CLUTCH 1.6or1.8 to 1.5

PEK3442

Jan 9, 2006
wan to ask for zth member.
I have wira 1.5 carb(already p&p,extractor&full piping,air filter).this week need to change the clutch set.Paraut or exedy.
dilemma wan to change with 1.6 or 1.8 -for pickup.
sapa2 yg pernah tukar,I need some suggestion.
1. 1.6 clutch with 1.5 f/wheel-need to mod (skim how kg?)
2. 1.6 clutch with 1.6 f/w (skim how kg?)
3. 1.8 wira clutch with 1.8 f/w-supertouring (skim how kg?)
4. Difference weight 1.5,1.6 and 1.8 f/wheel?
above item can fit to 1.5 g/box?or 1.8 need to mod

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
bro,why not use ur std clutch n f/w?with all the mod that u did on ur car,
ur clutch can still manage to hold that power w/o having to install a
bigger f/w.factory clucth usually can withstand 15% more power then
ur original engine can produce.sumore,u don't need to skim a bigger f/w
which if u do it carelessly,tend to wobble in high speed due to unbalance
n the f/w it self may become weak n prone to crack.this is dangerous.
unless u skim it around a kg,then u will have a problem with acceleration.
just my 2 cent.

PEK3442

Jan 9, 2006
thanks..
I know that origin clutch (1.5) can hold up to 100hp.but some say if we skim (lighten) the f/wheel,can get the best pickup.and if we use 1.6 clutch, (I think 8" diameter) more grip and more pickup.
someone tell me can use 1.6 la..better use 1.8 la..but I think if I use 1.8 clutch set with f/wheel,that f/w berat compare 1.5 f/w.
so I need advice from somebody yang pernah try and still using 1.6 or 1.8 clutch.
Or like you say,use origin clutch and skim that f/w.

seanlee

Jun 30, 2004
thanks..
I know that origin clutch (1.5) can hold up to 100hp.but some say if we skim (lighten) the f/wheel,can get the best pickup.and if we use 1.6 clutch, (I think 8" diameter) more grip and more pickup.
someone tell me can use 1.6 la..better use 1.8 la..but I think if I use 1.8 clutch set with f/wheel,that f/w berat compare 1.5 f/w.
so I need advice from somebody yang pernah try and still using 1.6 or 1.8 clutch.
Or like you say,use origin clutch and skim that f/w.
yes you can use 1.6 clutch or even 1.8 clutch...but the Flywheel, you need to lighten it or skim it untill the same amount of the 1.5 clutch and flywheel...

i`m using AE86 flywheel with clutch pad together in my Wira SE... does seem to have any problem...on the size ..but i already skim the 1.6 to the same weight with my 1.5 clutch set

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
What I heard is once flywheel is skimed your car would loose power whn full load..
Why dun try to change lighter pulley?just my opinion..hehe..no harm..
Good Luck...

PEK3442

Jan 9, 2006
Mr Seanlee..why use AE86.Y not wira 1.6 clutch set.its feel difference ka..
Mag9556..I think not skim banyak la..around 300 - 400g oni.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
if u skim for 300-400g,u wont feel any difference la bro.u have to skim a least 1000g
if u want to have a better pick up.but if u skim a lot,it might be dangerous.
long time a go i used to skim my car f/w around 3 kg.if i'm not mistaken my f/w weight
only around 5 kg.the pick up is very good.like getting 10hp but my top
speed is like shit.:).my 1.8 engine can only go 170km/h.maybe at that time i'm
lucky cos there's no problem with it.then there's 1 mech told me his customer
lightened his f/w to much until it shattered inside the bell housing.so u gotta
be careful when skiming the f/w.

PEK3442

Jan 9, 2006
so,if I skim 1kg,its ok la..not getting any problem.and I think its become pickup and top will around 160-170kmj.its ok for me.Now my car can get 180kmj.but I just need pickup.coz I drive not over 120kmj daily.
I know if I skim to much its will lost top and full load.but like GT AUTO say,its become problem if I skim 2-3kg.Previous U use what kind of clutch set?

seanlee

Jun 30, 2004
so,if I skim 1kg,its ok la..not getting any problem.and I think its become pickup and top will around 160-170kmj.its ok for me.Now my car can get 180kmj.but I just need pickup.coz I drive not over 120kmj daily.
I know if I skim to much its will lost top and full load.but like GT AUTO say,its become problem if I skim 2-3kg.Previous U use what kind of clutch set?
you can get Exedy 1.6 to do it...ask workshop to help you skim abit..

PEK3442

Jan 9, 2006
yesterday I go to sparepart shop.1.6 Exedy RM190 c/w bearing& paraut rm230.At Sg Petani have foundry can skim f/w.I just bring 1.5 f/w and they will skim and mod to fix with 1.6 clutch.

m1adam

Feb 23, 2006
its important to skim ur bigger flywheel to the actual weight of ur 1.5 flywheel if not will have rili poor low end torque if too heavy,too light no high end torque the main reason to upgrade to 1.6/1.8 flywheel+clutch is to eliminate clutch slip at higher rev coz the 1.6/1.8 clutch diameter is bigger than the standard 1.5.

zzainudin

Aug 16, 2006
Subang selangor
bro PEK3442 i suggest u go for 1.8 super touring flywhell + exedy clutch set..i had tried before..that time i'm using wira sedan with 1.3 engine..make me feel different when driving if compared to using oem clutch set..

come to alor setar laa ..i'll show u the workshop.

completed cost + installation around rm500 if not mistaken.

m1adam

Feb 23, 2006
surely power will increase when replace using super touring clutch less clutch slip ur 1.3 will fly like hell

bro and sis in ZTH... currently downgrading from mivec turbo to mivec n/a and for daily drive.... plan to mod and get a powerful n/a too since i dun wan disappoint myself after driving the n/a form... i plan to have:

1.) rechip ecu

2.) afc neo for some adjustment and make my rpm till 10k

3.) final upgrade, jun stage 3 high cam

can i do this like this?? will i gain more power?? my mivec is already 1.8 .... pls comment and share with me what u guys think... TQ :burnout: