Goodyear Asy 3 for VR

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
No need to go 16' la. Even if you buy lightweight 16' which would not slow you down, the tires will become a bit thin already (195/50/16 or even worse, 205/45/16) hence not comfortable anymore.
I was actually thinking about going for the stock Wira SE size which is 205/45/16 if I am using lightweight wheels. But is that really that uncomfortable if lets say compared to something low profile like 195/50/15?

That is why need to see priorities. Like Asy2 215/45R17 last time RM460, HPY RM360, if okay with 80% of Asy2 traction and handling, it cost 80% of Asy2 also....lol
Like Land Golden now transfer to my NA Hyundai, good enough and cost RM220 only....lol:rofl:
With the introduction of Asy3, this means Asy2 will be phased out?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
I was actually thinking about going for the stock Wira SE size which is 205/45/16 if I am using lightweight wheels. But is that really that uncomfortable if lets say compared to something low profile like 195/50/15?

my wira on 195/55/r15. Just soft grind at mud guard.
If follow original specs. Libero come with 14 inch.
Play +/- 1 inch.

205/45R16 is bumpy, cost more, less tyre choices. Better off with 15" but wira 195/55R15 is better, but if you want something that looks nicer and not so tall looking go 205/50R15.

Not sure, heard rumors that they might shift production to Thailand factory then sell cheaper and sell Asy3 as premium, but hear/say only..... :listen:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
my wira on 195/55/r15. Just soft grind at mud guard.
If follow original specs. Libero come with 14 inch.
Play +/- 1 inch.
Your Libero turbo halfcut wheels should be the same with Lancer GSR. Lancer GSR also 14 inch. 195/60/14 also I think.

205/45R16 is bumpy, cost more, less tyre choices. Better off with 15" but wira 195/55R15 is better, but if you want something that looks nicer and not so tall looking go 205/50R15.

Not sure, heard rumors that they might shift production to Thailand factory then sell cheaper and sell Asy3 as premium, but hear/say only..... :listen:
If go for 15", will look for wider wheels that will fit 205 size tyres nicely. 205 is better than 195 width. 195 is like just 10mm wider than what I am using now.

No need look. 15", 7J plenty mah!, fit 205 nicely......:driver:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
No need look. 15", 7J plenty mah!, fit 205 nicely......:driver:
So, 7J is the appropriate size to fit 205 width tyres? I don't want later end up getting those wheels that is actually designed to fit 185 width tyres like stock Avanza, Vios, Almera, City wheels.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

195/50 is already borderline harsh if you ask me, then 205/45 is 6mm thinner so IMHO it will surely be harsh. But again comfort/harsh is subjective, many people now especially young ones seem to have very high tolerance for harshness, so yeah maybe I'm just getting old already. :biggrin: I've used once before 195/50/15 on my CB5 like over 15 yrs ago when I was still much younger obviously and even then I didn't really like it much. Hence once finished I changed to 195/55/15, felt way much better without any much compromise on handling too (at least for my amateur slow driving). If you want thinner, like bro Vr2 suggested go with 205/50/15, that's the minimum I'd personally use as the sidewall height is still still above 10cm (10.2cm) compared to 195/50 at 9.8cm while 205/45 is only wafer thin 9.2cm.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
195/50 is already borderline harsh if you ask me, then 205/45 is 6mm thinner so IMHO it will surely be harsh. But again comfort/harsh is subjective, many people now especially young ones seem to have very high tolerance for harshness, so yeah maybe I'm just getting old already. :biggrin: I've used once before 195/50/15 on my CB5 like over 15 yrs ago when I was still much younger obviously and even then I didn't really like it much. Hence once finished I changed to 195/55/15, felt way much better without any much compromise on handling too (at least for my amateur slow driving). If you want thinner, like bro Vr2 suggested go with 205/50/15, that's the minimum I'd personally use as the sidewall height is still still above 10cm (10.2cm) compared to 195/50 at 9.8cm while 205/45 is only wafer thin 9.2cm.
I see. I guess if so, maybe 205/50/15 should be fine as it is thicker than 195/50.

Regarding thin sidewall, I have seen student's cars in my university using 205/40/17 on Myvi and Swift. I don't know how bad the ride will be. I even have photos of these two cars. :biggrin:

marsha1l_v6

Aug 1, 2013
joint fluid getting less as age rise, thats why cant tolerate low profile tyre :biggrin:

driving 45 low profile tyre, if drive at klang or "pothole farm" road, will drive like granny, sayang rim :rofl:

does sidewall rigidity influence by its height?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
I see. I guess if so, maybe 205/50/15 should be fine as it is thicker than 195/50.

Regarding thin sidewall, I have seen student's cars in my university using 205/40/17 on Myvi and Swift. I don't know how bad the ride will be. I even have photos of these two cars. :biggrin:
I've also seen plenty like those and just cringe! For me I will have ass and back pain riding in those cars. Probably my teeth also will rattle off!

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
I've also seen plenty like those and just cringe! For me I will have ass and back pain riding in those cars. Probably my teeth also will rattle off!
For me when I see those, I start to think what will happen if this car hit a deep pothole. Even with my thick 185/60/14 tyres, when I hit a pothole accidentally, I am scared.

Maybe we should go back on track about Goodyear Asy 3.

So, 7J is the appropriate size to fit 205 width tyres? I don't want later end up getting those wheels that is actually designed to fit 185 width tyres like stock Avanza, Vios, Almera, City wheels.
Don't buy OE rims, their width is smaller. Go for aftermarket ones......:driver:

For me when I see those, I start to think what will happen if this car hit a deep pothole. Even with my thick 185/60/14 tyres, when I hit a pothole accidentally, I am scared.

Maybe we should go back on track about Goodyear Asy 3.
In that case go 17", then fit Goodyear Asy3.....hhahahhahha:rofl:

The biggest rim with the shittiest tires you can afford. That's why you see so many Myvi end up in longkang.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Don't buy OE rims, their width is smaller. Go for aftermarket ones......:driver:
Meanwhile, I am crazy enough to recommend 10mm wider tyres for the Myvi and Avanza at home that is using stock rims. Now the tyres often look as if like lack of air because they are wider than the rims.

Goodyear Asy 3 got size like 205/40/17? If got, then these students can use it on their cars. :biggrin:

The biggest rim with the shittiest tires you can afford. That's why you see so many Myvi end up in longkang.
Silverstone tyres on that Myvi and Pinso tyres on Swift. No idea what is Pinso tyres.

Students show off.....lol:rofl:
Still got that R888 E90 guy in my uni. But few days ago, my friend told me people broke his wipers and throw shit on the windscreen of that E90. I ask my friend why and my friend say that guy likes to tailgate other cars and rev around here and there.

otai n sifu all !!! help me to give me the idea to convert my brake system to evo8 brembo 4pot front n nissan r32 2 pot rear. wat is the procedure?

currently im using Lenso Project D rim with 4 lug nut ( i don have the idea to change my rim ) !! so wat is the procedure to make this possible ? how bout the hand brake ?

:smokin::smokin::smokin: