Goodyear Asy 3 for VR

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Those days don't have ultra low profile tyres mah! My super saloon stock tyres was 195/70R14, VR I think 205/60R15 only. Where got 30 series like now......lol
14" used to have some extreme tyres but that also no more.....:banghead:
I only know got AD07 for 14 inch. Anything older, I don't really know much unless I watch Best Motoring and look back at those old reviews.

Your Super Saloon is like using Toyota Unser stock tyres. 205/60R15 is also same for Evo 2 and Evo 3. But to think that they actually engineered the Mirage Cyborg R and pair it with 195/60/14 tyres. Handling MIVEC engine with this kind of tyre size.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
225/45R17 is RM600, that why I have been using 215/45R17 all this while......lol:biggrin:

Fleva V701 is below V105, and V105 in test below Asy3.....:driver:
Whoa pricey, even more so than my CSC5 last time! Also more expensive than PS4 or similar?
Yup but the Fleva way much cheaper lor.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yeah, 15" is the best for my car and engine. Actually if 14" still have performance tyres, I won't even think of changing. Last time during 90s, Mirage Cyborg R with 4G92 MIVEC also use 195/60/14 as stock tyre. If I am not mistaken, Lancer GSR with 4G93T also use 14". If they are good enough for engines over 150hp, they should be good enough for my 90hp.

Thinking of saving up to buy some nice ori Japan wheels either Enkei or Volk. Also thought that if they are lightweight, maybe can go for 16" considering that manufacturers are moving up to 16" as starting point for performance tyres.
No need to go 16' la. Even if you buy lightweight 16' which would not slow you down, the tires will become a bit thin already (195/50/16 or even worse, 205/45/16) hence not comfortable anymore.

Whoa pricey, even more so than my CSC5 last time! Also more expensive than PS4 or similar?
Yup but the Fleva way much cheaper lor.
That is why need to see priorities. Like Asy2 215/45R17 last time RM460, HPY RM360, if okay with 80% of Asy2 traction and handling, it cost 80% of Asy2 also....lol
Like Land Golden now transfer to my NA Hyundai, good enough and cost RM220 only....lol:rofl:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
That is why need to see priorities. Like Asy2 215/45R17 last time RM460, HPY RM360, if okay with 80% of Asy2 traction and handling, it cost 80% of Asy2 also....lol
Like Land Golden now transfer to my NA Hyundai, good enough and cost RM220 only....lol:rofl:
As I always said, buy the best you can afford, and you have made a wise choice! :top:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
No need to go 16' la. Even if you buy lightweight 16' which would not slow you down, the tires will become a bit thin already (195/50/16 or even worse, 205/45/16) hence not comfortable anymore.
I was actually thinking about going for the stock Wira SE size which is 205/45/16 if I am using lightweight wheels. But is that really that uncomfortable if lets say compared to something low profile like 195/50/15?

With the introduction of Asy3, this means Asy2 will be phased out?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
I was actually thinking about going for the stock Wira SE size which is 205/45/16 if I am using lightweight wheels. But is that really that uncomfortable if lets say compared to something low profile like 195/50/15?

my wira on 195/55/r15. Just soft grind at mud guard.
If follow original specs. Libero come with 14 inch.
Play +/- 1 inch.

205/45R16 is bumpy, cost more, less tyre choices. Better off with 15" but wira 195/55R15 is better, but if you want something that looks nicer and not so tall looking go 205/50R15.

Not sure, heard rumors that they might shift production to Thailand factory then sell cheaper and sell Asy3 as premium, but hear/say only..... :listen:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
my wira on 195/55/r15. Just soft grind at mud guard.
If follow original specs. Libero come with 14 inch.
Play +/- 1 inch.
Your Libero turbo halfcut wheels should be the same with Lancer GSR. Lancer GSR also 14 inch. 195/60/14 also I think.

205/45R16 is bumpy, cost more, less tyre choices. Better off with 15" but wira 195/55R15 is better, but if you want something that looks nicer and not so tall looking go 205/50R15.

Not sure, heard rumors that they might shift production to Thailand factory then sell cheaper and sell Asy3 as premium, but hear/say only..... :listen:
If go for 15", will look for wider wheels that will fit 205 size tyres nicely. 205 is better than 195 width. 195 is like just 10mm wider than what I am using now.

No need look. 15", 7J plenty mah!, fit 205 nicely......:driver:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
No need look. 15", 7J plenty mah!, fit 205 nicely......:driver:
So, 7J is the appropriate size to fit 205 width tyres? I don't want later end up getting those wheels that is actually designed to fit 185 width tyres like stock Avanza, Vios, Almera, City wheels.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

195/50 is already borderline harsh if you ask me, then 205/45 is 6mm thinner so IMHO it will surely be harsh. But again comfort/harsh is subjective, many people now especially young ones seem to have very high tolerance for harshness, so yeah maybe I'm just getting old already. :biggrin: I've used once before 195/50/15 on my CB5 like over 15 yrs ago when I was still much younger obviously and even then I didn't really like it much. Hence once finished I changed to 195/55/15, felt way much better without any much compromise on handling too (at least for my amateur slow driving). If you want thinner, like bro Vr2 suggested go with 205/50/15, that's the minimum I'd personally use as the sidewall height is still still above 10cm (10.2cm) compared to 195/50 at 9.8cm while 205/45 is only wafer thin 9.2cm.

The Mini name will be echoing in the rallying world once again after the iconic brand made a return to the World Rally Championship (WRC) with the debut of their Mini Countryman WRC at the Rally Sardinia last week.

Although the marquee, which has tied up with Prodrive for their rally team, will only be participating in some of the rounds of this year’s calendar as a refinement step before going for the...