convert to Mivec Turbo

Rons

Jul 20, 2005
sg
guys, can i upgrade a FTO V6 Mivec into a turbo charged beast?

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
can
u can bolt on a turbine to it
but u must consider many things by bolt on a turbine to a NA engine
it may coz over heat,etc

crystal_method

Jun 23, 2004
PJ, KL
www.darkimages.com
Rons said:
guys, can i upgrade a FTO V6 Mivec into a turbo charged beast?
sure can dude. like GSR mentioned, got many things 2 think about.... i'm not sure if there r ready-made turbo-kits specially made for the FTO but if there r then if u buy those (they're gonna b damn expensive i bet) they should include everything u need (turbine, wastegate, intercooler,gasket, piping, hoses, clamps, etc etc) 2 b boosting ur mivec engine man...

ALTERNATIVELY u could also custom-make a turbokit... what turbo u choose also depends what ur looking for... u looking for pick-up (low and mid-end power) or hardcore top speed (mid to high-end power)... i guess for pick-up u could probably use the stock evo turbos (td05 or tdo6) or the stock SR20 silvia turbos... those should give satisfactory pick-up while you'd probably b looking at HKS GT-series bb turbos and the other big mama turbos for strong top-end power. since ur engine's NA, it was designed 2 run NA, so if ur turbo is very big n 'powderful' then u probably gotta re-work ur block 2 forged pistons + conrods (if got stroker kit for ur engine then put that in too!!). You'll need 2 external wastegate the turbo and maybe add a blow-off valve up 2 u la. your engine management (stock ECU) most likely have 2 add a piggyback 2 control ur Air/Fuel Ratio (like APEXi SAFC2 or e-manage etc) or if u can afford it, a full standalone ECU like microtech / haltech / motec bla bla bla. then slightly larger diameter ekzos piping and downpipe upgrade (2.5 inch or 3-inch), then fit the intercooler and necessary pipings/hoses then ur ready 2 rock n roll dude!

quite a lot of things may need 2 b fabricated like ekzos manifold banana so u can fit the turbo... truthfully i'm not so sure what ready-made aftermarket stuff's available for the mitsu FTO... shit i talk 2 much, but at least i hope this helps man... plenty of ppl tell me FTO's power sucks, well Rons here's ur chance 2 prove 'em wrong bro. rip it up!

crystal_method

Jun 23, 2004
PJ, KL
www.darkimages.com
OH YEA dude, my recommendation is u put in a REALLY BIG turbo... honestly, all the stuff u gotta do 2 bolt on a turbo on an NA engine costs quite a lot, so in my opinion not really worth it 2 put in small turbos like td04 and td05... personally i recommend HKS T51R or gReddy T88 or the larger Holset turbos..... if u can get those kinds of turbo in and have them running safely on ur engine, i GUARANTEE no other FTOs can even get close enough 2 even smell ur smoke dude... actually you'll probably murder most other cars on the road hehehe! the turbo will pull so god damn hard u won't even know what mivec is anymore hehehehe!

P/S: good idea 2 upgrade ur brakes too hehe!

HanafyEG

Mar 14, 2005
dont forget to put a big aftermarket radiator and oil cooler..u dont want all the power used for one run only right? hehehe..

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
mivec v6 : 6A12
eterna twin turbo : 6A12TT

can rojak..??....nvr seen one b4 tho.....

squall_leonheart

Aug 5, 2005
Japan
you `d better do engine transplant,easier and more powerfull

fto=mivec V6 6A12

eterna twin turbo 6A12TT cannot the gear box is in wrong side

2.5l 6a13TT is ok
evo4,5,6 4g63 is ok

and yes a turbo kit for fto will cost a bomb,further more high petrol price,go for big cc na laaaa,balik kampung top speed all the way,traffic jammed also no worry,thehehehe

Rons

Jul 20, 2005
sg
oo..that sounds like a lot of work and money going on...but can i fit in a FTO engine into a waja 1.6..meaning that can i pass JPJ??..or any of u guys can intro good mivec engines that can be pass by JPJ??

chelnick

Dec 4, 2003
wait... if the fto mivec 6A12 same engine code with eternaTT...is the engine design the same? gearbox different location nvm... as long as the others can fit... i don't see a problem

If it is maybe you can just get a eterna TT turbokit + manifold + intercooler + pipes+ oilsump..

and add on a piggyback i don't see why shouldn't it work...

its basicly a bolt on process... you'll be needing something to control your timing and fueling so a piggyback is your best choice...

give it a try.... cheers

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
Take in Australia for example, there are some turbocharged FTO's.. I had the website for the Australian FTO owners... not on me. Gotta look for it somewhere..