Apr 27, 2010
Kuching

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Going to be one mean machine......:driver:
Vr4 are better,stronger internal can boost high and without the crankwalk defect that cant be eliminated:banghead:

---------- Post added at 11:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:01 AM ----------

Vr4 also have wider engine bearings which made them more durable i suppose...

Btw anybody know how much power and torque can trinity stage 1 organic clutch can hold?? And did i need to do big big valve cover breather??:nurse:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
From my fren loh motorsport,he took frm semenanjung also ,brand is Eagle as usual

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
wah. That is some investment there.
Piston? Crank shaft? and other bits??:biggrin:
piston cp 85.5mm cost me 2.1k :banghead: crank stock with acl bearings, no budget dy, if got extra already direct get the n1 racing 7k deal, custom wiseco 0.040" oversize piston and eagle rod and crank that make 2.3L:listen:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Like i say,this month makan roti only

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
finally after long waiting the block gone in machine shop to rebore and rehone according to the cp spec sheet is back after 1.5 weeks,even the machine guy say the rebore is bigger then the normal job they had done according to the spec sheet,so prepare for some clock clock sound while cold start:biggrin:

not a perfect job but i think is up to standard, not perfect cause they only use one piston to measure and rebore the block, not like semenanjung so pro using all 4 piston to measure and label later which piston is in which liner.. what to do, me here is little ulu as compare to semenanjung, but we are not live on tree ha...:biggrin:

20141001_150518.jpg

so the phase 2 of the job,reinstall has begun , hope it can come to phase 3 soon, the running in:rolleyes:

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
peterj,
My place also ulu + pedalaman + less people.
You need to instruct the machine shop as per your requirement.
Then, you might get it correctly.

After all nice project. Good luck bro...

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
I assume the diff is minimal for this kind of expensive and branded piston,just dont too much till eating my oil and smoke coming out from zorst then gud....but mostly ppl doing rebore here all using one piston only lmfao

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
the progress are really slow, since this is the first time i experience some sort of engine rebuilt with "standard".. previously crankshaft just torque directly with torque wrench and the old mechanic feels it with hands while turning, this time the bearings all fit according to the plastic gauge and studs are torque according to the mitsu 4g63 manual....

start with insert the big end bearings
20141002_110303.jpg

torque the shiny crankshaft with plastic gauge inserted for bearing fittings,bit complicated process i not really remember since i not there every minutes, heard is torque step by step with small torque then higher torque , then loosen up then tighten again,then spin the crankshaft then open again to check the plastic gauge
20141002_110636.jpg

20141002_112517.jpg

opened up and checked clearance cun,all big end bearings share the same clearance (0.05mm) then install back with amsoil assembly lube, still can see the mark of plastic gauge on the 5th photo
20141002_140315.jpg

20141002_140426.jpg

lastly torque according to mitsu manual, 20nm +- 2 , then add a 90 degree torque ,seriously this is the 1st time i see ppl use this so called degree torque stuff, lol.. i am to ulu then, do engine all by hands :biggrin:
20141002_141814.jpg

then there goes the works for today, since the mech wait his degree torque meter to arrive waited 2 hours:biggrin:

will not able to go see see these few days, hopefully when he install the conrod and piston he will remember i ask him to take pictures:idea:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
The internals of an engine is the sexiest part of the car. Yum.
i personally think felixia yeap is more sexy:love:

btw the work is real slow, if previous time, the engine i think already in for run in.. lol... lower standard built btw..:nurse:

:D do u have such experience?when collect bills with big amount but don know where have been repair,lets share ur experience