Jean Alesi + LRGP Evora in All-Lotus Drive To Genting Highlands

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000

Just a couple of weekends ago, we were invited to participate in a Lotus Cars-only drive to Genting Highlands along with Ex-F1 legend, current Lotus Ambassador Jean Alesi and Gino Rosato, Director of Corporate Operations at Group Lotus. It was a drive not-to-be-missed for me not just because the Genting Highlands' uphill route is still one my favourite weekend pastime, or the opportunity to drive with Mr. Alesi himself, but mostly because we have an Exige S in our possession for a couple of days.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ASOTDVXS0bk" allowfullscreen="" width="600" frameborder="0" height="390"></iframe>

Having received the Exige S (above) just the night before, I had a few hours to get accustomed to the machine to make sure there'll be no mistakes for the drive up the next morning. Saying that, the Exige S is surprisingly easy to drive. The shifts are snick snack, throttle response is nothing short of a superbike's. Steering feedback can't get any more direct and when coupled with a 240bhp supercharged VVTL Toyota 1.8 2ZZ engine bellowing through a sports exhaust, the result is an intoxicating experience. More on that later.

To launch the Lotus Renault GP team's new collaboration for 2011, they prepared matching LRGP road-going Evoras for the campaign.

Jean Alesi, The Legend, a person with the sort of status on par with the likes of Schumacher was in fact very approachable and especially easy to have a conversation with. He currently lives in Geneva where many F1 superstars also reside and drives nothing short of an Evora in Black with Red interior.

Jean Alesi getting acquainted with other Lotus owners from the club and introducing his latest task as Lotus Ambassador. He also mentioned possibilities of racing in Sepang in an unconfirmed series.

Accompanied by Gino Rosato, Director of Corporate Operations at Group Lotus. Is a food connoisseur, loves motorsports and enjoys the Lotus car boys company and the local delicacies especially spicy curries and sambals.

Assisted by Lotus Malaysia's Head of Division, Mr. Oh Kah Beng, Jean Alesi gets ready for the tour up to Genting Highlands from the Awana Resorts check point leading a convoy of other Lotus cars

As we arrive The Coffee Bean

Silvester and Stallone

Gino Rosato and Angeline

Zen's Lotus Exige GT4 Road Legal Cup car prepared by Aylezo Motorsports. Sporting a cage and putting out 255bhp. To race in the Lotus Supercup Asia GT4 end of May 2011 - Stay tuned.

As the Lotuses descend the hill...

Breathaking Exige S. A weekend in one changes your life, especially being in the group. The Exige S is pretty much a Supercar-looking Go-Kart with air con in an aluminium cocoon with big brakes and a 240bhp supercharged engine that can be driven on the road.

The Lotus Elise S. A more civilized looking Exige S essentially. With a similar supercharged Toyota VVTL 1.8 and no AP Brakes, cosmetics, coupe body, big rear wing and ground effects. But could prove to be as fast as the Exige S with semi-slicks. Awesome.

A fat Elise - with a colour to be seen only through a welder's mask.

Over a dozen Lotus comprising a mix of Evoras, Exiges, Elises

nice orange mk1 elise there...... :adore:

joe_mivec

Jun 29, 2005
PENANG
Nice konvoi...selalu tgk konvoi Saga...jer

PaperGangster

Sep 22, 2010
nice..
is it only me or is there some sound mismatch towards the end of the video? i see the exige s accelerating but the revs doesn't seem to climb and when it's slowing down, the revs go up and up. lol.

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
nice..
is it only me or is there some sound mismatch towards the end of the video? i see the exige s accelerating but the revs doesn't seem to climb and when it's slowing down, the revs go up and up. lol.
hi papergangster,

apologies, yeah, there was a glitch in processing the video when it was exported
looks lke it's only at the very end,

---------- Post added 04-03-2011 at 12:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was 04-02-2011 at 11:53 PM ----------

i just checked,
looks like it's not the very end. i'll check if it can be fixed and replace it if the respond is good

Jun 6, 2009
While enjoyable for armchair drivers, I must say that that's rather irresponsible driving, weaving in and around slower traffic. In city conditions this would be denounced. All it would take is for an eager driver watching the lotuses do the same and something can potentially go wrong.

And faster & nimbler isn't a good safety excuse. Not with heavy vehicles around.

neokenzo

Oct 5, 2006
While enjoyable for armchair drivers, I must say that that's rather irresponsible driving, weaving in and around slower traffic. In city conditions this would be denounced. All it would take is for an eager driver watching the lotuses do the same and something can potentially go wrong.

And faster & nimbler isn't a good safety excuse. Not with heavy vehicles around.
I agree. They should have police escort or have part of the road closed. I think its highly irresponsible of them to do it in open public road, with or without Jean Alesi on the wheels.

adamckc

Mar 26, 2006
guys, , this is not weaving around,, with the car performance this is a relaxing drive.. so obvious. . if the driver is mature enough to judge then ok la.. don be like old uncle la..

Just outside my house compound at PJS 9/10 Sunway, 2nd september (due to no space...hv to park outside lol). That morning found out that all my sport rims (4 pcs) missing. Damn it! My advice, install good shock+motion sensor on your car. Now, i have install 2 shock+1 motion sensor at my fish. Damn sensitive!