ambayah

Jan 31, 2004
Sorry had to double post.

Guys,

Need some info on this engine.

Conditions:

1. Will be using for daily driven car, seldomly go from North to South Malaysia.

Questions:

1. R32 GTS brakes/knuckles pcd is 114.3 right, 4 lugs?

2. Sparco NS-II 16" front 7 back 8jj rims can fit right?

The important question is:
Is this engine tough/reliable or manja?

Thank you guys.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
when u say reliable? do u mean stock or modified? modifying an engine reduces its lifespan.. "a candle that burns twice as bright burns for half as long"..

having said that, ive owned an RB25 and an RB20 and im my humble opinion, i would say the RB20 would take more abuse than the RB25.. most of my friends who still play with RB25, if accidently force too much boost, end up with fkd rings.. well.. ive 'accidently' run 1.3bar or so for nearly 3 months and so far been lucky.. maybe mine is a special case.. but most of the guys i know running RB20s seem to whack them really hard and so far.. all still alive :)

ambayah

Jan 31, 2004
Bone stock standard is what I plan.

Thats a good reponse and of course a very good thing to hear :)

And the brakes, R32 GTS is 4 lugs 114.3? Can someone confirm this please.

Fuel consumption, maintainance ok right?

^slownyer^

Apr 28, 2005
wonderfulplanet
ambayah said:
Bone stock standard is what I plan.

Thats a good reponse and of course a very good thing to hear :)

And the brakes, R32 GTS is 4 lugs 114.3? Can someone confirm this please.

Fuel consumption, maintainance ok right?
i think its a tough engine. my fren use to travel fr jb-kl-kelantan. very tough ma.no manja one.maintainance oso ok ma.why u don wan use satria nymor ke?

ambayah

Jan 31, 2004
^slownyer^ said:
i think its a tough engine. my fren use to travel fr jb-kl-kelantan. very tough ma.no manja one.maintainance oso ok ma.why u don wan use satria nymor ke?
As much as I love the car, JPJ blocks and different kind of kancil + satria ops, so many friends had to reinspect car due to bodyki, and also a limitation 1.3 -> 2.0 really a hassle for me. Seldomly have to go to JB->KL->Kelantan somemore.

I want something unique, which I believe a31 is :)

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
stock is fine hey.. shouldnt be any dramas..

ive said it once and i'll keep repeating it.. with turbo cars, maintenance is ke

jeffblazed

Nov 7, 2004
this rb20det damn tahan lasak.......can hentam all day long dude.....fuel economy also not that bad.....can do kl jb non stop tol to tol in less than 3hours, jb to penang only stop to refuel once then average 120 to 255 kmh + slow downs where got speed trap....
still the car ok....water temp also never naik,boost also steady all the way...
good engine dude...........

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
good engine

no dramas...

boosted 1 bar high, 0.8 normal... but now running stock 0.5 only.

damn nice... got dyno tuned before... now fuel consumption is one of the best feature... can get up to 550km on highway... regular driving 400km.

;)

jeffblazed

Nov 7, 2004
olskool said:
wake up la dude...120 to 255 kmh?? u dreaming ah??:lol:
malaysian plus highway good what.......dont expect someone driving good car just to maintain...120to160kmh......that 255kmh is what my friend achieved while following a singapore plate e46 330i.....he just follow the car for 2km than the car disappear....so he slow down......btw...he using the apexirsm...

ivan78

Mar 24, 2005
original R32 gts is 5 lugs, 114.3 offset 40 16x7j
if not mistaken front tyre is 205-xx-16, rear is 225-xx-16. can't remember.

ambayah

Jan 31, 2004
ivan78 said:
original R32 gts is 5 lugs, 114.3 offset 40 16x7j
if not mistaken front tyre is 205-xx-16, rear is 225-xx-16. can't remember.
Which one is 4 lugs? Or have to custom make?

olskool

Jan 15, 2005
jeffblazed said:
malaysian plus highway good what.......dont expect someone driving good car just to maintain...120to160kmh......that 255kmh is what my friend achieved while following a singapore plate e46 330i.....he just follow the car for 2km than the car disappear....so he slow down......btw...he using the apexirsm...
ok dude..if you say so....

wideawake

A31 is 4 lugs. You can get the brakes from R32 GTS and mount them on A31's knuckle. Fits perfectly. You rims, however, would have to be deep enough to cater for the calipers.

a31gtst

May 27, 2004
The r32 gts brakes are a common upgrade for the a31, usually most ppl look for an s14 knuckle so tht you get the 5lug hub to fit on the a31. If not the r32 hub does not match the a31...so you cant use the disc!

If you dont have the budget to get an s14 knuckle, you could always look for a pair of used a31 hubs and send them to machine shop to re-drill and upgrade to 5-lug. Or if youre too lazy for tht then just send the r32 disc to re-drill to 4 hole.

Brakes are very important, dont mess wth them and if you've got loads of juice...make sure u got the brakes to slow down! 255kmh! wow, thts very interesting to hear... the person driving must have nuts of titanium man!!

Hello all ZTHians,

I need opinions before i purchase an adj absorber.. Choice of getting a set of used HWL @ a price of RM700-750 or a new set of MINES adj from Sato Auto Acc. at RM 788 quoted from them. Their advert is available in mudah. but was wondering how come they selling so cheap.. any1 bought from them b4?? concern on whether it's fake or ori.. good review bout MINES adj?? Please advise. Appreciate it alot..

MYVI...