Overhaul

Cow

Ok, my car has already done 150,000kms and since I bought it used I'm not too sure whether the previous owner got send for overhaul before or not.

The engine feels rough and I think it's about time for an overhaul.
Should I sent the car to the authorised service centre for overhaul or can somebody recommend me a good workshop?

What's the cost usually for an engine overhaul?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Cow, what car are you driving ? How old is the car ? Got makan engine oil or not ? Any leakage detected so far ?

Cow

Originally posted by g88@Mar 7 2004, 10:22 PM
Cow, what car are you driving ? How old is the car ? Got makan engine oil or not ? Any leakage detected so far ?
err it's a Hyundai.

the car is 6-7 years old. I don't think got makan engine oil but I know got leak...

Cow

errr not sure, last time also got. I think it's coming from the oil sump or something like that. But supposedly fixed already.. now wondering whether it's the aircond or not...

but anyway.. overhaul usually how much ah?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
If it's a Internal Leak better get it fix ASAP

Not sure about Hyundai part price ler...

jonteh

Jan 8, 2004
cow,

i tot u driving iswara...whose iswara is that la with the damn cun bumper? <_<

Cow

jonteh: the iswara sold already :)

jonteh

Jan 8, 2004
cow,

sold liao ah??? icic...stil can't get the image of the bumper out of my head la...feel like putting one for my iswara.... :D

speedking

dont u think overhaul engine very expensive?
y not just do engine transplant?

CcL

Nov 25, 2003
it is a hyundai... not all engines will plonk in straight away ;)
anyway overhaul shouldn't cost you more than 5k depending on how many parts you change ;)

speedking

Originally posted by CcL@Mar 15 2004, 06:55 PM
it is a hyundai... not all engines will plonk in straight away ;)
anyway overhaul shouldn't cost you more than 5k depending on how many parts you change ;)
i thought hyundai is also using mitsubishi engine?? was it? may be i was wrong.. :o

tks

USJ
evo 4 engine can masuk mar!! saw it in a mag. cOW! time for new engine la...stop wasting time and money on this one!! get a new one!! bwAhaAHahAA! :wacko:

ehehe! your TiTAN's also belum beli...

back to topic...
as mentioned...if your car consuming engine oil? any white smoke...? if no...then...no need to overhaul lo....not necessary. depending on use, you should normally be able to do 200,000kms and more (again, depending on use) without an overhaul paling banyak also top overhaul maybe?
cost for overhaul depends on parts needed. worst case (and if u want to use the car for another 10 years or so..eheheh) u'll need to rebore the cylinders, fit new pistons, etc...so how long u want the car to last? if u tell the mech u want it running strong for another 10 years he'll really gasak la...anything not rosak also change... :) cost should be anywhere from RM1++k and up...!

As per title, any auto modding kaki here? My ride is a puny 4G93 single cam auto with puny torque and puny hp in a wira sedan. My aim is to BOT the car and maintain the single cam and autobox. :slug::slug:

Anywhere I can find tips and stuff for the mods? All modding kaki in Malaysia drives manual. Only site with tips and stuff is DSMtuners forum. :slug::slug: