Putra Convert to Vr4

putra4767

Guys, i am planning for an engine conversion from 4G93P to VR4.
That's 1800 to 2000 cc..

Is it legal nowdays to do it ?
Some say it's below 30% upgrade of your std engine, so can..
Some say the max a Proton chasis can go is 4G93T (1800cc)
Provided within the 30% upgrade limit from stock.

For a Vr4, 1 mounting bracket have to be modified, near the timing belt.
Or a Evo 3's bracket can be plugged in (no need modify)

Will there be a prob with JPJ endorsement or must $$$$

Thanx

y dun u chose 4g63 from evo3?i saw many wira drive by the evo engine

vr4

RM 7K - yup, budget somewhere around there..

Chose Vr4, coz engine is cheap despite being old...
Can do an overhaul & replace all worn out parts before fitting
with the price cheaper than the evo i'd guess...

Power wise, should be good as well i believe...especially better than
GSR....

Vr4

Currently just worried bout the JPJ legal issue b4 project can execute...

Would probably go for the VR4 RS 240bhp if possible......

yo dont wanna be rude just browse here or just give em a call.....

http://www.jpj.gov.my/

Pejabat Perhubungan Pelanggan
03 88884244

Bahagian Teknik
03 88866425 (changin engine inquiries)

better check with jpj first before doing any conversion.... yeah, by theory 1.8 --> 2.0 should be no problem... but nowadays, its kinda hard for proton to go 2.0L ler...

vr4 is better than evo engine because it is cheaper and more reliable... i heard vr4 cab boost higher compare to evo in standard spec.... so, bhp generated should be higher...
the only downside of vr4 is it is old and heavy.....

alop putra,

that is a minor modification on converting engine maaa...
1.8 to 2.0 got no problem with jpj.......
it will only cost u RM300 maximum, if u endorse by ur self
rilek beb.......

vr4

Thanx 4 da inputs...

Guess i'd call the guys up & see what they have to say b4 starting anything
just to be safe.....

I also heard Vr4 block is stronger & heavier then evos....

1.8 to 2.0 can ler...but dont simply mod...especially the mountings...
since u dont have 1.9 engine in mitsubishi then can upgrade to 2.0...

vr4 may not be as reliable as evo. old engine mar... depends on ur luck. some boost 2 bar, and their engine last 5,6 years. some others running standard boost, but engine cant last even a year. good luck.

vr4 overhauled will be nice hehe. but stock evo also nice... all up to u to decide.

any engine u choose, make sure u always have rm1k standby, in case some problem occur...