pls help side mirror problem.

Bro PcMod, the newer side mirrors (eg. those autoflip ones from the Altis, Estima) already have relays embedded in them, signaling for them to stop flipping when the mirror is flipped 90 degrees to its appropriate position.

The AE111 Levin (the cars where our BT halfcuts came from) also have these "relay inside" side mirrors, that's why there is only a side mirror controller on the dashboard; no relay.

As for the AE92 7 wire side mirrors, that's a different story altogether. I understand what you mean because I got one set for myself too, thinking it would just be modding the base and screw holes then everything else plug and play. Surprise, surprise, it turned out to be much more complicated. My wiring man showed me that when he ran current through the correct wire, the side mirror will flip out 90 degrees.. Then continue flipping 180 degrees.. And it still wouldn't stop running! That will cause damage to the motor very soon. Then he showed me, by adding a circuit relay (those from inside the new Toyota side mirrors), the motor will stop running and the side mirror will stop flipping when it has flipped 90 degrees, just how it should work.

To solve this problem (that is assuming you haven't solved it yet), firstly, you will need a relay box to give a signal to the side mirror motor to stop running when it should. IIRC, these relays also control the heaters like you said. So the relay box was what I got for the wiring man.. Then, it turned out that you need a correct switch to match the relay too!:banghead: There are several types of side mirror autoflip switches out there: the Mitsubishi and Nissan ones are changeover switches, the Toyota SEG and Wagon ones are one-touch switches, the one that comes with the Levin AE111 dashboard is an on-off switch, and the AE92 side mirror control is a one-touch switch. In fact, I think the ST171 Corona side mirror switch is similar if not identical to the AE92 side mirror control, its autoflip switch is a one-touch switch.. I do happen to have an ST171 side mirror controller with me.

Because of all that, I decided that it's not worth the hassle to install the AE92 7-wire side mirrors, and got an ST150 3-wire side mirror set instead.. Simple, pnp, no need for those complicated relays and controllers:thefinger: I do still have the AE92 side mirrors with me, do let me know if you're interested, if what other fellow forumers are saying about only changing the motor is true..

Yes, what you said about the "got sound, no movement" is true.. Most probably the side mirror motor gears are damaged; they are really fragile. 2 times I had to bring my right side mirror back to the chopshop to be changed because both times the autoflip motor was damaged..:mad:

As for wiring specialist, my wiring man is pretty good at these stuff, many big, luxury cars are sent to his place for wiring services, whether it's engine wiring, side mirror, electric windows, electric seats, etc.. Not promoting him or anything, I really do feel that he does know his stuff. As for price, maybe it's a bit high but I dare not say for sure cuz I have never compared with other places.. He's located at Sg. Besi, right after the Bandar Tasik Selatan LRT station.. If you're really interested, let me know..:burnout:

can i ask?i got the ae92 side mirror with switch but with no relay..where can i find relay?im using blacktop engine with switch on the dashboard?is it possible there still a relay in the dashboard?

3wire - mirror adjust up/down, in/out
5wire- mirror adjust up/down, in/out and flip
7wire- mirror adjust up/down, in/out and flip , plus demist

so far these are the variants of side mirror for AE series, correct me if I'm wrong.

yesterday night i was open my side mirror to try but those srew r tight nabie~~
than i got no idea to open the motor liao..

• Photo0512.jpg
    Photo0512.jpg
    67.3 KB · Views: 139
  • Photo0511.jpg
    Photo0511.jpg
    64.5 KB · Views: 128

anyone have the pics on how to remove the mirror??.. thanks.....

simple...use a cloth and flat screwdriver..
cloth put between the screwdriver and side mirror cover..
then slightly pull up the screwdriver, make sure ur screwdriver never hook the plastic base under the mirror

Ya, its like two set of clip fasterner, one on top one bottom. the top one pop open and than the bottom one slide out. or is it the other way around, I'll confirm it today.

this got few pic of yesterday i open mine mirror...hope can help..
and thanks everyone here for teach me i already repair my mirror..

• Photo0525.jpg
    Photo0525.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 144