Final drive??

arejek

Mar 28, 2007
Hi all sifu there..

I'm new here n new in mod world. Wanna know wat was final drive for and wat is difference between each final drive?? Is it makes gear become shorter by using smaller number, e.g. 4.490??

Edward Chew

Jun 29, 2006
"Makes gear shorter"??? haha.
4.490 is the result of the number of teeth on the Differential Ring Gear divided the number of teeth on the Differential Drive Pinion.
Which means when the Differential Drive Pinion turns 4.490 revolution, your Differential Ring Gear turns 1 revolution.
The higher the Number, the more torque it had converted to your wheels but turns slower.
What do you want to do with it? Just wanna know? good luck.
That's all i can answer. Correct me if im wrong. hehe

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
speaking of that...
final drive = highest gear
but lets say those 5th gear ratio is 0.85...
then final drive 4.9...
how ar?5th gear is final gear woh...y 0.85 and 4.9 wan?

Edward Chew

Jun 29, 2006
speaking of that...
final drive = highest gear
but lets say those 5th gear ratio is 0.85...
then final drive 4.9...
how ar?5th gear is final gear woh...y 0.85 and 4.9 wan?
Not like that la... haha... 5th gear is 5th gear ma... final drive is final drive...
OR, 5th gear is the final "gear" of your gearbox la...
0.85 is the gear ratio of your 5th gear, means when your engine turns 0.85 revolution, your output from the gearbox is 1 revolution, which means the output is faster but less torque. This one is called Overdrive.
Let's say 1st gear, your gear ratio is 4.00. Means??? When engine turns 4 revolution, the output from the gearbox is only 1 revolution. Means slower and you gain more torque. This one called Underdrive..
Too long ah? confused??? haha....

arejek

Mar 28, 2007
Wah...very confused la now... How to know engine revolution??

na_power

Dec 13, 2004
so the higher is for torque and the lower is for speed?
final drive is final gear or what?

Edward Chew

Jun 29, 2006
Arejek, your car got dashboard right??? There got a engine rpm meter ma. RPM = Revolution per minute

Na_power. Simply saying is like that la. What is final gear meant for you? The last gear of the whole drive train? If so, it is either the Ring Gear of the differential or the pinion gear inside the differential. Hehe. So, it depends on how you think of it. hehe
And the final drive is referring the drive pinion and the ring gear la.

na_power

Dec 13, 2004
the last gear, gear 5 or 6=final gear=final drive= the smaller gear ratio is for top speed?

sorry kinda so blur hehehehe

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
yala..but since u said 5th gear or 6th gear is final gear,then y all car spec hv 5th or 6th as 0.85 but also written FINAL GEAR 4.9 [or smtg like that la]

ky_fei

May 31, 2004
Kay Elle
hahaha every1 is confused XD , juz say like that ,

A = 1 to 5th Gear
B = Final Drive

A spin B move, if Final Drive higher, eg. 4.6, 4.8 ur torque will be higher, u ll feel more pickup, but u sacrifice ur top end, means maybe u can drive maximum 150km/h with ur rpm pointing at 7krpm instead previously u can drive 150km/h on 4/5k rpm.

If final drive lower, eg 3.9, 4.0 ur pick up will be normal, but u can drive on top speed, like 150km/h on maybe 3,4k rpm.

I also blur blur , am i correct?

na_power

Dec 13, 2004
so final drive is different with the gear? gear 1 to 5 or 6 just using one final drive, so in the car trans there's only one final drive? and if sumone upgrade to higher final drive such as 4.9 to 5.01 its for pickup?

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
so wat does 5th/6th got to do with final drive?
the ratio is so different,one below 1,one above 4[usually]
are these two ratio two different set of gearings?

na_power

Dec 13, 2004
damn. i feel headache already... sifoo help us to solve this... hehehe tq

'(00): The recent Tsunami in Japan has shocked the world and devastated millions including substantial damage to the car industry and its motorsports and tuning sub-culture. Even the Ebisu circuit was severely shaken and landscape permanently remodeled.

Source : Speedhunters

Ebisu circuit has seriously been damaged, Tsukuba circuit as well most events cancelled for the time being...