got such thing about new cars?

bmw_m3

Jan 10, 2006
juz got new kelisa.. dad say dun drive more than 80kmph till the 1st 1000km...
after the 1st car service on can go beyond that... got such thing wan meh? :emoticon_U: no poking plz..

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
i think its not speed..but one is NOT supposed to rev the engine above
2.5K to 3K RPM..it depends on the manufacturer..

crappy

Feb 9, 2006
yo m8,i tihnk its true la...my car dealer also tell me tht...dun drive over the limit coz let the oil fully run around ur enjin wah..

bmw_m3

Jan 10, 2006
so basically its advisable to drive at around 60-80kmph for the 1st 1000km?

btw kelisa limited edition ezi 1000cc...

zan

Feb 20, 2005
new cars with new engines have very little clearance between every moving mechanical components. maybe as small as one micron.

especially between piston and cylinder liner.

let me give an example here as comparison = be open minded first!

the 1st time you make love, you wont gasak rite? you take it slow first..

the secret is to prolong engine's life against abnormal wear and tear. even though car got warranty, but the benefits will go to you...

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
simple terms...just run in the engine for 1000km 1st la...
then whack it how much u want after ur 1st or sec service....how come i feel like i've sed this b4..?

crappy

Feb 9, 2006
hey guys,they got say can rev until wat limit ka,is i it drive slow slow only ka...below 80km?

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
all wrong...u need to run in like how u run in ur brakes...must rev more often but not 24 hours when driving...else ur car will lose power...

bmw_m3

Jan 10, 2006
hahaha... i think i get it.. slow and steady la.. but not necessary 80kmph juz don trash the engine/ but i dont get the brakes part.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
the proper term for brakes run in is bedding-in.

such practise is necessary whenever a new set of sic pad is changed or the disc rotors surfaced had been remachined (skimming).

just to be extra careful for the 1st 300km as the brake pad and rotor surface contact not 100% yet. they may lose efficiency without warning.

bmw_m3

Jan 10, 2006
zan : thanx..

hmm any1 else got sum advise for new car owners.. lol...

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
bolt on turbo :D
save money n turbo ur car...dont do bodykit or ICE 1st..wasting money
i regretted din turbo in the 1st place

AJ6677

Aug 12, 2005
Melawati
zan said:
new cars with new engines have very little clearance between every moving mechanical components. maybe as small as one micron.

especially between piston and cylinder liner.

let me give an example here as comparison = be open minded first!

the 1st time you make love, you wont gasak rite? you take it slow first..

the secret is to prolong engine's life against abnormal wear and tear. even though car got warranty, but the benefits will go to you...
hahaha...i like the way u explain it dude!!! awesome!!! yeah...every car has to be run-in before the 1st service...

bmw_m3

Jan 10, 2006
PocketRocket said:
i thot lik u at the beginning bro...now 1 yr has passed n i regret
hahaha so fast convert l7 ar? wahse.. nvmla.. l8r mum scold also.. hahaha

bmw_m3

Jan 10, 2006
i wont mind la if normal kelisa but tis wan the limited edition wan.. skirting/spoiler/etc. all so juz leave loh..

hi all..i wanna ask why my myvi making hard sound after i change adjustable GAB soft/hard (front/rear) and use 17" rims with Achilles (i dont remember tyre size..maybe 205/45-the thick one) and when i have hard bumper or thick yellow line...it making hard sound "dok dok dok dok dok"...why is that?any solution?my whole body are shaking. its that effect from Tyre or my adjustable or i have a hard spring? it not comfortable at all...although the mechanic say he adjust my adjustable to soft...