Is heel and toe needed for FF layout cars?

CountersteerSan

Known Member
Feb 16, 2013
Johor
Hey sifu-sifus, is heel and toe needed for FF layout cars? As far as I know, the reason for heel toe is to prevent the breaking out of the rear during downshifting when entering a corner right? Besides that the other only benefit is maintaining rev? So is this technique really needed in like ff layout cars?

Paiseh ahh I really don't know :biggrin:

neohadri

Known Member
Jul 5, 2008
I hv tried without it, car jerking, gb sound strain, i cant imagine that be good

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Me think it applies to all cars with manual transmission.... me no expert but the theory that to maintain the power band during gear changes...

bera

500 RPM
Oct 27, 2007
if you do it right (matching the rev as you down shift)...the "engine braking" will help stop/slow the car faster than using the brake alone...

practice and get to know your car...for me and i'm no pro...bleeping the throttle is easy...getting the brake and clutch pedal to work harmoniously without making the car jerk is the hard part...

pwhyze

500 RPM
Mar 1, 2011
Kuala Lumpur
Yep, echoing what others have said, it's for all manual cars, regardless of layout. It works well coupled with late braking.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
if you do it right (matching the rev as you down shift)...the "engine braking" will help stop/slow the car faster than using the brake alone...

practice and get to know your car...for me and i'm no pro...bleeping the throttle is easy...getting the brake and clutch pedal to work harmoniously without making the car jerk is the hard part...
just learned how to blip the throttle when downshift... still jerks but once in a while (make it 3 out of 10 tries :mad: ) it shift smoothly and made me smile :biggrin: