Unknown leakings underneath a (second-hand) Hyundai I-ten?

TheDuckster

Jun 18, 2014
forum.lowyat.net
Hi ZTH,

I was driving back home at midnight while my car ran over a road bump at 40-50kph on a downwards slope. As i was approaching the house, i realised that some liquid was leaking consistently from underneath the car. I quickly parked my car at the porch and examined the leaks, fearing it might be oil or petrol. however, the liquid was actually clear and odourless. I am uncertain of my car's condition; was the liquid just water or something else? I have reason to suspect it's not just condensation from the aircond as this leak is a lot more compared to the water leak from previous drives. This was only after 15 minutes drive on the highway. In fact, the car never leaked water before coz I rarely turn on the aircond to 2 or higher and never set the coolness to max...
My guess is that it is brake fluid...

here are some photos for your reference. would appreciate all of your advice :)

received_m_mid_1405367861620_214626471e87ec4e53_0.jpeg

in the photo above (taken from left side of the car) the golden object is a 3DS and the red an empty cigarette box.
The first leak spot is about an arm's length 90° to the front left wheel (3DS is right next to the leak spot). The second leak spot is directly above the cigarette box.

more photos below (in no particular order):

received_m_mid_1405367583334_87bf283e2e5878aa07_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367740566_b43bda214c6fbfc580_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367765563_98f8fc58510fe30b57_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367786053_aa764fabbc849c5f07_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367802764_6dd2747d92ea851f51_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367818781_61a6f9a54f6b2b3439_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367895573_85ecc7141d72040e68_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367917429_c5f5474d7597430c59_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367937068_c8f8cf8ca93ebad704_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405367958851_b6976f0ea726efb193_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368000465_828d5abd25af2dd545_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368023591_fe058ec61ab54a4d35_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368065536_f8649b27ca60878a20_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368134189_57d8e99cb7b20d1433_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368175857_9aa6a65ecdd7c95f71_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368206159_5078aeadbcd8558777_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368237542_a379e83aabafe1d910_0.jpeg
View attachment 524347
received_m_mid_1405368338702_70d53c879f284cf546_0.jpeg
received_m_mid_1405368417597_7e770ab823a3aac169_0.jpeg

thank you :D

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
From your pic, its not the brake fluid.
The driveshaft's rubber boot is either torn or one end is loose causing the grease to be sprayed around in circular motion like in the pic.
Its too much for brake fluid to leak like that. However do check your fluid level to confirmed.

Why its white and not dark like grease?
I think recently u drive through heavy rain/run through water causing the grease in the rubber boot to be mixed and the end substance is white in colour.

Will it caused further damage if not repaired?
Yes as the grease will eventually runs out and mixed with mater too much that it can no longer do its job. Then tak3 sound will appear.

What should u do?
U can just replace the rubber boot only without replacing the driveshaft.

Just from looking at the pictures it does look like drive shaft grease. But I'd need to physically inspect the car to know for sure.

You probably can do some simple checks like check the brake oil level, engine oil level, ATF level, power steering level and look for wet spots at the top of your engine. If there's nothing then jack up the car and look under it and see where the leak is coming from.

Agree with bro. gunnerzz that the drive shaft bootie leaking grease and getting fling all over....

So duckster, seems thank god u werent the one who chose that car, but it was your dad that chose a lemon.
Then now u wont get blame for getting a lemon haha!

TheDuckster

Jun 18, 2014
forum.lowyat.net
from your pic, its not the brake fluid.
The driveshaft's rubber boot is either torn or one end is loose causing the grease to be sprayed around in circular motion like in the pic.
Its too much for brake fluid to leak like that. However do check your fluid level to confirmed.

Why its white and not dark like grease?
I think recently u drive through heavy rain/run through water causing the grease in the rubber boot to be mixed and the end substance is white in colour.

Will it caused further damage if not repaired?
Yes as the grease will eventually runs out and mixed with mater too much that it can no longer do its job. Then tak3 sound will appear.

What should u do?
U can just replace the rubber boot only without replacing the driveshaft.
agree with bro. Gunnerzz that the drive shaft bootie leaking grease and getting fling all over....
both of u are super accurate. :rolleyes: took it to the nearby mechanic, he said exactly that.
now time to give the used car company a call

so duckster, seems thank god u werent the one who chose that car, but it was your dad that chose a lemon.
Then now u wont get blame for getting a lemon haha!
ya, he actually told me he will pay for further maintenance of the car since the problems are appearing so fast~ lucky i drove this thing hard to see for car issues.
but of coz, first to kena is the one who sold it to my dad :thefinger:

both of u are super accurate. :rolleyes: took it to the nearby mechanic, he said exactly that.
now time to give the used car company a call

ya, he actually told me he will pay for further maintenance of the car since the problems are appearing so fast~ lucky i drove this thing hard to see for car issues.
but of coz, first to kena is the one who sold it to my dad :thefinger:
There is hardly any after sales service if buy 2nd hand car. Like buy at your own risk because u already check the car before buying and it was okay when you drove it away.

So basically they won't bother with your complains.

john_unai

Aug 9, 2011
mtkb
sometime, this used car dealer give their own car warranty like 2 weeks warranty. so, any damaged part will be replaced without any charge to d customer withing this period.

john_unai

Aug 9, 2011
mtkb
the best part the car only gives problem/issues when the warranty period expires.:mad:
depend on luck la.. last time i buy 2nd hand car, i was given 2 weeks warranty for any damaged part. first week d throttle body make problem, i get replacement for free from d 2nd hand car dealer. :dancing:
then just few days after d warranty end, my aircon compressor rosak but cannot claim liao..:mad::mad:

sometime, this used car dealer give their own car warranty like 2 weeks warranty. so, any damaged part will be replaced without any charge to d customer withing this period.
Yup, my friend bought 2nd hand car. After change engine oil, leak all over. Went back to them they paid for the repairs....:biggrin: