Blow Off & Wastegates

sakakida

Known Member
Jul 5, 2005
KL
Hi Guys,

I'm kinda new to the turbo world so I'm having this confusion here about the blow off and wastegates. The question is whether this 2 item is the same or they function differently? and also what the actuator do? is it a separate item also?

sakakida

Known Member
Jul 5, 2005
KL
heh seem like everyone pretty busy at work, i found the answer and sharing here if anyone would like to know.

A wastegate works when you've got your foot in the throttle. A blowoff valves works when you let off the gas.

Wastegates
A wastegate basically just controls how much boost the turbo is going to run. Without any wastegate, the boost would just keep on climbing until the engine blows. What it does is it lets out the excess exhaust energy before it goes into the turbo.... If the wastegate is set at 10 pounds, once the turbocharger reaches 10 pounds, it will dump the rest of the exhaust gas out to maintain that 10 pounds of boost.

Blowoff
What about the blowoff valve? "Another name for a blowoff valve is a compressor bypass valve. What that's used for is a few things. One, when the turbo is boosting, there's pressure in the charge pipe that connects to the intake manifold through the throttle body. On a manual transmission vehicle, when you shift, you close the throttle. When the throttle closes, that pressure has nowhere to go, so ... it bounces back into the turbo, which stops the turbo blades from spinning and causes compressor surge. It tries to put the brake on the turbo.