Problem: Engine knocking at high RPM

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
Hi all,

My engine (D16Y7 non-VTEC) is knocking at above 5500-6000 rpm. Is it caused by not enough fuel sprayed into the combustion chamber or something else? Sifus pls help... :confused:

mADmAN

most likely lack of fuel....best way to know is to put it on the dyno and get the a/f reading

could also be due to an advanced ignition.

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
I see... I'll retard the ignition first and see if that helps. Thanks mADmAN.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
fuel quality maybe, any of my rides will ping with shell fuel, other fuel they'll behave like normal jer

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
fuel quality maybe, any of my rides will ping with shell fuel, other fuel they'll behave like normal jer
Really? I'm using Shell fuel. Will try BHP or Petronas after this. No more bonuslink points... :biggrin:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
i suggest esso highly, petronas is also good but using it halves the mileage compared to when i use esso

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
i suggest esso highly, petronas is also good but using it halves the mileage compared to when i use esso
So, does that mean if you can get 500km when using a full tank of esso RON95, you'll only get 250km when using petronas RON95? :confused:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
yes, sumthing like dat.. on long distance, its not halved but doesnt cover as much mileage with petronas, dats all. its still a good fuel brand imo

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
xtremeleo, I wanna ask something. You said earlier that your car pings when using Shell fuel, but does not if you're using other brands. Is the ping loud or very noticeable or just barely can hear it?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
its not dat loud, but noticeable. the thing with pinging, its already too much when u can hear it

sexycar

Feb 10, 2004
©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
to me, shell is the worst petrol for vtec. I think they add water inside the petrol. Pinging on high rpm is the most unwanted type
of ping... it is very dangerous cos your engine is at high load & high speed... better get it fixed

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
It reversed for me, I use shell 95 & its the better in terms power & FC for my stock B16A engine...(compared to Petronas)

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
aalto, maybe its the driving style.. i dunno for sure, but dats one of the variable to consider imo

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
yes, sumthing like dat.. on long distance, its not halved but doesnt cover as much mileage with petronas, dats all. its still a good fuel brand imo
I've tried Esso, Petronas, Shell, & Caltex. Actually I do not notice much difference between them in terms of fuel economy. Now keep using Esso just because I got the point card. :)

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
Update: I retarded the ignition timing a bit, the knocking sound is still there. I've changed the spark plug and plug cable, but it's still the same. Could it be caused by clogged fuel filter? I changed the filter about 2 years ago.

Hi Sifus,

Have anybody tried installing UR feder bars onto their rides or seen the installation process?

I was told by a shop in sunway that they have to drill and weld the bar onto my fenders unlike other bars where the bars are just bolted onto existing holes when i was inquiring it for my saga BLM.

So anybody there have done it before of able to clarify the process to me please?

Thank You, Regards.