flywheel

mp5onfire

Jun 9, 2005
penang
it will give u better pick up... but when u r driving fast and u suddenly lift your feet (discontinue pressing the accelerator padle) the car will speed will drop faster then normal... so u got better engine braking... good for performance but not very comfortable ... ;)

jee_square

Jun 16, 2005
Taman Melawati
Lighter flywheell means greater torque means better acceleration.. Throttle response is also good but ur top speed is sacrificed a little bit.. Lightening ur standard flywheel is not recommended coz some people say iy might give it a crack.

mp5onfire

Jun 9, 2005
penang
jee_square said:
Lighter flywheell means greater torque means better acceleration.. Throttle response is also good but ur top speed is sacrificed a little bit.. Lightening ur standard flywheel is not recommended coz some people say iy might give it a crack.
not bad bro u know some stuff ;)

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
lighter flywheel has more torque???tats funny...lighter flywheel will lose its torque due 2 the momentum...

lightening std flywheel not recon? well...depends how much u wanna skim...

y ppl upgrade 2 1.6/1.8 super toruing flywheel?
tats bcoz theres no racing clutch set 4 stock 1.3/1.5 flywheel size...

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
it doesnt add torque...bcoz its a main spinning object tat transfre power 2 ur gearbox...n 2 ur wheels...lightening it u will feel slightly better pick up but go up hill u will feel tat ur car has lost its torque o momentum 2 go up hill....n u need 2 shift ur gear quicker if not the rpm drop very fast...

a good way is 2 get super touring flywheel(if urs is 1.3/1.5) n lighten it 2 the same weight as ur stock o a wee bit lighter onli...max i think 1kg...n tats a lot already....
by theory..super touring flywheel has bigger surface so u will feel less clutch slip also...

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
Yong_5290 said:
lighter flywheel has more torque???tats funny...lighter flywheel will lose its torque due 2 the momentum...

lightening std flywheel not recon? well...depends how much u wanna skim...

y ppl upgrade 2 1.6/1.8 super toruing flywheel?
tats bcoz theres no racing clutch set 4 stock 1.3/1.5 flywheel size...
aftermarket lighten flywheels are 'lighter' due to different material composite and NOT by 'local' skimming.

That is a low-tech way of doing things (exactly like cutting springs to lower the car so you look cool)

BY skimming the surface area YOU are reducing the thickness of the flywheel in the hope of reducing weight.

THAT is a compromise way to improve !!! Hence the silliness of complains that one will lose torque esp going up hilll! :cool:

Note the difference! It s almost like saying cutting springs will help in body roll as the car sits lower :rolleyes:

BTW aftermarket lighter flywheels DO NOT / IS NOT done by skimming it.

Please do not confuse with with the el-cheap way to do things. :confused:

THe danger of skimming flywheels is if it done too much, when enourmous pressure is applied to it (shifting gears) , it will CAUSE BREAKAGE!!

IT is the same reason why rotors/brake disc if skimmed toooo much will crack.

YOU are only putting yourself in DANGER. think about it!! :confused:

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
my one won't skim the surface, but at the back. so, no side effect one .. :D

furthermore, this flywheel was skim & balancing from Japan, so should be no problem.

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
Guys there are 2 ways to lighten your flywheel:

1) Skim your stock flywheel
2) Replace with a performance flywheel which is made from lighter material

As for the theory of the "crack" flywheel, that only applies if you go with method no.1

You see..by skimming your standard flywheel, u are actually scrapping off parts of your flywheel and this will affect its strength as you are damaging its original structure.

But with an aftermarket performance flywheel, it is strong because most of them are forged/cast using lighter material that are also strong.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
to address the issue why & how does a lighten flywheel helps.

for the library; Lighten flywheels'
Most manufacturers make the stock flywheel very heavy. This makes the engine very smooth and enables it to retain energy at part throttle cruise and up long grades for better fuel economy.

An Aluminum flywheel goes completely the other direction with almost no weight. This lets the engine rev up very quickly and allows the engine to work easier due to the reduced weight spinning around on the back of the crank. This is fine as long as you are at full throttle and wide open throttle all the time like in a Road Race or Drag Race only car. As soon as you let off the gas the engine RPM drops faster than stock and the car slows down (engine braking). In a road car this causes surging and bucking at cruise speeds and poor driveability and clutch engagement.

If we measured the power output of an engine first with light flywheel and then again with the standard part on an engine dyno, no change in power will be seen to occure. At first it appears that the light flywheel has done nothing and was a total waste of cash. This is not the case. A dyno that shows max power at constant revs does not demonstrate what occurs to an engine's power output in real life situations - like acceleration. If an engine is accelerated on a dyno ( we are talking about a rate of around 2000rpm a second ) it would show a power output of around 20%-25% less than at the constant rev state.

The reason for this is that when accelerating a vehicle the engine not only has to push the total mass of the car but the internal components of the engine need to be accelerated also. This tends to absorb more power as the extra power is used accelerating the internal mass of the engine components and is why a motor accelerating on a dyno will produce less power than at constant revs. Also it must be remembered that the rate of acceleration on the engine internals is much greater that the rest of the car. This would then suggest that by lightening the flywheel, less power would be required to accelerate it and therefore more power would be available to push the car along.

Now, it may seen unbelievable that by removing a few kilos from the flywheel a noticeable difference to a 1000+ kg cars acceleration will be made. In fact the difference is quite noticeable and the secrete behind this is hidden within the gearbox. Everyone knows that cars accelerate at a greater rate in low gears, this is because a cars gear box basically a mechanical leaver and just like when using a leaver to lift a heavy object, the gearbox reduces the mass of the car that the engine sees. For example, in first gear an engine will see the cars mass as only around say 100kg but the engine internal mass would still remain around 20+kg .

Turbo cars are exceptionally critical to flywheel weight. Too light a flywheel will make the car rev faster and possibly come on boost faster but that is only half the issue. When you let off the gas to shift the car will drop off of boost just as quickly causing a poor transition when you come back on the throttle.

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
koolspyda said:
aftermarket lighten flywheels are 'lighter' due to different material composite and NOT by 'local' skimming.

That is a low-tech way of doing things (exactly like cutting springs to lower the car so you look cool)

BY skimming the surface area YOU are reducing the thickness of the flywheel in the hope of reducing weight.

THAT is a compromise way to improve !!! Hence the silliness of complains that one will lose torque esp going up hilll! :cool:

Note the difference! It s almost like saying cutting springs will help in body roll as the car sits lower :rolleyes:

Please do not confuse with with the el-cheap way to do things. :confused:

THe danger of skimming flywheels is if it done too much, when enourmous pressure is applied to it (shifting gears) , it will CAUSE BREAKAGE!!

IT is the same reason why rotors/brake disc if skimmed toooo much will crack.

YOU are only putting yourself in DANGER. think about it!! :confused:

ahaha...u got me wrong...i was refering 2 ori stock flywheel being skim

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
Yong_5290 said:
ahaha...u got me wrong...i was refering 2 ori stock flywheel being skim

Please do not confuse with with the el-cheap way to do things.

it was refering to stock flywheels being skimmed to shaved metal bits to reduced weight. if low-tech way is the only way one to go because of $$$
then the risk you is truly your own.

aftermarket flywheel dont exhibits the same characteristics as skimmed flywheels ;)

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
aikyak...this 1 is my typo fault...wat i mean is tat stock flywheel not 2 say cannot be lighten...but lightening stock flywheel by skimming of the metal will make the flywheel thinner...which when too much force is applied n it'll crack...futher more...it also kills the clutch faster...

last time when i still have my 4g15...i've change the flywheel 2 1.8 super touring 1..n skim off i think less than 1kg...
result is pick up n acelaration very good...very easy 2 rev...but also drop very fast...

While here our ways of having a cruise is nothing more than having a drive to the local mamak shop for a TT, these guys in the States do know how to have fun, even though they have lesser winding roads than us. Watch how they go through every freeway and road, and drag themselves crazy everytime, nearly missing out cops at times. Featuring Camaro's, Supercharged Fox Body, Supercharged New Edge Mustang, STI...