Cracked RD2 Exhaust Pipe..

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
I heard the sound of my stock exhaust automatically converting into the sound of performance exhaust.. So I decided to jack the car up and see what happens.. Photos here...

General view (cracked)

Bottom view (cracked)

Side view (cracked)

General view (welded)

Bottom view (welded)

Side view (welded)

Luckily I jack up the car and see.. Else my muffler will drop off at north south highway...

James72

Nov 27, 2006
Cracks normally does not happen overnight. Should already been there for sometime except probably now the gap becomes bigger and audiable. You might want to consider changing out your Exhaust Hanger, It look worn and loose.........that might be your root causes on the exhaust crack.

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Thanks my lord! I am planning to change the exhaust hanger after I get my new extractor ceramic coated..

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Sim, your welding won't last long, it's too thin, even maybe at high temperature, you can feel exhaust air leakage. dun rev too much. :biggrin:

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
BS,
The stupid fella do welding in-situ.. He didn't even take down the exhaust and weld.. And he didn't wear protective goggle.. so he weld like sh*t.. The worst thing is.. He doesn't know that he is working directly under the petrol tank..

Anyway, I plan to visit Robert next month to look for muffler.. By that time then I take it down and do re-welding.. Anyone wanna go with me?

coolval

Jan 4, 2004
Sim
Got Hantu in his engine Bay Wei.. Kekeke..
There is another Robert here???

Go to the place i did mine Bro..
then u can join Mine and Our Vios friends category..hehehe..

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Coolval,
that robert is in segambut la.. I dont have RM 1600 like you and our vios friend la.. Anyway, if you come back from work early, let's go to your exhaust shop take a look..

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Sim, change the whole piping. Do what re-welding again oh?
Daniel,
I wanted to change piping last time coz I think I can put on bigger piping.. But after inspection, my existing piping is alrd 2.1".. The max for NA cars should be around 2.2".. I am happy with my current size.. So just re-weld it until it cant tahan anymore.. Need to save money for other project wei..

coolval

Jan 4, 2004
Sim,
anyways mine is RobertS.. hahah.. :D

Hahah, bro, My whole piping and muffler cost less than 1k :)
I'm going there on Saturday, to get my bumper fixed..
U free this Sat?

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Coolval,
Err.. I let you know again.. My mum might be in town this Sat.. I gotta learn from you and be a mama's boy..

coolval

Jan 4, 2004
Sim,
Well Mama's boy is always out every saturday..
Ur coming for the full moon celeb right??
So just tell mama, that the celeb starts in the afternoon,
then follow me and Mr Spoon, to go and pick up bumper,
then go to the exhaust shop to fix :)

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Yaya.. u think my mum will believe.. But I am going to Basil's full moon la.. Give me a buzz when u going to the exhaust shop.. Where izzit btw?

coolval

Jan 4, 2004
Will give u a buzz when i'm off to the exhaust shop.
I don't know how to get to the exhaust shop, thats why i need Mr Spoon's help.