Price for Perodua Viva Alternator

stephensim9380

Jan 6, 2013
Sarawak
Recently I check from the Perodua Service Centre regarding the Alternator price. They say is RM800+. Is it real that expensive? Because there is a weird sound coming out from my engine part, I just worry that after changing the alternator, the weird sound still exist from my engine part. Any Sifu here have any idea regarding this matter? Thanks.

NoDirecTIoN

Mar 25, 2011
stephensim9380
Could u specify more on what weird engine part sound u r referring to?
Which Perodua Service Center quoted the RM800+ Alternator price :banghead:? :listen: Cause I own a 1997 Kancil 850cc body that ady converted to daihatsu L5-3Piston engine n last time i change at my friend mechanic shop timing belt (new), water-pump (new), alternator (chopshop) & workmanship cost in total around RM800 (spare part i buy n he just charge me workmanship).

Ok before u wasted a running alternator or thinning ur wallet here a simple test using a voltmeter:
1)just let only ur engine running, without ur Air-Con, light, In-Car-Entertainment or anything running n measure the battery voltage terminal to check whether its at 14.0V.
2) if yes than its nth wrong, if less but nearby 14.0V n to be safe nt killing ur battery, stop middle of the journey or etc. Now with ur engine running turn on Air-Con, light, In-Car-Entertainment or ur usual needed running n measure the battery voltage terminal to make sure nt less 12.1V
btw Just my 2cents knowledge hope it helps.

stephensim9380

Jan 6, 2013
Sarawak
Thanks for the information. After I check, the battery voltage is more than 14 V. Which mean the alternator is ok.
The sound is like steel metal scratching another steel metal. But now the sound gone. It seems like the problem is not from the alternator. Some more the alternator cost RM800+. I'm not driving what sport or luxury car. It's weird that Viva alternator have to be so expensive. Thats why I ask for opinion regarding this matter. Thanks for your feedback, NoDirecTIoN. It helps a lot.

NoDirecTIoN

Mar 25, 2011
stephensim9380
now i dunno what viva alternator Amp rating n price. But for kancil usually 12V40A n my price experience is buying new kancil BOSCH alternator@nearby automotive spare part shop cost around rm100-150 n a chopchop part cost RM50. So do the calculation of difference at Perodua SC :confused:.

stephensim9380

Jan 6, 2013
Sarawak
Haha. Thats a huge different on price. Luckily I cancel the order. Or else I'm sure get chopped by them. Thanks a lot regarding the info you provided. Now I learn something new. :D

start your engine, then remove both terminals, if your engine is still running, then your alternator is healthy, if it
dies time to change. but of course if u buy from perodua SC, it will costs 2-3 times much more than u buy from spare part shop, many of them selling bosch brands. could be new or recond unit.

the sound might be coming from your crank pulley or other pulleys...go check it out.

btw. changing a carbon brush inside the alternator is only rm60, works as good as new.

Dear sifus and forumers....

I recently acquired an Hot Inazma LR voltage regulator. Now having doubts to use it because I have heard from more than one friend that VS actually drains battery. It kills the battery faster. Is this true? Does this happen generally or only when the car is not in use for longer periods?

Thanks....