low noise and good grip tyres

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
any good recomendation on my 185/65R14 tyres. must be low noise and good gripping. let me know the estimated price if possible.

thanks!

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
usually low noise tyre has more tiny grooves & are of higher profile, 65 series still ok lar

Good Year Eagle NCT (cheap when got promo)
Mitchellin (dunno what model)

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
may i know roughly how much is the GY eagle NCT and the michelin? any idea?

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
u have to do some leg work lor, if u stay in klang or kedah area then can get cheaper price lor (grey import tyre / tax free smuggling in tyre etc)

s14sellingnow

Oct 25, 2005
try the good year eagle f-1(the old one)not the current one. they still manufacturing it dono wat reason but in another country?(not germany,it meant to be),but don worry still not re-tread one....vry good grip selling 140 in klang for ur size.

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
Usually grey import tyres are much cheaper. I once ask for a same brand model same series but local made & import (grey) price difference alot

I scare about those grey import or smugling tyre :

1) near expire date, hence can import cheaper
2) not made to suit our climate use, eg Japan spec tyre slower to heat up etc.

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
good grip VS low noise

This is similar to good power VS low fuel consumption. There are just compromise between different critiria.

A sport/performance tyre (forget about semi slick or track use tyre) use to have big but lesser groove pattern & lower profile, harder side wall, good grip but not quiet & not so comfort as well.

A comfort tyre has a lot more groove & focus on tiny groove pattern esp on left & right of tyre surface for off-setting noise. Side wall is softer, looks like under-inflate eventhough it has correct pressure already.

If driver is not really particular / sensitive enough to notice d difference in effect, then perhaps any cheap tyre will do. At least one will notice about saving $$ mar :>

If not really agressive driving style, one that never try out the limits of the grip of the tyre (like me :>), then buy comfort tyre will do.

Also, its good to have tyre that have centre groove pattern which focus on good water draining, as M'sia always rain, & always flood in KL area :< i dunno how to describe properly, but u can ask more fr tyre shop. Learnt more thereon.

Cheers

deadman84

May 2, 2005
bro try continental and pirelli la..

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Try Toyo Teo Transas. Last know price was Rm170 a piece.

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
go for michelin. it's the best in comfort and saves petrol. good year eagle is comfortable but the tyre wears out very fast.

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
if low noise is ur main concern, i think yokohama has this low dB tyre. but the grip im not too sure ler. like what siangmh said, i totally agree. to get something, u have to sacrifice something in return :)

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Since 14" is not performance tyre therefore it's much more easy to find a decent quite and good gripping tyre...

I strongly recommend Toyo as it's Made in Japan compare to michelin, bridgestone all made in Thailand and Yoko made in philipine...rest all local made.. I think Continental also...

jswong

Dec 30, 2004
For 14", Goodyear Ducaro GA gives low noise, and pretty decent grip on wet and dry roads. But don't expect too much la.. I don't think there's any 14" tyre that will perform as good as a 205/45 R16 Falken Azenis or Bridgestone Potenza GIII and other low-profile performance-oriented tyres.

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
Just my opinion:

1) Foreign tyres not necessary better than local tyres. More important is: does it made to the spec that suit M'sia climate? Maybe cheaper import tyre hint something to us?

2) In certain place, eg some parts of Kedah, where ur used tyre can still be trade-in, plus their tyre price also cheaper (hehe, dunno why..) than KL. Unlike KL, hardly ppl want to trade-in our old tyre....

3) Wear off rate (assumed on same driving style & car)
Some tyres are made of softer compound & more rubber than other mixed material in it, hence warm-up faster (its a good thing), quieter but also worn off faster......vice versa: long lasting tyre = harder compund = noisier = not so comfort

4) If tyres were used for >5 yrs & the groove is still there, it dont mean its good condition. The inner cross layer of steel belt may crack, the outer layer may start to have tiny crack already.... eg XXstone / YYstone / XXme

5) Tyres acts as the 1st (primary) layer of "absorber" of vibration, hence "hard" tyre = more vibration, soft tyre less vibration

LeChuCk

Mar 7, 2006
for quietness and comfort, try michelin pilot preceda...i use them and it's good

if I change a new calipers will it be 90% less dust like my rear rims (without disc brakes)? pls recommend me one for my satria 1.3 .. and my disc brakes is very dirty the dust all over .. very dirty :(