l5

Oct 18, 2012
miri/sarawak
Hi,im newbie..i juz want to know abt l5..anyone can help me..?? i juz installed l5 4pstons to my car but that engine not really satisfy me..feels like drive kelisa..fyr my trans is auto..do i hv to change to manual trans..:bawling:

budakkampungaje

Dec 19, 2007
Dengkil
your L5 is turbo or N/A......if your L5 is N/A better change the gearbox search for manual and use the kelisa gearbox....

for your info the L5 is 660cc and the kelisa is 1.0cc so that is difrent the hp also difrent for the L5 is 58hp and for the kelisa is 64hp for japan spec and 55hp for malaysia spec.......

L5

Displacement, cc 659
Engine model JB-EL
Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm 58 ps (42.66 kw) / 7600 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm 5.8 kg*m (56.88 N*m) / 5600 rpm
Power density 12.07
Engine type Water cooling serial 4 cylinder DOHC16 valve
Engine information Chain drive horizontalranging
Fuel system EFI (electronic fuel injection)
Turbocharger No
Fuel type Unleaded regular gasoline
LEV system (Low emission vehicle) No
Compression ratio 10
Bore, mm 61
Stroke, mm 56.4
Final gear ratio
Fuel consumption at 10-15 modes, l/100km 5.2

KELISA EX, GXi & EZi

Engine

EJ-VE petrol, transverse, water cooled, in-line 3 cylinder, DOHC, 12 valve with VVT

Bore/stroke 72 x 81 mm

Capacity 989 cc

Max Power 55PS (40.5kW) at 5,200 rpm

Compression ratio 10.0:1

Max Torque 88.3 Nm at 3,600 rpm

Fuel System Electronic sequential fuel injection

JAPAN SPEC for 1.0c

Displacement, cc 989
Engine model EJ-VE
Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm 64 ps (47.07 kw) / 6000 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm 9.6 kg*m (94.14 N*m) / 3600 rpm
Power density 12.19
Engine type Water coolingserial 3 cylinder DOHC12 valve
Engine information Horizontal ranging
Fuel system EFI (electronic fuel injection)
Turbocharger No
Fuel type Unleaded regular gasoline
LEV system (Low emission vehicle) Yes
Compression ratio 10
Bore, mm 72
Stroke, mm 81
Final gear ratio
Fuel consumption at 10-15 modes, l/100km 5.3

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
well, which chassis you transplant into? If its Kelisa then the feel is almost same with the stock engine.

However, things start to change when you upgrade turbo parts for L5 engine. Require less effort to upgrade compare to stock EJDE.

budakkampungaje

Dec 19, 2007
Dengkil
If owner puts in kelisa better put YRV engine K3-V or STARLET engine 4e.....if want more power full put 4A-GE BLACKTOP or SILVERTOP......

budakkampungaje

Dec 19, 2007
Dengkil
the best is l2s, beats l5 3 pistons & 4 pistons........
for me better L5 4piston coz better then L2 n L5 3piston coz my late kancil using L5 turbo engine....my L5 engine can go bout 225km/h and the rpm can go 11000 rpm.....and the service is cheper coz no need to replace timing belt coz its using timing chain.... :proud:

boi

Sep 4, 2008
for me better L5 4piston coz better then L2 n L5 3piston coz my late kancil using L5 turbo engine....my L5 engine can go bout 225km/h and the rpm can go 11000 rpm.....and the service is cheper coz no need to replace timing belt coz its using timing chain.... :proud:
yup agreed L5 jb is more to top speed but if u want to rebuilt the engine u will get heart attack after heard the part price...

budakkampungaje

Dec 19, 2007
Dengkil
yup agreed L5 jb is more to top speed but if u want to rebuilt the engine u will get heart attack after heard the part price...
Hahhahaha...its true.....very2 expensive....last year i change many part and that price is the same i can get L5 halfcut price.....

cupcai

Nov 3, 2011
PEtaling Jaya
Hi all..Anyone can anyone recommend a good place to service or rectify engine minor issue in Klang valley? thanks..
Btw, this the my original L5 that is parking at home most of the time. Intend to revive it for normal use.

halo! i hav a question regrading the water in the coolant spare tank. my current engine is EVOI in putra.
the problem now is wheneva i refill the water in the spare tank, the water was found half loss after 24 hours. i wonder why is that, and what is the mistake? where was the water gone?

thanks!!