Camshaft ??

smallmaster

Apr 1, 2009
Johor
Sifu,

what is the function of camshaft deg lift for ?? can any1 explain it properly ??

as an example , " 270deg lift 11.1 280deg lift 11.1 " !!!!!!!

Another thing, what is the function of breather tank ( the thing relevant with coolant or something ), what is the function of Oil catch tank ??

Help meeeeeeeeee !!!!!!!!!!:adore::adore::adore:

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
camshaft specifications consist of cam duration (which in terms of degree) and cam lift.... cam duration is how long the valve stays open... for example, 270 degree means 270 degree of total 360 degree of the cam pushes the valve open.... lift means whats the maximum length the cam lobe pushes the valve in... maximum lift is calculated at the highest point of ur cam lobe...

breather tank is link to the radiator to remove bubble in the coolant... reducing the bubbles can increase the efficiency of ur cooling system.... general cars dont have bubble removal tank as it is deemed unnecessary for street use....

oil catch tank is installed to trap oil vapor from getting into the intake manifold, in which it will travel into ur combustion chamber... reduced oil vapor in ur combustion chamber increases engine efficiency and decreasing the amount of carbon built up inside the chamber.... this gives u a healthier engine....

smallmaster

Apr 1, 2009
Johor
thx 4 d info bro !!!

Bro, so it is better to choose a higher degree lift camshaft ??

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
choose is one thing... availability in da market is another... so, first of all what car u drive??... or what engine u using??...

locally available highcams are mostly regrind cam... where they only offers higher degree but with lower lift.... hence, u only depend on the extra degree to increase horsepower....

in other hand, overseas aftermarket cams such as HKS, TOMEI, BrianCrower, etc. have billet cams where they do have higher lift, hence the lower degree....

good combination of both yields most horsepower... some combi has more linear torque, while some gives a sudden burst of power at higher rpm... for street use, it is recommended to go for cams which gives more linear torque all across the rpm...

Hey guys! I have just purchased an AE101 SEG with a 4 AGZE motor already installed. :proud:
The car runs very smoothly but something strange happened yesterday: When I rev up to about 5k before changing, going up to about 150km/h, the ENGINE MANAGEMENT LIGHT comes on and stays on. The car still runs fine while this on. If I switch off and start again, then the light goes off (like normal)..:confused:.Any info or advice PLEASE!.

I am also trying to find a GOOD TOYOTA SPECIALIST...