standard for "taste". If really have to answer, YES.
13. If u are a local car designer,what would u do to make our local car more competative?
- competitiveness is not only on the design. that's the job of the marketing people.

/drexchan

e819

Dec 7, 2004
IN GENERAL
- yes
- nope
- i didnt get it done, but know a shop sumwhe in pandan mewah, custom FG
- can la 50/50
- kena sikit pecah, kena sikit pecah.. not good la like dat
- nope
6. How much are u willing to spend for fiberglass bodykits?
- maybe if free can la. if hav 2 buy i dowan, haha

TECHNICAL
- nope
- some only (the upper side of ur car) eg. spoiler
- yeap
- no answer
- nope, mudah pecah
- 50/50
- quality up, engine power up n maintain the price, hehe

my 2cents only - don fire me ... cheers

ken yeang

1. Are you familiar with fiberglass bodykits? -yes

2 Have u done any of those fiberglass products at yr car(s)? -yes, I've done it myself

3. Where do u get yr car(s) done? (shop name, location) -refer answer no. 2

not really. the locals are merely copycats of the original bodykit. but pretty good for value for money.

-depends on the quality of the materials actually...

-beggers can't be chooser, can they?

6. How much are uwilling to spend for fiberglass bodykits?
-depends on how attractive the b/kits are.....

TECHNICAL

hehe, where got arodynamic? bodykit is for look, aerokit for aerodynamic.
many ppl confused......

Let me ask you- do you think road humps are suitable in msia road?.

I know all, but I don't have a rich dady. f/glass or PU is still most vaible for road cars.

It all goes back to dollar and sens and the affordability of the material, be if cf or g/fibre. Everyone wants a ferrari, but can everyone own it?

11. Do u think local car manufacturer should come with that material for the bumpers, skirting etc? (from question 10).
Are they of good quality in the first place???

12. Do u think local car designs are up to international standard? the local are good being copycats.

13. If u are a local car designer,what would u do to make our local car more competative? Educate drivers "u give peanut, u get monkey"

If any of you know how to contact this person, kindly inform me ASAP. He
claimed to be a used car agent. I sold my car to him last October but until
now the account has not been settled & already due for 1 month. Tried to
contact him but the no. is not in service anymore. According to his
friend, this guy runs his own used car comp somewhere in Melaka.

Name : Azuan Afandi bin Mohamed Isa
IC : 790222-08-5185
Hp no : 0146250752
IC add : No 324 Rumah Perhutanan...