Polisher for beginner

anonymouse

Mar 21, 2013
Kuala Lumpur
Hi guys,

I'm a beginner in car detailing and I'm quite amazed by those detailed car pictures that you guys posted here.

I would like to try out detailing myself as well and for starter I would like to invest in a polisher. What type of polisher would the veterans here suggest? A dual action polisher or rotary buffers?

Thanks.

anonymouse

Mar 21, 2013
Kuala Lumpur
Budget? Limitations? Intentions?
I googled around and found that either polisher will come close to rm800 to rm900. I'm quite okay with that.

I just want to learn detailing for now. Been using elbow grease all these while and the result isn't that consistent.

DarkAccoon

500 RPM
Nov 18, 2003
From my experience as I own both a DA and a RB,

Dual action - less cutting power, good for finishing. Not too kind to the hands. Prolong use per day causes pain in my wrist.

RB - I only use this when I need to do extreme compounding or when dealing with headlamp restoration. Seldom do I use this to do finishing. Smooth operation and more silent compare to my DA. Controlling it takes practice.

Dual Action used - Ultramate
RB used - Makita.

I think you would want to know what you want to achieve and also have a test on both to get a feel which one you are more comfortable with.

KrisMas

Known Member
Apr 1, 2008
I googled around and found that either polisher will come close to rm800 to rm900. I'm quite okay with that.
Well....a good polisher (both rotary and DA) would come to around that price. But you'd also need to consider the complimentary accessories that are required...buffing pads, backing plates, compounds & polishes, etc. A good ballpark figure should be around RM1,200...more or less....

Which machine? This is where your expectations (what you want to achieve) and intentions (commercial or 'recreational') would come to play.

Or, if you don't want any headache......RUPES BIGFOOT & PADS FTW....!!! Muahahaha.......

DarkAccoon

500 RPM