RB20DET Vs SR20DET

lenteng

Dec 6, 2005
dear all sifus,..i need your brilliant opinion regarding RB20DET engine performance vs SR20DET .How about also in term of maintenance & easily to get parts. Mine is RB20DET manual in A31 body...6 cylinders rev sound little bit smoother than 4 cylinders..SR20DET sound is very "syiok" laa man..Is it true 6 cylinders engine is more hotter than 4 cylinders? Pls Help me...:emoticon_U:

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Of course 6cylindered car as u using now is powerful but also the fuel consumption is higher than 4 cylinder.

Depends on ure daily usage. Even with one eye closed people will say that RB20DETT is better that SR20DET.

The "RB" stands for "Race Breed"

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Sr20det

SR20DET

The SR20DET is part of the SR family of engines from Nissan.

It is a popular engine coming from a variety of Nissan cars, generally the Nissan Silvia and 180SX but also come in the Pulsar GTI-R and bluebird. Many Americans are now opting to put this engine in their Nissan 240SXs, not satisfied with the 155 horsepower produced from the stock KA24 engine. Engine swaps are becoming commonplace for performance shops, and aftermarket parts for the Japanese engine are easily available in the US.

As the sport of drifiting becomes more popular in America, the demand for these SR20DET engines increases. While found easily in Japanese junk yards just a few years ago, these engines are becoming harder and harder to get ahold of.

The breakdown of the engine code is as follows:

SR - Engine Code
20 - 2.0 Litres
D - Dual Overhead Cam
E - Electronic Fuel Injection
T - Turbocharged

Origins
The SR20DET was first produced in the U12 Nissan Bluebird 2000SSS Attesa in October 1989, possibly as Nissan's rally project. From 1990 through to 1994 it was used in the infamous Nissan Pulsar GTi-R (N14) however with a bigger T28 turbo. In both these cars the engine is aligned in a East/West fashion.

However the Nissan Silvia and Nissan 180SX produced in 1991 were built with the SR20DET aligned in a North/South fashion because of the rear wheel drive gearbox. Almost all of the 180SX's were released with the SR20DET.

The engine then went on to be used in the Nissan Avenir in 1995, the Nissan Rnessa in 1997 and the Nissan Liberty in 1999, although these models did not gain the cult status that the earlier produced models did.

Out of all the Nissan models produced with the SR20DET, the Silvia was the longest running model to use it. The latest model, the S15, uses a bigger turbo. The Garrett T28.

Rocker cover colors
The colors of the Rocker covers seem to be related to the year the engine was released.

Color Model Years
Red S13/180SX/Bluebird/Pulsar 1989-1994
Black S13/180SX 1994-1998
Black S14/S15 1994-2002
Silver Avenir 1995-2001

- S13 Black top - Came from 180sx's post 94 (Garrett T25 turbo)
- S13 Red top - Came from s13 Silvias and 180sx pre 94 (Garrett T25 turbo)
- S14 Black top - 94-98 Silvias - Variable Cam Timing aka VCT was introduced (Garrett T28 bush journal bearing turbo) Only the JDM engine came with a ball bearing turbo.
- S15 Black top - 2000+ Silvias. (Garrett Ball Bearing T28 turbo and 6 speed transmission)

List of cars with the SR20DET

Japan
Nissan Bluebird
2000SSS Attesa Limited - U12 - 1989 - Redtop - T25g
2000SSS Attesa Limited - U13 - 91, 93 - Redtop - T25g
2000SSS Attesa Limited - U13 - 1995 - Blacktop - T25g

Nissan Pulsar
GTi-R - N14 - 90-94 - Redtop - T28 w' Individual throttle body's
Nissan 180SX
All Models - S13 - 91-93 - Redtop - (T25)
All but Type G/Type S - S13 - 94-97 - Blacktop - (T25)

Nissan Silvia
K's - S13 - 91-93 redtop - (T25)
K's - S14 - 94-98 blacktop - (T28 w' VCT)
Specifications R - S15 - 99-02 - blacktop - (T28 w' VCT and 6-Speed)

Nissan Avenir
GT Turbo Salut - W10 - 95, 97 - Silvertop T25G
GT4 - W11 - 98, 00-01 - Silvertop T25G

Nissan Liberty
Highway star GT4 - M12 - 99-00
Nissan R'nessa
GT Turbo - N30 - 97, 00

Europe
- Nissan 200SX (S14) - 93-98 blacktop (without VCT)
- Nissan Sunny 2.0 GTI-R (same as >) Nissan Pulsar GTi-R - 89-94 (UK Grey Imports) (T28 w' Individual throttle body's)

Engine Specs
- DOHC (Dual Over Head Cams), 16 Valves, Chain driven cam sprockets
- Bore x Stroke of 86 mm x 86 mm
- Displacement of 1998 cc (rounded to 2.0 liters)

Other random facts:
1990-1994 N14 Pulsar GTi-R

Compressor Flow: 33 lb/MIN
1991-1993 180SX, S13 Silvia

Throttle Body Bore: 60 mm
Turbo Type: 370/min Injector
1994-1998 S13 180SX

Throttle Body Bore: 60 mm
1995-1998 S14 Silvia

Reference:
- http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/nissan

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
RB20 Series

There were four 2.0L RB20 engines produced:

RB20E - single-cam (96kW (130ps) @ 5600rpm, 171Nm (17.5kgm) @ 4400rpm)
RB20ET - single-cam turbocharged (107kW (145ps) @ 6000rpm, 206Nm (21.0kgm) @ 3200rpm)
RB20DE - twin-cam (114kW (155ps) @ 6400rpm, 186Nm (19.0kgm) @ 4400rpm)
RB20DET - twin-cam turbocharged (158kW (215ps) @ 6400rpm, 265Nm (27.0kgm) @ 3200rpm)
The first RB20E/ET/DE/DET engines were fitted to the R31 Skyline. The early twin cam engines are generally referred to as 'Red Top' engines because they have red cam covers. The early twin cam engines featured the NICS (Nissan Induction Control System) injection system, while the single cam engines always used ECCS (Electronically Concentrated Control System). The non-turbo models were also fitted to various Holdens sold in New Zealand (RB20E). The Z31 200ZR was fitted with an intercooled RB20DET.

RB20ET engine in an R31 Passage WagonLaurels, R32 Skyline and Cefiros used the second (1988-1993) series RB20E/DE/DET. This series of engine has an improved head design over the previous version, and used the new ECCS injection system. These later motors are known as 'Silver Top' engines.

R34 Skylines and Nissan Stageas used the RB20DE and RB20E (Stagea only) engine with a 'NEO' head. The Neo RB20DE is the most economical RB engine so far produced, it is classed as a 'LEV' (Low Emission Vehicle) engine.

Want More ? ... go here : http://www.rb20det.com

lenteng

Dec 6, 2005
bro sakuraguy....wow! thanks a lot for all the input bro..

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
ure welcome .. for more, just get together with the current RB20 and SR20 users .. u will get more information, cause they use for daily drive like u .. ;)

enjoy .. happy motoring!

cheers!

kelvio

Jan 16, 2005
selangor
www.geocities.com
if u dont mind can put a list of CA engine

guys i need help,

if i wanna change back my engine to stock GTi engine from VR4... is it hard to get approval?.... i travel long distance everyday so i need to control my fuel...

is it possible to trade in my engine for a stock GTi engine? how much?

thanks alot i really need advice on this..