double coil

palabanas

Aug 3, 2004
hi,

my mechanic suggested to me to 'double coiled' my spark plugs. he said it would increase the spark - better combustion and reduce fuel consumption. I've seen the installation, is not that tricky except that you would need to modify the distributor (for proton), where he put a spark plug into it (I didn't see inside the distributor) and connect it to another coil. the idea is to have 2 coils connected to the distributor.

any comments? it would cost me RM200 to install, but I need some suggestion before I proceed. RM200 = installation + platinum spark plugs (u need these coz normal plugs wouldn't last)

thanks. DIY sifu

palabanas

Aug 3, 2004
will it really improve performance? will it affect the life of the battery?

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
is that the only alternative way t increase your sparks?
anyway otehr way?

servo

Jan 13, 2004
changed with bigger coil..let say??.... :D .......
i got 1 used HOTBITS coil(made in Japan)....how to measure power range?? :blink:

Seabiscuit

Sometime JB
Modding the distributor coil does increase bigger spark. RM200 sounds expensive. I did mine to my previous wira 1.3 RM100 only.

palabanas

Aug 3, 2004
rm100! would that include the coil installation + spark plugs?