Please advice (gearbox)

hI there TX

and for my case should i change the full gearbox or just fix it.

my 2st gear tarik until 6K also cannot pass 40Kmh

pls advise

kennethfong said:
TX,

hi great info on the gearbox, could u pls advise me of my gearbox as below:

driving a 4g92 sohc auto, during tsunami days, my autobox konked, so changed to manual, the manual gearbox's code is F5M222RRKE, then my rpm and speedo meter konked (not accurate enuff), just need to know when i rev my engine to 6000 rpm at 2nd gear, what should b the speedo like? need to know this coz i'm trying 2 break a century record....

also pls advise me this gearbox 2wd F5M222RRKE comes from which vehicle? what's the gear ratio like? n pls help me to calculate the above maths...

thank u so much!!!

bro kenneth, how much doest it cos u to change to manual, mind to share... :D

softmuffin said:
hI there TX

and for my case should i change the full gearbox or just fix it.

my 2st gear tarik until 6K also cannot pass 40Kmh

pls advise

that problem aaa, u need to come to our workshop laa...difficult to imagine whats problem actually...don`t worry, our mechanic will give u free checking laa :wink:

Hi there,

Do you have any workshop to recommend on changing the GB..iam actually looking for a 1.8 GB but i got an offer for 2.0 at 1500..not inclusive of my own GB...

you just give me a price that is attractive...cause bee nthinking of doing it quite sometime

satria_d,

the gb + installation altogether almost RM2K plus. oh ya, i further special requested my mech 2 get me a good clutch plate, n strictly asked for a hydraulic pumped gb, it seems that the fella gotten me a perdana manual clutch, dunno how big is the clutch diameter, prob 8.5 or 9.0 (gsr spec for this), but me think should b 8.5....the price included the fixing of my one side's drive shaft rubber cover but that doesn't cost much lar prob RM 35 - 50 .. . . ......

there are loads of work 2 b done, sourcing 4 good gb, fixing the hydraulic pump, remove the autobox controller + wiring, clutch housing, clutch, coordination with the right sized clutch 2 its flywheel and bla bla bla...

thus the price of RM 2k ++, but u get 4 wat u paid, the pickup n is superb....

satria_d,

also pls do not forget 2 write a letter to jay pee jay first, then they'll tell u ooh kami tiada halangan bagi penukaran auto ke manual tapi dengan syarat-syarat berikut:

1) take the conversion work for puspakom special examination ('pemeriksaan khas')
2) mengembalikan surat kelulusan puspakom ke jay pee jay negeri for mod of ur car 'geran'
3) menyimpan satu salinan in ur car in case of any checking from jay pee jay or other authority.

so tips:
- pls get ur ori geran, if its still in finance, get it first.....
- pls do not get a runner 2 do this 4 u, it may b easier, but i bet 1 day's leave is more than enuff, if u do it urself like me, the whole cost is RM 40.00 payment for puspakom inspection
- before u change ur gb, pls send ur letter to bhg teknikal jay pee jay putrajaya 1 and 1/2 month in advance, as the replying approval would need 2 to 2 and 1/2 month in getting back 2 u....so if u plan 2 change this december, pls send the letter in end october.....but if u wan fast, go straight 2 bhg teknikal, heard u can get the approval in bout a week.
- there is no need 2 inform ur insurance company 'during changing', as if u can c ur ori geran itself does not state in proper detail whether it is manual or auto, just an indication of (m) for manual, after final process only forward a copy of the geran and write a simple letter 2 ur insurance company for such (just in case the normal stupid kurnia ppl doesn't wanna pay 4 ur accident lar) because ur geran has changed.

hope this will help in ur planning.....

philipplim said:
Hi there,

Do you have any workshop to recommend on changing the GB..iam actually looking for a 1.8 GB but i got an offer for 2.0 at 1500..not inclusive of my own GB...

you just give me a price that is attractive...cause bee nthinking of doing it quite sometime

our workshop can offer u around rm1.8k for 1.8 manual gb & all gadget for manual transmission plus labour charge except clutch plate only.

Hi TX,

i heard that they have this 1.5 GB from mitsu which is powerful to be fitted into a 1.6 and 1.8 car..u have any idea of that..

since we're discussing gearbox problem, may i jack the thread by stating my problem as well?

I'm using F5M222RRNE gearbox which is believed from 1.8 japan car dunno what. I tried to look it up in the transaxle manual but it was not there.

The ratio works well with my current 1.8 Mivec basic mods. The problem I'm having is that it's damn hard to shift into 3rd gear after the engine is hot (say 20 minutes driving or so). Some time I forced and a loud 'kraaaakkkk' will be heard from the gearbox which will make me look like I've just learn how to drive and dunno how to shift gear :(

I changed the gearbox oil twice wthin a period of one month and things are getting worse. Sometime 1St, 2nd, 3rd (of course) and 4th also kena. I have adjusted the pedal a bit higher and it helps a bit but the 3rd gear is still a headache.

I have changed both master and slave pumps but problem is still there. What next? Pressure plate? Clutch is about one year old.

Please advise. Thanks guys.

philiplim,

u gotta tell us what model is the gearbox u talking bout?

it could be F5M21 from 1.5, or F5M22 from 1.6-1.8, this applies to 2 wheel gb....

u should check this thread's previous pages which discusses on the slight difference on gear ratio....

there is a broad range of mitsu gb 2 choose from, choose wisely.....

ooh ya forgot 2 mention, what is ur definition of powerful?? 0-100km/h? 0-400m?? top speed?? pickup?? different gear ratio gives u different kinda powerband 2 play with, all gearboxes are good for what it's good for, it is WRONG to think that gearbox is producing power, as they do not affect your engine's horsepower rating.......

delphinium,

it looks like u have a worn synchro esp in 3rd gear, gotta get ur gb overhauled replace all worn parts n reinstall them back....

clutch will be the culprit only if all gears are sharing the same prob......

Hi kenneth,

Thanks for the reply...cause i dun really familiar with GB, thats why i dun think i can tell u the serial num..all i know is that its recomended by my mech..itsa 1.5 mitsu GB ( according to him its racing type).. he said he has installed into a satria 1.6 incorparate with the GB..

might be a 4g91 or from other species of mitsu..just asking, is there any well known 1.5 racing GB around

kennethfong said:
philiplim,
ooh ya forgot 2 mention, what is ur definition of powerful?? 0-100km/h? 0-400m?? top speed?? pickup?? different gear ratio gives u different kinda powerband 2 play with, all gearboxes are good for what it's good for, it is WRONG to think that gearbox is producing power, as they do not affect your engine's horsepower rating.......

Hi kennethfong,

I'm seeking advice on which gearbox or gear ratio to use for drag performance eg. 0-400m. I'm using Evo III RS Spec close ratio LSD GBox. Too close for 0-400 i guess. How do u read the Gbox number anyway?

philiplim,

ask him what's his definition of 'racing', it doesn't make a gb racing just bcoz the previous owner races his car or being installed in a satria vr4 2.0.....

advise to get a hydraulic pumped gb.....

there is no such thing as racing gb for cost of this low, unless ur talking of a specially engineered gb for rally / track purpose, n that's what i call a racing gb, n sorry u won't b getting a price like the normal price of RM 1k-RM2k as the development costs sometimes few hundred thousands to few millions.......of course there are many other gboxes around like a dogbox which has a normal rough shifting but it's not suited for street use.....

so thumb of rule, ask whether the gb is compatible with ur engine? eg. driveshaft connectability, flywheel, clutch options n availability, mounting....then only after the first question u should go 4 the 2nd question which is the gear ratio, in order 2 know that dun trust whatever ur mech says, get a thin white paper n a 2b pencil, get close-up with the gb, there's a place with moulded protruded wording, u can't b able 2 c them properly, thus get the paper n smudge them with the pencil on top, u should b able 2 get the gearbox code, get the code back 2 ur pc, check with the mitsu gb transaxle pdf file or watever internet source, confirm ur gear ratio, use a gear ratio calculator or ask txtreme to calculate for u at which gear u could produce how much of km/h for a basic math, so u'll estimate would u b wanting that provided ur rpm is able 2 reach that high to hit the speed u wanted in that particular gear u preferred 2 b fuel saving or racing minded.......

hI there,

advise pls..

my satria 1.6 2st gear tarik til 6K rpm also can't pass 50km. i really donno why?

so i called a workshop and told him the problem.

so asked me to change the gearbox (same 1.6) which cost me around Rm1.5K

pls advise me coz i saw ppl selling off 1.6 gearbox around Rm700

evors,
sorry can't help u much, u've gotta supply more info on all the gear respective ratios n its final gear ratio, assuming u'll b hitting the start of 4th gear or end of third gear to finish ur 400m.....

i assume ur current gb is 4wd, r u using a turbo now? u need 2 judge whether ur current engine suits the current gb b4 asking whether the current gb suits 400m.... try compare the important facts b4 assorting to its racing mode.....

if u drive NA mivec, ur objective is 2 hit 5-6k rpm, then get a close gear ratio gb....

if u drive 2wd turbo, u gotta c where ur power is generated, at which level ur boost operates, knowing that helps choosing which appropriate gear to hit that sweet spot, thus choosing the gb for ur 400m mode.....

kenneth,

thanks for the information... it is a big help to me... so i can plan ...

thanks for the info. Really a big help. At least I have rough idea of where to go first ie: in my case, throw the gearbox away and get a 'new' one from chop shop hehehe.. How much roughly does gearbox overhauling would cost? Can we service a worn syncro or have to replace it? It sounds like it's better to source out for another gearbox :(

so in a meanwhile im saving for the projek... later when have enough fund may b i can see u n help me sourcing a good g/b to plant in it my car... :D

kennethfong said:
evors,
sorry can't help u much, u've gotta supply more info on all the gear respective ratios n its final gear ratio, assuming u'll b hitting the start of 4th gear or end of third gear to finish ur 400m.....

i assume ur current gb is 4wd, r u using a turbo now? u need 2 judge whether ur current engine suits the current gb b4 asking whether the current gb suits 400m.... try compare the important facts b4 assorting to its racing mode.....

if u drive NA mivec, ur objective is 2 hit 5-6k rpm, then get a close gear ratio gb....

if u drive 2wd turbo, u gotta c where ur power is generated, at which level ur boost operates, knowing that helps choosing which appropriate gear to hit that sweet spot, thus choosing the gb for ur 400m mode.....

kennethfong, my Wira is converted to EVO III with RS spec close ratio 4WD G/B locked to 2WD. The turbo starts to kick in at around 3500rpm and reaches full boost around 4200rpm+ (0.8bar). So far i've done a 14.9 sec 0-400m using Pivot Speedmeter gauge. Your help is much appreciated. Thanks.