Enquiry regarding a thead

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005

Points made but not politically correct - As explained earlier, some people are not good at expressing themselves when making a point. The post may sound offensive but nevertheless the person is trying to explain a point itself.

No good in expressing mean flames should be allowed?do you see any different between "dude,you may get a piggyback with proper tuning to squeeze up potential power of your ride" and "why you retard never think of upgrade to piggyback with some tuning"?

the discussion may go on but how sure are you flame created will not taken personally?

Yes, it would be difficult to know when threats will arise if flaming is allowed, hence the discussion of feasible solutions via moderation or forum software.

Tom told you that he will come out with a rating method by other users to determine spam/flame posts.

Regarding the "sexy/porn pic", I don't know if porn should be posted but a NSFW section is another thread/discussion by itself. IIRC we have a somewhat similar thread in general talk.

Yeah I would allow it, since there is a financial interest - advertisement money earned. Think 5 Star hotel hospitality. This money earned would ultimately benefit the members.

Lol..kindly pm Tom to open a porn site,i wonder what he will tell you.the RGP II thread initially was located at your shot section,since many of the pics were not coming from our members here but taken from other site or via bluetooth/pendrive from friends,i moved it to general talk which is more appropriate.the 1st post were clearly stated the R & R in the thread & so far we have not get any major issue over there.does this shows we care what generate views with minimum control (rules set in 1st post)?

some of the posts were deleted which is expected but nobody shouting why it were deleted as we do our job based on the rules.

Such threads are inevitable. The supra thread had 3k views in its 4 day lifespan. As mentioned earlier, flame baits = generate posts/views. Look at the positive posts that can be generated instead of the flames. Think about it, wouldn't the constructive comment make the unnecessary comments in the thread as immature ? - logical explanation of point whether politically correct or not VS rude comment. If the thread is "hotter" more views would be generated = more adverts viewed = more money ?.

To be exact,3.4k in 6 days & counting.the topic attract views (supra involved) or the flame itself?yes,constructive comments make other flames immature but the problem in the thread is the trend of replies and someone take it personally.

This thread (with your flame bait) has 8xx views only in 4 days as compare to supra thread,so do we need some "retard loser" or "wasted sperm" in our statement?or we just to admit that many just attracted on the name of the topic itself?

there are 98 posts in supra thread in 4 days,how many are constructive?there are 75 replies here in 4 days and points made without any statement like "you are suck"?do you really need a retard statement in your post to make other understand your point?

Since the moderation team is working on a voluntary basis, thus the discussion of forum software for self-moderation to aid the moderators.

Obviously you don't know we are volunteer at the 1st place thus you think we should monitor your so called "flame bait" to generate more "constructive post".Tom had told you regarding the rating method so what's this long winded?

Yes such postings would generate hate, only if some poster take it personally. Hence my idea in the long run, once rude comments are passe, constructive comments would be the choice for comments.

Do you mean we should just leave the rude comments & wait for constructive 1 come in?how many days the 2 threads were leave alone?thats why the thread closed when the trend make no-way.and it's obvious that replies of the supra owner & t/s of the other thread take those comment personally

I raised this up this issue as I believe strongly in the positive outcome of allowing threads to have flaming in the long run. The negatives (hate between members etc) is the price to pay to achieve higher quality of posts. If people are so self-conscious and worry that their post would be "popcorn material" then they shouldn't be posting in the first place.

do we need to be self-conscious for not posting something "bastard" or "you sucks"?well, we are moderator but you're not,we appreciate your comment and we will do our job accordingly

As for the thread you posted, I can't get a idea of the problem since the posts are deleted. Since this is the case, I would rather leave it as its settled.

So now the flame bait does not get what you wanted to bait?or the fact just shows the bait itself shouldn't occur before study on what he talking about?

Hence what I mentioned in a reply, my point being proven - my flame bait attracted your reply, hence the purpose of this thread in the first place.

My reply proof your flame bait and you ignore some of my comments because it's mine bait is unnecessary?how ironic is this?if you don't agree on the point i stated,just voice it out like i did.don't quote the point that only you feel sweet,this is not we called discussion

I guess Diablo covered it, anyways here's a screencap of it -

As you can see there is a reply/spam in blue at the top right of the comment. I don't think it works by a word filter basis but on a voting basis, once a comment has been clicked as spam over a certain number by other posters (self moderation), it will appear as "comment marked for spam" as per screencap.

we do have the report post function,how many of us bother to report?once users report the post/thread in zth,mod will follow up ASAP,we do our job based on rules set years ago.you may try how efficient we are in volunteer basis.

btw,if i personally don't like someone's replies and rate it spam,does the replies appear as spam?if yes,does it mean we can judge a post by our own preference but not rules or moderators?

Finally, no harm is done, we're are here to discuss whats best for the forums which will ultimately benefit everybody. Who cares about the grammar as long as the positive intention is there ?.:biggrin:

Yes,noted that the quality of questions get better as compare to day 1 & 2.you might get something in my point & i glad to have such changes.
Anyway,looking forward on this discussion & hopefully there are comments on my replies in blue.this may somehow help you to understand the big pictures by answer or comment on it.

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
Such threads are inevitable. The supra thread had 3k views in its 4 day lifespan. As mentioned earlier, flame baits = generate posts/views. Look at the positive posts that can be generated instead of the flames. Think about it, wouldn't the constructive comment make the unnecessary comments in the thread as immature ? - logical explanation of point whether politically correct or not VS rude comment. If the thread is "hotter" more views would be generated = more adverts viewed = more money ?.
That thread was interesting. 17year old P-plater kid crashing his Supra is a novelty that does not happen everyday. Hence 3k views in its short lifespan.

But it was not a constructive thread.

More to the point, threads such as these have a tendency to develop into a destructive flavor, which ultimately it did.

And it reflects badly on the website and the advertisers when members behave like adolescents.

What 'positives' can we possibly see from a thread like that ?

Just think for one moment about how the whole thread played out, because I see absolutely nothing meaningful coming from that thread.

You first get someone who posts the story. Then you get one group that comes in who make disparaging remarks about the accident victim. And then another group comes in aggresively defending the victim. So you have this endless procession of people coming in taking potshots, and the other bunch of guys slugging it out against every insulting comment made.

The whole thing became nothing more than a orgy of punch and counter-punch. So what do we get from all that ?

Nothing.

Kid crashes his sportscar. Got injured. Felt embarassed, remorseful and angry. It happened to all of us before. End of story lah.

And you don't need any spam filter or thread rating software for future moderation. Why complicate an already difficult responsibility with all this techie stuff ? It was simple common sense that saw that thread locked and rightfully so.

mizunori77

Dec 13, 2006
ZTH didn't rely on flamers to be where it is at today. Most importantly, ZTH will never rely on flamers to move forward as well.

:rock::rock::rock:

:party:

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Eh... still no END?.
Oh forgot.. it is FAQ & ENQUIRIES forum..

I got one question...

STOP this can?

XTEC

Dec 2, 2007
to all taikor & tailor

peace lar, u all not tired meh. debat something more meaningful lar.
if this kind of debat spirit had in our G system, i told u " best man".

cheers everyone

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
tired reading it, if this kind of spirit and persistence apply in your job...sure u r a very successful man, being a "die hard" argumentative forumer in here wont bring u any price or reward....wasting bandwidth and wasting time...especially wasting our taikor's time replying...
wake up wake up!!!
if u wanna win, let you win, i give u free ice-cream ya,,,,,:)

XTEC

Dec 2, 2007
: ( i want ice-cream? : * ( -> : )

seriously.haha i think the thread is hosed down with water for sometime allready.how bad it sounds also both side gained something out of this.
Diablo nah the ice cream,:rofl::rofl::rofl:

I tak sampai hati to eat that cute little fellow...so Cute~~

Malaysia’s top superbiker Lee Ching Hooi began his defence of the Malaysian Super Series title in grand style when he won the opening round of the Naza PanGlobal Superbike Championship at Sepang Circuit today.

The Naza PanGlobal Racing team leader comfortably won Race 1 and easing off the throttle in Race 2 to settle for second place behing Denmark’s Poul Erik Jensen for the race...